Reviews of Fort Wilderness Campground

Reviews

20

Rating

9.35 / 10

Recommended By

95%



A Disney Camping Resort.

For full details, Fact Sheet, Photos and Videos visit: http://allears.net/acc/faq_fw.htm

Reviewed by jvn1965 Review Date: 04/22/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We just completed our fifth trip to the campground in the last year, and we have reservations for June. We love the campground! The cast members are super friendly, and the activities are endless. We have stayed in about every resort at WDW, but the campground is by far our favorite. We love to ride our bikes around the resort and take advantage of the daily activities offered. We can be as busy as we want to be and as lazy as we want to be.

Pros:

Great atmosphere

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by artgal227 Review Date: 06/13/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We camped at the fort June 2 through the 8. This campground will spoil you. The restrooms are clean and well maintained like you would expect from Disney. We were in the 300 loop with our dog. We enjoyed the dog park and being close to the canals. We startled some deer more than once. We also saw turkey and one small black snake that was on the walk outside Meadows trading post. We have stayed in the cabins several times but haven't camped there since the 70's. If you are looking for a great camping experience you need to try Ft. Wilderness. We will definitely be back.

Pros:

Wonderful camping experience

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by kmdebree Review Date: 01/19/2014

Rating: (10)
Recommended

I am giving Fort Wilderness a rating of a ten, it is a beautiful and wonderful place. I was only
disappointed by the bath house and I will tell you why, the showers. There are only four in the women's room and when people are in them the condensation falls from the ceiling which is very gross. We did not have access to a shower in our camping vehicle so we had to use the showers at Fort Wilderness.

Pros:

Beautiful, clean,

Cons:

the showers
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by PrincessDaisyDuck Review Date: 08/24/2014

Rating: (6)
Not Recommended

Pros:

The cabins were spacious, well-decorated and very clean.

Mousekeeping was excellent, very friendly and kind besides doing a wonderful job.

The Tri-Circle D ranch was great, you can walk through and look at the ponies or go back to the barn and look at the large horses. Pony rides for small children (under 48 inches and 80 pounds) were only $5.

Food at the pool bar and Trails End To Go was very good.

Bell services was incredibly helpful.

Cons:

Rude concierge cast member at check-in.

Room was not ready until 5:30 pm.

When we went to the cabin our magic bands could not open it. A person from bell services opened it with a key then took our magic bands to the front desk to be fixed. After 1 and 1/2 hours we went to the front desk and waited for them to be given to us. They gave us completely new bands which did thankfully work. In the meantime we paid cash for dinner since we had no dining plan to access without the bands.

The bus transportation is very confusing. There is no bus to Magic Kingdom, you have to take an internal bus to the boats or an internal bus to the Settlement bus stop where you can catch a bus to Wilderness Lodge where you can then catch a bus to Magic Kingdom. You can also take a boat to the Contemporary and walk from there but those boats do shut down for lightening.

We had refillable mugs but you can only refill them at pool bar or Trails To Go. Another spot at the Outpost would be nice since the main bus stop is there.

Pros:

Cabins, Mousekeeping, Horses, Bell Services

Cons:

Check-in, Confusing Transportation
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by abayes Review Date: 01/06/2015

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We recently stayed at Fort Wilderness with my family and it was fantastic. We almost always stay here and it never fails to live up to Disney standards. If you are looking for a great campground with plenty of things to do then don't wait to book. It is without a doubt the nicest campground you will ever stay at. The transportation isn't a big deal to me as I am a very patient person so I didn't mind the bus and boat wait. The hospitality of the staff is also superb and is every bit as good as the main resort staff.

Pros:

Cleanliness, Things To Do,

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by vkreed56 Review Date: 05/05/2015

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Just got back from 8 nights at Fort Wilderness; have stayed at many Disney resorts, but this was the first time here. All in all, it was a good experience - the campground is immaculately maintained, and we found it to be very quiet almost all of the time since folks are out at the parks instead of hanging out at their sites "camping". Lots of activities to do, and plenty of nature to see.

Only real downside was there is really no true quick-service restaurant; the snack bar at the pool doesn't offer much, and Trails End only serves full table service meals. Several times we ended up catching a boat over to the Roaring Fork at Wilderness Lodge where they offered quick service meals.

We rented a golf cart for the week which was a lot of fun, and very helpful in getting around instead of waiting for the internal buses. Like everything, it was expensive, and we were disappointed they didn't offer a slightly discounted rate for an entire week's rental vs the daily rate, but it ended up being well worth it in the long run.

So all in all a good experience, and we will be back.

Pros:

Clean, well-maintained, quiet, beautiful

Cons:

transportation not the best, restaurants somewhat lacking
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mickeymom5 Review Date: 09/12/2015

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We stayed here August 12-16, 2015. We had a wonderful stay! We had a premium site located on the loop behind the Meadow Trading Post bus stop...so all we had to do to get to the Meadow Trading Post was walk across the street. Our site was very convenient to the store, bus stop, swimming pool, and campfire. We loved the campfire and the swimming pool. We also loved walking around Tri-Circle D Ranch. The horses were beautiful to watch and we got to watch the ironsmith fit one with a new shoe! The boat ride to MK was the best! We also loved watching the MK fireworks from the beach. They pipe the music in! Our family was kind enough to let us use their golf cart. A golf cart is a must if you stay here! Everything is really spread out, as a campground should be! I can't emphasized enough how clean everything was! The comfort station was spotless! The paths were well maintained and clean! The two negatives are there is no quick service restaurant and the buses seemed slow leaving Ft. Wilderness and coming back from the parks and Downtown Disney. We stayed with our extended family in their camper. I am more of a "resort" kinda gal, but after our stay I would love to own a camper and claim a spot at Fort Wilderness!

Pros:

Cleanliness, activities, boat ride to MK

Cons:

no QS
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by volleyfrog119 Review Date: 03/21/2017

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We stayed at the Fort MLK weekend 2017. Wow what a huge place! We had a little mix up at check in but it had to do with our reservation being booked twice. Our Travel agent worked that out. We got right in to site 414. It was nice and close to the boat launch and all the restaurants and store. Everything else was just a golf cart ride away. We brought our own cart. Nice golf cart paths and parking everywhere. Enjoyed Chip N Dale sing a long on our first night. Nice little arcade for my son and husband at Pioneer Hall. The buses ran smoothly to and from the parks. The boat launch also ran great. The boat launch staff were very friendly. Enjoyed other activities on site like the fireworks and the electric water pageant. The comfort stations were very clean and so was the rest of the park. Nice modern trash receptacles. Friendly folks, we WILL be back again!!

Pros:

nice and quiet, big lots, boat launch to Magic Kingdom

Cons:

nothing negative
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 09/27/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

My husband and I took our daughter and her boyfriend to WDW for a week following college graduation. The cabins at Fort Wilderness were perfect for 4 adults. We had plenty of room in the cabin without tripping over each other. The full kitchen came in very handy on those early entrance to the parks. Took our dirty laundry by golf cart to the laundry mat, clean, well lit and all washers and dryers worked. Very nice not to have a suit case full of dirty clothes when we got home. Lots of fun and free amenities for the young and young at heart.

Pros:

Large resort and not right on top of neighbors. Rented a golf cart, and what a fun way to get around the resort. Mouse Keeping always had our cabin looking fabulous - funny how college graduates looked forward to the clean towels in fun animal shapes!!! Hands down, this is our absolute favorite resort!!!!

Cons:

Our back porch light did not work. Bus home from Disney Springs took about 40 minutes to arrive.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by aaronb Review Date: 09/27/2018

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Great place with lots of options

Pros:

The ability to do almost anything Disney related and not have to drive everywhere.

Cons:

Lots of walking if you do not have a bike or rent a golfcart. Bus stops are are small walk and in the summer miserable to wait at.
Did you find this helpful?
1 2

Other topics in Disney Resorts