Reviews of Mickey's Not So Scary Halloween Party (Magic Kingdom)

Reviews

150

Rating

5.64 / 10

Recommended By

48%



Each year Mickey hosts the Not-So-Scary Halloween Party in the Magic Kingdom. This is a hard ticket event -- meaning you need to purchase a separate ticket for entry (just like Mickey's Very Merry Christmas Party). The Magic Kingdom is transformed into a fun spooky haven for trick-or-treaters of all ages.

Requires separate admission ticket.

Fact Sheet and Current Information/Blogs Photos/Videos: http://allears.net/tp/mk/mnssh.htm

Reviewed by MagicPreppy Review Date: 06/03/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Went on Sept 22, 2019 (two adults). This is the event that convinced me to be a Disney Annual Pass holder.

Spent the day at Blizzard Beach, and went to the MK about 2 hours before the event started with my special event ticket. Went on Splash mountain, Aladdin, and small world even before the event started (fast passes available).

Once the event started, pirates, people mover, Peter pan, and a few other things were basically walk on. Haunted mansion and space mountain had lines, but tbey moved quickly and we had fun on those as well.

Ate some of the special event food for dinner and I loved it. The Boo to you parade may be the best Disney parade (got a great view for parade 2) and the stage show with Hocus Pocus IS the best stage show. Ended up with about 10 lbs of candy. I have allergies, so the teal coin system worked great for me.

Also, being at Disney in costume was awesome!

Pros:

Candy, parade, stage show

Cons:

may be late for young kids
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 05/17/2020

Rating: (8)
Recommended

My family had an amazing time! We were at the park all day with a 2 & 5 year old.

Pros:

Fun experience, staying late, wearing costumes, kids loved it.

Cons:

Expensive. One and done for my family due to cost.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/23/2020

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I've had nothing but positive experiences with MNSSHP, but can absolutely see it not being for everyone. It truly is crucial when you go. For the past 3 years i've gone around the second weekend in october and have always enjoyed myself. I believe it is worth the price because I feel that despite it being less time than a park day, you get more done because it is less people. Best way to get your money's worth is to go as early as they will let you in and leave at closing. I also don't feel that the fireworks are that special, but if you only plan on going to this once and like the fireworks in general, maybe try to see them. I like this party because despite florida always being hot, it gets cooling at night. The lights are always pretty and it makes things very magical.

Pros:

special experience, usually lower crowds, really fun for whole family.

Cons:

Have to plan a good time of year, can be expensive, may feel you don't get money's worth
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/20/2020

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Waste of time and money. You are better off just going during the day. Crazy overcrowded. Hard to ride or meet more than 2 characters.

Pros:

Free candy. Met rarer characters

Cons:

So overcrowded
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by colemamma Review Date: 01/28/2020

Rating: (7)
Recommended

My teen daughter and I attended MNSSHP October 1st 2019. We enjoyed visiting the candy stations and ended up with 8lbs of candy between the both of us. The party was sold out and Magic Kingdom was packed with people. We didn't expect to ride 7Dwarves Mine or visit any of the characters. Those had lines that were crazy long. We did visit quite a few attractions though- Pirates, People Mover, Buzz Lightyear, Pooh, Haunted Mansion (very long line), Peter Pan, and Small World. We watched the second parade. For us, it was a nice one time experience. I don't know that we feel the need to ever do it again. I would avoid this event like the plague if I had small children or used a scooter or wheelchair. It was not well lit and almost every area was difficult to navigate on foot. Lines were often confusing, especially near Carousel of Progress (candy line)/People Mover. Cast members seemed to be happy and added to the festive atmosphere.

Pros:

fun trick or treating for adults/teens, every cast member we saw was into the Halloween spirit, Haunted Mansion overlay, great parade

Cons:

they really over-sell these events, just too crowded
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 12/17/2019

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

This was our second MNSSHP. We attended opening night in August 2019. The crowds were worse than a High Crowd Day -- you felt like cattle, the entire night, being herded through long (although moving) candy lanes. You got handfuls of candy that you can get at any grocery store. Lines to meet characters were hours long -- and ultimately it's just some guy in a costume. Lines for pictures were long. Lines for the bathroom were long. Lines for rides were long. It was a miracle for you just to get a good spot for the parade --- and I'm not a newbie at Disney either -- we had consulted several touring plans and had KennythePirate's plan in hand. It put a real damper on the entire vacation --- spending lots of money to stand in line all night. It just seems that they want your money instead of making it a little bit more exclusive (like the Early Morning Magic)...uggh...sorry Mickey, but not again. Our first MNSSHP in 2013 was so magical and we loved every single second of it. The 2019 party was terrible.

Pros:

None

Cons:

Long lines, super crowded
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by magicalcouple Review Date: 11/27/2019

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

We attended the party on Oct 29, 2019, which was a Tuesday. Not WDW's fault, but it was INSANELY hot! Sheesh.

Moving on, the place was packed. It didn't feel like a special event of days gone by, it felt more crowded than I felt it was during the day for regular hours. For a special event, it didn't feel very special.

We went to meet Moana at the party and were told it was a 20 minute wait but it took over an hour- which KILLS way too much of your party time!!! My kids found it to be worth it but I certainly did not.

Cast members were not stingy with their candy and it was plentiful! The lines for the candy were fine and moved quickly with tons of stations around.

I agree with so many others who say the parties are oversold and if that continues to be true, this party is not worth it.

Pros:

Lots of Trick or Treat Stations, Tons of Candy, New Fireworks, Headless Horseman, Mickey's Philharmagic Playing Halloween Movies

Cons:

Oversold and EXTREMELY crowded, lengthy lines for character meet and greets, lengthy queue times
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 11/08/2019

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

This was our third MNSSHP and the crowds were terrible. We never did get to ride any rides since all the lines were longer than they were during the day. Super long lines for candy, and forget about seeing the fireworks or parade if you didn't camp out a spot early. Luckily I'm fairly tall and got a good look at the parade, but never did get a good spot to see the fireworks show on the castle. This is our last MNSSHP. Hopefully MVMCP will not have the same crowds, but I'm not betting on it!

Pros:

Great fireworks show if you can get a spot to see the castle graphics. Fun parade. Enough candy to rot your teeth for half the year if you like standing in lines.

Cons:

LINES, LINES, LINES
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Gingy160 Review Date: 11/03/2019

Rating: (5)
Recommended

We went as a family of three to our first MNSSHP at the end of October 2018 and had a blast! We had so much fun we convinced our larger group of "every two years" travelers to go to the party this year. While I wouldn't say it was terrible, it also wasn't great. My whole goal for this party was to trick-or-treat, get some Magic photos, see the parade, fireworks, and some shows. In that respect, we succeeded. However, it was very crowded compared to last year (and the party on 10/29 was not sold out). The whole concept of "wait for the second parade because the party clears out" did NOT apply. Although I still had fun because I didn't ever expect to accomplish *everything* the party offers, I hope Disney gets the message about how unhappy the party guests were this year.

Pros:

It's a Disney Halloween!!

Cons:

Definitely too crowded, not nearly enough Photopass photographers
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 11/02/2019

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

My family and I had such high expectations for this event😭 We expected an exclusive event with limited ticket sales and reduced crowds, we expected fancy treats for our trick or treating experience, we expected to actually be able to trick or treat without being herded into narrow hallways like cattle, we expected to be able to see the parade & enjoy meeting some characters, viewing decorations and getting on some rides. Instead, we trick or treated maybe 4 locations to receive handfuls of skittles/M&M’s/twix/snickers at each one. Trying to get to the treats was awful and depressing with 100’s of people squeezing through hallways. We didn’t even want the treats(could’ve bought a box of this candy anyway, nothing unique about it) saw a few characters but couldn’t meet them as the line ups were so long we wouldn’t be able to manage with 4 Children. Got on 1 ride only and the line up was so long and congested that nobody wanted to get on any more. Went to see the parade but the crowd was so large we couldn’t find a place to actually get a view of it. The crowds were actually the worst I’ve ever seen any park ever, & the lines longest that I’ve ever seen. We left after the parade and didn’t even stay for fireworks with my kids saying it was the worst part of their vacation. They are completely turned off by Disney and don’t even want to return for our base ticket plans, & neither do I. Awful awful awful, this will be my last Disney vacation definitely. Overpriced waste of my time and money.

Pros:

None

Cons:

massive crowds, long lines for everything.
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3 15

Other topics in Special Events at Walt Disney World