Reviews of Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party (Magic Kingdom)

Reviews

155

Rating

5.7 / 10

Recommended By

50%



Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 09/29/2022

Rating: (5)
Recommended

My family/extended family (9 total) excitedly did our first ever MNSSHP on 9/2/22. We chose this time to go because of costs and kids returning to school. Because of the date we chose, we were fortunate to pay the cheapest price. It is NO FAULT to Disney but the skies decided to open up with fury and thunder/lightening around 3:00. Guests to the party can access MK at 4:00 on party day. My family stayed at Pop Century and like the huge crowd of other guests, we waited nearly an hour for a bus to go to the party. Several buses came to the resort but they were only dropping guests off from other parks. Due to the storm, the skyliners were shutdown. Again, weather cannot be blamed on WDW. HOWEVER, when you have a special-ticketed event that you're paying extra for, WDW should have designated transportation specifically for the event. Everyone that was in a costume (including our kids) were saturated from the rain. The costumes were ruined before we ever got on the bus. In order to get everyone to the party, the buses (that I really do love, by the way), were even more crowded than normal. The treat bags were adorable and the cast members were all very pleasant. The candy lines moved quickly but it was candy from Easter time (ie..Snickers wrapped in spring season candy wrappers). We didn't go for the candy. Lines were pretty much as crazy as normal. We sat for the first parade for nearly 45 mins and they canceled the parade 5 mins before it was scheduled to start for inclement weather that never happened...BUMMER. We were all counting on the fact that crowds would go down after the first parade but that didn't happen because there was no first parade. Lines for most characters were insanely long. Jafar/Aladdin/Jasmin all moved quickly. The others, not so much. I did notice characters spending decent time with each guest though. The live pirates were entertaining. Pirates of the Caribbean was shut down for a while so the pirates came out and canoodled with party guests waiting for the ride to reopen. We felt a litlte cheated with Haunted Mansion. We only had a very entertaining live butler outside. We didn't see the bride at all outside. The parade and Hocus Pocus show were phenominal! So worth the exhaustion. For the price, I do wish the event was less crowded. It didn't live up to the "little or no wait" motto for rides during the special-ticketed event. I'm glad we went but not 100% sure if I would do it again. Disney World is truly my happy place and there's nowhere else I'd rather go, I just wish you felt like it was all worth the added price.

Pros:

Boo to You parade Hocus Pocus show Fireworks show

Cons:

Very crowded Candy was from spring/Easter Not very organized TRANSPORTATION!!!
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Hayleabug11 Review Date: 09/13/2021

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Love this event ! My fav of the year !

Pros:

Trick or treat , costumes , boo to you , villains! What more can I say

Cons:

None
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by ccooney1307 Review Date: 02/17/2021

Rating: (8)
Recommended

I love the parties after hours ! This one was so fun, athough a little crowded. We focused on rides, checking out the stage show, parade and special meet and greets. We skipped the trick or treating since the kids didnt need more candy and I'm glad we focused on other things.

Pros:

great entertainment, awesome rare characters, fantastic parade

Cons:

Busier than we expected for a special ticket event, no fastpasses
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 12/18/2020

Rating: (8)
Recommended

I think this really depends what your plans are. You aren't going to be able to do everything in one night. Planning on riding every ride, meeting every character, eating all the snacks/food, and watching the stage show & parade is just NOT possible in the amount of time you have. If you're able to go more than once during your trip, I think that's the best way to get everything done. One night you meet characters, one night you do rides. I know this isn't feasible for everyone, but if you're only going once, you have to really choose what you want to do the most. I loved space mountain, and I thought the pirates overlay was overrated. Parade is super cute, stage show is AWESOME.

Pros:

Ride Overlays are great, snacks are great, shows and parade are great

Cons:

Crowd levels are pretty high
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Purpie Review Date: 09/23/2020

Rating: (7)
Recommended

Whether this is for you depends on your situation financially and what you’re most interested in. Let me explain!

Me, only responsible for my ticket, is affordable. I go with family and they are a party of 4 and the cost adds up. With them, I enjoy the atmosphere, dance party or two and trick-or-treating. On my own, not so appealing.

The parade is great and the atmosphere really puts you in a Halloween mood even if you don’t care about Halloween (me!). We end up with a large haul of good candy, but I could have spend much less and bought candy on my own. You’re paying for the thrill of trick-or treating as an adult!

If you’re a dance party fan, you might really enjoy this.

There are also the special treats, but that’s an extra cost too.

Basically, you’d probably get the best value if you are really into Halloween, dance parties or just want to pay extra to (hopefully) have shorter lines on attractions. Overall, you’re money is getting you a fast pass on some rides, overpriced candy and special treats. The parade is a bonus but not worth the ticket.

I enjoy it but not a must as a neutral Halloween person. With others and paying my ticket, I’ll go. Add 2 more, and that’s a no.

Pros:

Puts you in a Halloween spirit, get to trick or treat like a kid and wear a costume, unique parade, unique treats, dance parties, shorter ride times

Cons:

Expensive
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by MagicPreppy Review Date: 06/03/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Went on Sept 22, 2019 (two adults). This is the event that convinced me to be a Disney Annual Pass holder.

Spent the day at Blizzard Beach, and went to the MK about 2 hours before the event started with my special event ticket. Went on Splash mountain, Aladdin, and small world even before the event started (fast passes available).

Once the event started, pirates, people mover, Peter pan, and a few other things were basically walk on. Haunted mansion and space mountain had lines, but tbey moved quickly and we had fun on those as well.

Ate some of the special event food for dinner and I loved it. The Boo to you parade may be the best Disney parade (got a great view for parade 2) and the stage show with Hocus Pocus IS the best stage show. Ended up with about 10 lbs of candy. I have allergies, so the teal coin system worked great for me.

Also, being at Disney in costume was awesome!

Pros:

Candy, parade, stage show

Cons:

may be late for young kids
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 05/17/2020

Rating: (8)
Recommended

My family had an amazing time! We were at the park all day with a 2 & 5 year old.

Pros:

Fun experience, staying late, wearing costumes, kids loved it.

Cons:

Expensive. One and done for my family due to cost.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/23/2020

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I've had nothing but positive experiences with MNSSHP, but can absolutely see it not being for everyone. It truly is crucial when you go. For the past 3 years i've gone around the second weekend in october and have always enjoyed myself. I believe it is worth the price because I feel that despite it being less time than a park day, you get more done because it is less people. Best way to get your money's worth is to go as early as they will let you in and leave at closing. I also don't feel that the fireworks are that special, but if you only plan on going to this once and like the fireworks in general, maybe try to see them. I like this party because despite florida always being hot, it gets cooling at night. The lights are always pretty and it makes things very magical.

Pros:

special experience, usually lower crowds, really fun for whole family.

Cons:

Have to plan a good time of year, can be expensive, may feel you don't get money's worth
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/20/2020

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Waste of time and money. You are better off just going during the day. Crazy overcrowded. Hard to ride or meet more than 2 characters.

Pros:

Free candy. Met rarer characters

Cons:

So overcrowded
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by colemamma Review Date: 01/28/2020

Rating: (7)
Recommended

My teen daughter and I attended MNSSHP October 1st 2019. We enjoyed visiting the candy stations and ended up with 8lbs of candy between the both of us. The party was sold out and Magic Kingdom was packed with people. We didn't expect to ride 7Dwarves Mine or visit any of the characters. Those had lines that were crazy long. We did visit quite a few attractions though- Pirates, People Mover, Buzz Lightyear, Pooh, Haunted Mansion (very long line), Peter Pan, and Small World. We watched the second parade. For us, it was a nice one time experience. I don't know that we feel the need to ever do it again. I would avoid this event like the plague if I had small children or used a scooter or wheelchair. It was not well lit and almost every area was difficult to navigate on foot. Lines were often confusing, especially near Carousel of Progress (candy line)/People Mover. Cast members seemed to be happy and added to the festive atmosphere.

Pros:

fun trick or treating for adults/teens, every cast member we saw was into the Halloween spirit, Haunted Mansion overlay, great parade

Cons:

they really over-sell these events, just too crowded
0 Users found this helpful.
1 2 3 16

Other topics in Special Events at Walt Disney World