Reviews of Fort Wilderness Campground

Reviews

24

Rating

9.25 / 10

Recommended By

92%



A Disney Camping Resort.

For full details, Fact Sheet, Photos and Videos visit: http://allears.net/acc/faq_fw.htm

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 02/29/2020

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

Fort Wilderness Campground is very clean and very beautiful. We are nearing the end of a 7 night stay with 4 kids. I had to give the campground a 5 star (and was tempted to give and even lower rating) because EVERY SINGLE NIGHT starting at 9:45pm and continuing on and off until about 10:45pm there was LOUD and UNECESSARY music that would wake our children up and ruin our night of rest before going to the Disneyworld parks the next day. I called every night to let someone know that there was LOUD music coming from somewhere in the campground and that it was very disturbing for that to happen so late at night in a family campground but nothing was ever done about it. And this music was not coming from the parks or the fireworks show at Magic Kingdom. The fireworks go off at 8pm and they are loud but 8pm
Is a reasonable time for fireworks and loud noises. 9:45pm and later is ridiculous for there to be such LOUD music playing that you and your children are woken up every single nights. Very disappointed that Disney allows this to continue every night in their family campground.

Pros:

Clean and well maintained sights

Cons:

LOUD & ANNOYING Nickelodeon type music playing every single night that woke our family up and ruined our sleep. Very disappointing as this never happened years ago.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by PrincessDaisyDuck Review Date: 08/24/2014

Rating: (6)
Not Recommended

Pros:

The cabins were spacious, well-decorated and very clean.

Mousekeeping was excellent, very friendly and kind besides doing a wonderful job.

The Tri-Circle D ranch was great, you can walk through and look at the ponies or go back to the barn and look at the large horses. Pony rides for small children (under 48 inches and 80 pounds) were only $5.

Food at the pool bar and Trails End To Go was very good.

Bell services was incredibly helpful.

Cons:

Rude concierge cast member at check-in.

Room was not ready until 5:30 pm.

When we went to the cabin our magic bands could not open it. A person from bell services opened it with a key then took our magic bands to the front desk to be fixed. After 1 and 1/2 hours we went to the front desk and waited for them to be given to us. They gave us completely new bands which did thankfully work. In the meantime we paid cash for dinner since we had no dining plan to access without the bands.

The bus transportation is very confusing. There is no bus to Magic Kingdom, you have to take an internal bus to the boats or an internal bus to the Settlement bus stop where you can catch a bus to Wilderness Lodge where you can then catch a bus to Magic Kingdom. You can also take a boat to the Contemporary and walk from there but those boats do shut down for lightening.

We had refillable mugs but you can only refill them at pool bar or Trails To Go. Another spot at the Outpost would be nice since the main bus stop is there.

Pros:

Cabins, Mousekeeping, Horses, Bell Services

Cons:

Check-in, Confusing Transportation
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 07/01/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Love the campground

Pros:

Best campground

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by MelissaJane Review Date: 05/07/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Absolutely love the Fort! Been coming here for years! So much to do if you're not going into the parks.

Pros:

You can be outside from the moment you wake up. Just a boat ride away from MK All sorts of outdoor activities to do! Chip & Dale campfire sing along

Cons:

Snakes & gators! Can be a far walk to pool, restaurants, stores if you don't rent a golf cart.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Amanda94 Review Date: 01/13/2020

Rating: (10)
Recommended

By far this is the best campground we have stayed at in our camper. It was a little pricey getting the camper down there (we came all the way from Missouri) but other than that we had a great little spot. We even had help from another camper to back into our spot (our initial pull in spot wasn't ready so they asked if we be okay with this spot). We were close to the bus pick up area and the meadow pool. It was neat when other campers and cast members left chalk pictures on our lot.

Pros:

Quiet, the shower houses and laundry rooms were always clean and well kept. Everyone was friendly and helpful.

Cons:

Waiting 10-15 sometimes for the bus to take you to the main bus stop to get to AK, Epcot or Hollywood studios. Not really a con but the campsite is huge, and we were there for a week and still did not see and do everything there was. I think having a golf cart is a must to get around
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/21/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

All time favorite even before when cabins were trailers.

Pros:

Quiet well equipped cabins,great area to walk or ride,bikes,carts,horses,boats,Trails End restaurant.

Cons:

Getting around waiting for bus.Not bad and minor inconvenience of internal transportation system tolerable
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/20/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Fort Wilderness campground is a tranquil escape from the thrills and excitement of nearby theme parks. It truly feels like a wilderness with some of the amenities you would see in a resort hotel. The pools are serene (especially the quieter one near the cabin loops). The food is consistently good at Trail's End. The two shops carry anything we would need and a nice selection of souvenirs to browse.

Pros:

Peaceful; Wildlife and Natural Landscape; Trail's End Buffet Breakfast; Relaxing pool atmosphere; Camping in an RV allows more comforts from home; Cabins are convenient

Cons:

Large resort requires bikes, golf cart, or long hikes depending on where you are staying in relation to where you need to be (marina,pool, etc.); Cabins are pricey- I enjoyed staying as a couple, but would personally prefer more room and another bathroom if I were to bring kids or other guests.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/12/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

This was our first stay at the campgrounds with our camper which we just bought in January 2019. We have taken it on week-long travel trips from Nashville to Virginia Beach as well as short weekend trips to state and national parks around TN and KY so we have experience now camping with 3 young boys and 2 golden-doodles. We thought it would be fun to camp here with our new camper and made the online reservations for the full hook up over 6 months in advance but it was not easy to get 6 consecutive nights even that early. I would recommend calling and making the reservation 1 year in advance if you know your dates and be generous if your not sure how long you wish to stay b/c you can cancel 5 days in advance without penalty. We got lucky and called 4 days in advance were able to extend our stay one more night but we would have liked 7 days. We were assigned a campsite in the 1700s which was off the main road but still near a busy road so you can hear road traffic which is why we gave our stay a 9. I would reserve a site further from even the side road to avoid hearing buses and golf carts running through the back of our site. We loved our stay and wished we hadn’t purchased the 4-park passes so we had more days at the campgrounds. We arrived on Sunday at 9:30am and were allowed to keep our camper in the overflow lot until our site was ready. We were texted within 30-45min that our site was ready. Check in is at 3pm and check out 11am. We rented a golf cart and were very lucky to get one b/c they were booked the last 2 days b/c October is a busy time of year for them and the campgrounds was booked of all sites and carts. I recommend they use small electric shuttles instead of large diesel buses to travel within the campgrounds to avoid large, loud and smoggy buses. The large ones aren’t usually filled. The kids loved the pool and arcade. I liked the grounds for running and biking. We reserved the Hoop Dee Doo revue the first night, first show which was delicious and service super friendly and patient with my family. We went to the sing a long with Chip & Dale to roast s’mores but didn’t stay for the movie b/c it was late and we needed to put the kids to bed so they would wake up early for the first park the next day. We visited each park M-Th and took Friday off to visit the lodge via ferry to watch the geyser there explode. We tried to reserve archery Sunday for Friday afternoon but it was full. We were placed on the waiting list which you can’t do over the phone but at the bike barn but unfortunately everyone showed. The attendant says the day before they had several cancel or no-shows.

Pros:

Clean, lots to do, friendly staff and community of campers.

Cons:

Not so quiet
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by epelfrey5 Review Date: 06/13/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Very nice. Best campground I’ve ever stayed at!! Clean, nice air conditioned shower houses. Good laundry facilities. Shower house and laundry close to most camp site. Great pool!!

Pros:

Clean. Excellent pool and shower houses.

Cons:

It is so large! You have to rent a golf cart or use the buses to get around because it is so large!!
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/05/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We just got home after 3 nights at the campground with my wife and small dog. Rented a golf cart, the best way to enjoy the park, and had a wonderful time. Never went to a park but did enjoy the boat rides and walking around the Resorts on the monorail. Looking forward to our next visit!

Pros:

Quiet, clean and relaxing!

Cons:

NONE
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3

Other topics in Disney Resorts