Reviews of Mama Melrose’s Lunch/Dinner

Reviews

150

Rating

7.47 / 10

Recommended By

79%



Other Menus at Mama Melrose's Ristorante Italiano

Read prices, menu items, and more about the Restaurants

Mama Melrose's Ristorante Italiano

Services: Table Service

Reviewed by orlandoresident Review Date: 10/05/2021

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

A few days ago we had a late lunch MAMA MELROSE'S restaurant a few days ago. It was our only meal that day. shortly after dining, I got horrible food poisoning. Vomiting, stomach cramps, nausea. The next day I couldn't go to park even we had a reservation. I slept about 20 hours, took a bunch of meds, and was sick for 2 days. My husband seems to be ok, but we had different entrees. My entree was shrimps with pasta. It never happened to me in Disney before.

Pros:

My husband was ok

Cons:

food poisoning
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/06/2021

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Pros:

None

Cons:

It is hard to mess up chicken parm —- and yet they have
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by nurseleslie Review Date: 03/08/2018

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

We got the Fantasmic dining package and booked several months out. The reason we booked it was you trade the option to pick your desert on the dining plan for an appetizer which is not usually included. Well they changed what you get with the package without letting anyone know. Now they dropped the price by 3 bucks and eliminated the appetizer. You still get the horrible desert sampler, instead of choosing your own desert, but no appetizer. This means that you would pay almost 10 dollars to get worse seating at fantastic than those with fastpasses. The food tasted good, but the portions were very small for the price. The side for the steak was 12 penne noodles. Now that is ridiculous. While we were still eating my son was googling snacks in Hollywood Studios so he could get something else to eat. I highly recommend that you don't get this package at all. I actually won't be back to the restaurant at all. The menu has changed and not for the best. As an aside they have one thing on the menu called a specialty beverage and it is not a specialty beverage included on the dining plan. New menu, but they didn't even think to change that? All together a really bad experience. The waitress was amazing though so that was something

Pros:

food tasted good

Cons:

value, information to customers
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Polly319 Review Date: 08/22/2015

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Our reservations for the Mama Melrose's/Fantasmic package were made exactly 180 days prior to our visit, for 5:30 on 8/5, and that is when we arrived. Our party included 10: grandparents, our son and daughter, their spouses, and our 4 young grandchildren, all having flown down for a family reunion.
We were absolutely shocked at the tables we were ushered to! It included a small booth against the wall, which was set for 6 (really?) and a 4 person table, which was set kitty corner, back from the booth, in the center of the floor, a considerable distance away.
We appealed to the hostess, and our server, about the seating, both of whom seemed sympathetic, but could do nothing. Understandably, we escalated our complaint to the Manager, who did absolutely nothing to accommodate us, but offer to call another restaurant to check availability. (Really? Where is a tired, hungry family of 10 going to eat at a table service restaurant at 6 o'clock on short notice?) There were at least two long tables, with seating for 8, both empty, when we arrived. A small adjustment, a couple of added chairs, would have solved the problem. Instead my grandchildren were seated with their moms, in the booth, and conversation was impossible, because they were facing my back at the table.
The food was OK for the most part; Except for my husband, who was served the smallest portion of Chicken Parmesan I have ever seen. (A 2" x5" thin strip of chicken) and a tiny serving of mashed potato, which looked like powdered (That, after I actually called from home to make sure mashed potatoes were available.)
Since our dinner lasted 3 hours, there was barely enough time to walk to Fantasmic, find the priority seating, and get settled for the show.

Pros:

Cons:

A huge disappointment
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by MIDisney Review Date: 05/20/2014

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

First off, had a reservation for late dinner. When we arrived, we were told they were running 15 minutes behind on reservations. What is the point of making a reservation then?
We were seated surprisingly quick. Waitress seemed to have had a long day and did not want to be there. Ordered our meals, salads came quickly and bread came when it was out of the oven. Is a bellini supposed to be a frozen drink? Theirs is served in a small champagne glass not frozen. We were asked if we wanted another drink, we asked, how long till dinner. Response was "tomorrow". How true that was!!! We waited for an hour, then watched the table next to us that was seated 20 minutes after us be served entrees. We got up and asked for a manager. The waitress, noticing we were leaving, raced after us to make sure I guess we did not skip out on the bill. The manager introduces herself, I explain the experience we had to her, and her first words were to turn to the waitress and say "how did this happen". No I am sorry to us.....won't be back.

Pros:

Cannot think of one

Cons:

Service Poor, No entrees every arrived
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by lizzie1974 Review Date: 02/03/2020

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

After many years of going to WDW we finally decided to try Mama Melrose's. I went by the good review from the Dis as I trust they opinions. This was the worst meal I've had at Disney in many many years. We ordered the calamari. The oil was scorched. We let the waiter know it was not good. The flavor was terrible. He apologized and brought out a new order. But it was cooked in the same oil. We were very polite about and didn't make any fuss. We just let him know that the oil was making the dish taste awful.
We then waited for about 30 minutes for our entrees to arrive. The kitchen lost our ticket... I really should have just asked for the meal to be comped. My daughter's chicken parm was ok. My shrimp and tagliatelle was super salty. The dipping oil that came with the the bread service was also over salted.
We did get comped for the inedible calamari. And they offered us tickets to Fantastmic (the dining package tickets) and we accepted them. We didn't end up going though. (We got to ride Smuggler's Run instead!)

Pros:

none

Cons:

service was low quality food was less than chain restaurant quality
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by KCKAS Review Date: 12/20/2015

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

We had fantasmic dining package. We checked in, received beeper, waited, checked with hostesses, they said they beeped us and called our name but we did not respond so they removed our reservation. I told them that never happened , we waited over 2 hours for a table. Only reason we waited was because of fantasmic tickets. Told our waitress what happened. She was super nice, food was quick and good. All had dessert sampler, it was excellent. Had to run across park for show right after dinner. Fantasmic was closed and people were waiting for next show, but we got in with our tickets and sat in second to last row of reserved section. We just made it.

Pros:

dessert

Cons:

waited too long, they blew us off
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by featheredbuddy Review Date: 09/01/2014

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

We were on time for our reservation but had close to a 50 minute wait to be seated. Our food took close to 45 minutes to arrive. A table that was seated before us ate and left before our food arrived. Three of us ordered steaks one well done and 2 medium and we had a childrens' chicken the steaks were all burnt on the out side and rare on the inside the macaroni and cheese was cold and so were the steaks. The chicken was burnt too. The waiter did get a pizza for my grandson to eat which was very nice of him but we couldn't send ours back and still use our fast pass too. This was the worst meal I have ever had at Disney or really anywere.

Pros:

It was airconditioned

Cons:

food
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by deedeebee Review Date: 02/02/2014

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

First off we had to wait for over an hour to get out table, yes we had an ADR. Service was slow but that was somewhat understandable. The food on the other hand was terrible! We won't ever go back, no reason to return.

Pros:

Cons:

slow service, bad food
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by rose Review Date: 02/27/2013

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

This was my fifth or sixth time booking a reservation at Mama Melrose's. Very disappointing.

The service was slow and our server seemed bored to have our table. One entree was totally forgotten!

In the past the food was marvelous -- not so this time. One of our party ordered the vodka shrimp penne - all of FOUR SHRIMP! The menu did not say the dish was garnished with shrimp!

I ordered the charred steak, and it was tough. Actually had steak at two other locations and it melted in my mouth, so it must have been the chef.

Anyhow, I won't be eating here again...so sad to say goodbye to what had been my favorite.

Pros:

location

Cons:

food and service
0 Users found this helpful.
1 2 3 15

Other topics in Disney's Hollywood Studios