Reviews of Fort Wilderness Campground

Reviews

20

Rating

9.35 / 10

Recommended By

95%



A Disney Camping Resort.

For full details, Fact Sheet, Photos and Videos visit: http://allears.net/acc/faq_fw.htm

Reviewed by PrincessDaisyDuck Review Date: 08/24/2014

Rating: (6)
Not Recommended

Pros:

The cabins were spacious, well-decorated and very clean.

Mousekeeping was excellent, very friendly and kind besides doing a wonderful job.

The Tri-Circle D ranch was great, you can walk through and look at the ponies or go back to the barn and look at the large horses. Pony rides for small children (under 48 inches and 80 pounds) were only $5.

Food at the pool bar and Trails End To Go was very good.

Bell services was incredibly helpful.

Cons:

Rude concierge cast member at check-in.

Room was not ready until 5:30 pm.

When we went to the cabin our magic bands could not open it. A person from bell services opened it with a key then took our magic bands to the front desk to be fixed. After 1 and 1/2 hours we went to the front desk and waited for them to be given to us. They gave us completely new bands which did thankfully work. In the meantime we paid cash for dinner since we had no dining plan to access without the bands.

The bus transportation is very confusing. There is no bus to Magic Kingdom, you have to take an internal bus to the boats or an internal bus to the Settlement bus stop where you can catch a bus to Wilderness Lodge where you can then catch a bus to Magic Kingdom. You can also take a boat to the Contemporary and walk from there but those boats do shut down for lightening.

We had refillable mugs but you can only refill them at pool bar or Trails To Go. Another spot at the Outpost would be nice since the main bus stop is there.

Pros:

Cabins, Mousekeeping, Horses, Bell Services

Cons:

Check-in, Confusing Transportation
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/21/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

All time favorite even before when cabins were trailers.

Pros:

Quiet well equipped cabins,great area to walk or ride,bikes,carts,horses,boats,Trails End restaurant.

Cons:

Getting around waiting for bus.Not bad and minor inconvenience of internal transportation system tolerable
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/20/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Fort Wilderness campground is a tranquil escape from the thrills and excitement of nearby theme parks. It truly feels like a wilderness with some of the amenities you would see in a resort hotel. The pools are serene (especially the quieter one near the cabin loops). The food is consistently good at Trail's End. The two shops carry anything we would need and a nice selection of souvenirs to browse.

Pros:

Peaceful; Wildlife and Natural Landscape; Trail's End Buffet Breakfast; Relaxing pool atmosphere; Camping in an RV allows more comforts from home; Cabins are convenient

Cons:

Large resort requires bikes, golf cart, or long hikes depending on where you are staying in relation to where you need to be (marina,pool, etc.); Cabins are pricey- I enjoyed staying as a couple, but would personally prefer more room and another bathroom if I were to bring kids or other guests.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/12/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

This was our first stay at the campgrounds with our camper which we just bought in January 2019. We have taken it on week-long travel trips from Nashville to Virginia Beach as well as short weekend trips to state and national parks around TN and KY so we have experience now camping with 3 young boys and 2 golden-doodles. We thought it would be fun to camp here with our new camper and made the online reservations for the full hook up over 6 months in advance but it was not easy to get 6 consecutive nights even that early. I would recommend calling and making the reservation 1 year in advance if you know your dates and be generous if your not sure how long you wish to stay b/c you can cancel 5 days in advance without penalty. We got lucky and called 4 days in advance were able to extend our stay one more night but we would have liked 7 days. We were assigned a campsite in the 1700s which was off the main road but still near a busy road so you can hear road traffic which is why we gave our stay a 9. I would reserve a site further from even the side road to avoid hearing buses and golf carts running through the back of our site. We loved our stay and wished we hadn’t purchased the 4-park passes so we had more days at the campgrounds. We arrived on Sunday at 9:30am and were allowed to keep our camper in the overflow lot until our site was ready. We were texted within 30-45min that our site was ready. Check in is at 3pm and check out 11am. We rented a golf cart and were very lucky to get one b/c they were booked the last 2 days b/c October is a busy time of year for them and the campgrounds was booked of all sites and carts. I recommend they use small electric shuttles instead of large diesel buses to travel within the campgrounds to avoid large, loud and smoggy buses. The large ones aren’t usually filled. The kids loved the pool and arcade. I liked the grounds for running and biking. We reserved the Hoop Dee Doo revue the first night, first show which was delicious and service super friendly and patient with my family. We went to the sing a long with Chip & Dale to roast s’mores but didn’t stay for the movie b/c it was late and we needed to put the kids to bed so they would wake up early for the first park the next day. We visited each park M-Th and took Friday off to visit the lodge via ferry to watch the geyser there explode. We tried to reserve archery Sunday for Friday afternoon but it was full. We were placed on the waiting list which you can’t do over the phone but at the bike barn but unfortunately everyone showed. The attendant says the day before they had several cancel or no-shows.

Pros:

Clean, lots to do, friendly staff and community of campers.

Cons:

Not so quiet
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by epelfrey5 Review Date: 06/13/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Very nice. Best campground I’ve ever stayed at!! Clean, nice air conditioned shower houses. Good laundry facilities. Shower house and laundry close to most camp site. Great pool!!

Pros:

Clean. Excellent pool and shower houses.

Cons:

It is so large! You have to rent a golf cart or use the buses to get around because it is so large!!
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/05/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We just got home after 3 nights at the campground with my wife and small dog. Rented a golf cart, the best way to enjoy the park, and had a wonderful time. Never went to a park but did enjoy the boat rides and walking around the Resorts on the monorail. Looking forward to our next visit!

Pros:

Quiet, clean and relaxing!

Cons:

NONE
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by abayes Review Date: 01/18/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We go all the time with our family. Always an incredible experience! I make sure to tell anyone who enjoys camping to go at least once. Even people who don't like camping will have a good time here.

Pros:

Everything! Clean bathrooms, great food and fun. You're at Disney World without feeling the hustle and bustle of the parks.

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Volt Family Review Date: 11/05/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Emily at the pool on fri, sun & mon is amazing. My kids can’t wait to see her when they get to the pool. She dances and is so amazing with kids!

Pros:

Emily at the pool. Entertainment coordinator/lifeguard

Cons:

Not more cast members like her
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by survivoramy Review Date: 10/01/2018

Rating: (9)
Recommended

When tent camping in FL what do we want? Electric to plug in a fan and clean bathrooms nearby. Fort Wilderness had both and so much more! My brother has a trailer his family camps in and we just have a tent. We both booked and were able to be placed in sites in very close proximity. It was a short walk over to pool area. An internal bus took us around the whole resort. Kids must have shoes to get on bus though...older kids learned that the hard way and had a long walk back from shop area. Kids enjoyed pin trading at the store and watching the Water Parade from the beach at night. Most people do rent golf carts to get around or bring bikes. The night time fire and movie was fun. They did start with trivia but it wasn't too fun because adults will cheat and google answers. We did pack in our own Smore supplies because we didn't want to pay Disney prices for their Smore kit. Campsite had plenty of room to set up and bathrooms was always immaculate and climate controlled.

Pros:

Bathrooms are best ever for a campground. Sites are great with plenty of flat area to set tent and area to park.

Cons:

Pool area got VERY crowded. Some rules aren't enforced and you do need to watch out for golf carts. Not everyone is a good driver.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Disneynerd5 Review Date: 09/29/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

My favorite place in the world!!! The only place I will camp! I’ve only camped here in tents so your experience will be different if you use a camper or stay in the cabins. The bathrooms are heated or air conditioned based on the weather. Hardly any issues with bugs or animals. I love that it’s so close to magic kingdom and you can take the boats to the other resorts. Super peaceful and quiet during the day. Also you can see the fireworks from the beach and the electric water pageant which is my favorite!!

Pros:

Best place to camp, close to magic kingdom

Cons:

Can get loud if camping next to large groups
Did you find this helpful?
1 2

Other topics in Disney Resorts