Reviews of MagicBand

Reviews

113

Rating

7.68 / 10

Recommended By

88%



Reviewed by creativegenius Review Date: 02/10/2013

Rating: (0)
Recommended

We were really hoping to participate in this thinking it would give us an experience similar to the Universal Express passes that worked so well over there.

As of right now, the front desk here at the Boardwalk told us they were running some tests in Dec / Jan but at the moment they are not doing anything with them here at this resort. The unit to accept them is here, but that was it. We think we saw one person in Epcot today with the band on, but that would be the only one.

So at the moment, no Fastpass+ or anything like that available. Kind of a bummer, but we knew that February was pretty early in the year for a new technology.

Pros:

Cons:

Not available yet.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 01/03/2020

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

To clarify my review I want to start with I made the mistake of purchasing my magic band through the Disney world pass holder site. I made a selection then changed it. At check out the site froze then skipped to a confirmation number but no review of my order. My magic band ended up not being the one that I selected and when I called to ask for a correction they gave me a firm no and goodbye. In 22 years of frequenting Disney this is my first bad experience but it's a big one for me because the convenience is lost due to me having paid for something that j won't use. It sounds incredibly petty but I paid extra and every time I look at it it's a reminder that the company can make billions every year but can't swap a piece of plastic for me.

Pros:

It works.

Cons:

It's ugly and the only magic band I did not like in any way and so I hate wearing it.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 09/27/2018

Rating: (1)
Recommended

I really enjoy the magic bands , love all of the different colors to choose from , always pick a different color when going so I can end up having all of the colors so I can make a craft with all of the different colored bands

Pros:

Can get any color you like

Cons:

There is no cons
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 09/27/2018

Rating: (1)
Recommended

I love the Magicband! I did not think I would like it but it made everything so easy. Opening our room, fast pass, dining. Everything was great. I miss wearing it! In our package I was given the choice of a special band with pictures of the different parks. I only saw three other people with the same one so I felt very "magical".

Pros:

Ease of use

Cons:

None
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Tigger82 Review Date: 09/25/2014

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

If I weren't blind, I'm sure my rating would be much different, or cast members more helpful. Being unable to see the mickey head, thank goodness my mother was there because almost all the cast members just stood there uselessly, most not even saying a word. If I were alone, I'd have to align the Mickey heads by trial and error I guess.

Pros:

None for a blind person

Cons:

Couldn't see the Mickey head
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by slapps Review Date: 01/08/2014

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

My family and friends have visited Disney World the past 10 out of eleven years. It has always been a very enjoyable time for my family and friends from upstate NY. This year we had 13 in our party and we rented a Grand Villa at Old Key West for 8 days and my family of 4 rented a studio at Wilderness Lodge.

We checked in on December 18 and out on December 28th. From day one, we had nothing but problems with our bands. Not just one but, all of us at one time or another. Everything from not being able to charge, not working to get in the parks, not opening our villa doors, not having the correct charges on each band and card assigned to that band. You name it and it went wrong. I spent hours and I mean hours at the front desk trying to get it fixed. Between the 13 of us we received 53 bands, we had several reservations and everyone of us got bands sent to us and had bands waiting at the counter, what a waste of money. I have never been so disappointed and upset with Disney. I rate our band experience a -40.

Pros:

great when it works

Cons:

just a terrible overall experience
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Motherhen Review Date: 12/10/2013

Rating: (1)
Recommended

I was so excited about this new development and couldn't wait to try it. I was so disappointed! I ordered my park tickets through DVC and was told to link them through "My Disney Experience". I had already set up our dining reservations and had them linked with MDE, so I thought it would be a simple process. We were taking our DD's BFF with us and all of our tickets wouldn't link on-line. I needed to call the help line for assistance. The CM on the help line set everything up for me and I was able to start the FP+ set up.

The FP+ set went fairly smoothly, although, the system was somewhat disagreeable when trying to make changes to the FP+ I had already set up. Nonetheless, I got everything ready and on screen everything looked perfect.

I showed up at our resort and was handed the display box with our customized wrist bands inside. They were exactly what I had ordered on-line. We used then right away to get into our room and they worked perfectly.

The next day when we went to use them at Animal Kingdom the problems started, and they continued through our entire vacation. We were staying for 10 days and out of our 30 FP+ selections that were set up, only 4 worked. It was a horribly frustrating experience.

I had to carry around a print out of our FP+ selections and show them to every CM at every ride or attraction we wanted to get into. Not exactly convenient. I spoke to CMs at every park and each and every time they did a system scan of our wrist bands, it showed everything exactly as I had planned it from home, but for some reason it wouldn't link up in the parks.

At check-in we were also given the original blue park ticket cards to use and these worked better for FP than our wrist bands.

The wrist bands worked exactly as they were supposed to for our meal plan and for entry to the parks themselves, it seemed that only the FP+ wasn't working.

FP+, in theory, sounds like a good idea, however, we found the FP lines were longer, in many cases, than the stand-by lines. In several instances we rode a ride in the stand-by line and then rode it again with our FP. Once the system becomes more widely know and used the FP lines will be useless.

I was expecting a lot more from Disney and was terribly disappointed!

My DH wanted me to add that the wristbands are very poorly designed. He has a very large wrist and found them uncomfortable. It was very hot while we were there, and the bands do not breathe, and caused skin irritation and sweating. They also leave unsightly tan lines. Definitely need work.

Pros:

Cons:

Ours didn't work well
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Ben Review Date: 11/23/2013

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

I was at WDW this past September and had the magic bands. Here are the problems I see. (1) If you schedule changes you are now locked into a fast pass for where you are not. (ie. rain, tired children, someone getting sick.) (2) It limits how many times you can ride your favorite ride. (ie. you can only get one fast pass on the magic bands per ride per day.) (3) Like the other reader said, if you don't have the magic bands you are stuck with standing in line. (4) I am an annual pass holder and tried using the magic band one morning where I was first in line. It did not work and finally, after several tries, I had to get out my annual pass card. Therefore, I do not like the magic bands and hope Disney realizes they are not as magical as they thought.

Pros:

I prefer the old method of getting fast passes so I do not have any positive aspects to share.

Cons:

Limits what you can do and when
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Susan C Review Date: 11/20/2013

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Just got back from Disney. A group of us went and all had the bands. Our bands were so bad that for 3 of our rooms we were refunded a full night for our deluxe resort along with 3 anytime any park fast passes for the length of our stay. We went from the bands not opening our doors, to getting into the parks, reservations etc... To also our cards not working. It was so frustrating to constantly having to have them fixed. We wasted more time on them. I know it wasn't just our group because you would see others having to deal with managers trying to enter the parks. They need to do a lot more work on these before they have everyone using them. We did hear they are going to hold back rolling them out until spring 2014 instead of by the end of the year. I do have to say there were a number of great cast members who tried to help!

Pros:

None

Cons:

0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by John Review Date: 12/07/2014

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

When we checked in they asked us to make sure we could access our room with the Magic Bands. They all worked fine. Then we went to the Magic Kingdom and my grandson's would not allow him access to the park. We were told we had to go to Guest Relations, but because it was raining and I did not want to stand out in the rain we went back to the hotel to get in straight. When we got there it took over an hour to finally get it cleared up and then my grandson's "Tragic Band" was the only one that could access the room. Luckily we had Key to the World Cards which would also work to access the room.
Also My son and daughter-in-law could not use their Bands to charge meals or other items.

I wish Disney would not have messed with a system that was pretty good before.

Pros:

None

Cons:

Don't work all the time
0 Users found this helpful.
1 2 3 12

Other topics in Walt Disney World Theme Park Services