Reviews of Disney Dream Overall Experience

Reviews

19

Rating

8.11 / 10

Recommended By

89%



Disney Dream Overall Experience

Reviewed by JShock Review Date: 09/27/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We took our 2nd Disney Cruise trip last January. The first one was on the Disney Wonder and our 2nd cruise was on the Disney Dream. WOW! The Dream is huge! The rooms are comparable, except on the Dream we had a porthole where we could see what's going on outside, plus an animated starfish or other character. We had a stormy trip the first night, where we rocked and roll. No problem! The cast and crew were right there to provide comfort and safety through the night. When we arrived in Nassau, other non-Disney cruise guests told us that because of the storm, their ships had a lot of problems with dining, sailing, and providing comfort. Not Disney! Disney is the only cruise line we will ever use!

Pros:

Comfort, beautiful rooms, fantastic crew, delicious food, fabulous entertainment, trip of a lifetime!

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Bucation Review Date: 02/26/2016

Rating: (10)
Recommended

After boarding at the Port Canaveral terminal and exploring the ship a bit, we decided to make our way to the adults only area known as “The Cove.” To our surprise, we found The Cove abandoned. We had the pool, bar, and both lower and upper decks of lounge chairs all to ourselves. We cannot express how delightful it was to spend so much time during our cruise in The Cove. Throughout our cruise, The Cove bar and pool was our own private paradise. Disney Cruise Line really has a nice balance of adults only, teen clubs, kids clubs, and other activities to keep everyone happy.

Our stateroom, 9608 was on the ninth floor truly in the center of the ship. We reserved a Deluxe Family Oceanview Room with Verandah, Category 4A. If the price is right, we highly recommend reserving this category stateroom. We were conveniently located between the midship and aft staircase. The location of our stateroom was convenient to both the midship elevators, which allowed quick access to The Cove, but our stateroom was also a short walking distance from the ship’s aft staircase which ascended to the entrance of Cabanas, the Disney Dream’s breezy breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet. Our verandah was also a nice retreat during the busier times on the ships upper decks. Our verandah was the perfect way to take in the spectacular views and fresh vitamin sea. We cannot praise our stateroom host enough for his excellent service and attention to detail. Wijaya went above and beyond during our time on the Disney Dream.

The Disney Dream’s Senses Fitness area located on deck twelve, forward, offers the same state of the art equipment that you will find in a number of the Walt Disney World Deluxe Resorts as well as Disney’s Coronado Springs Resort. Senses Fitness Area also offers a number of free and a la carte fitness classes with complimentary abdominal and yoga classes offered during each of our morning visits, and these classes are sure to help you show last night’s dinner who’s boss!

One thing worth noting is that we were completely unaware of the family style dining that takes place on Disney Cruise Lines. Unfortunately we were seated with a group that was not enjoying their time onboard, to say the least. One of the lovely couples we met during our cruise recommended we not waste another second of our trip as unhappy diners. In result, we went to guest relations where they made this change for us. For the rest of our cruise we were seated at a private table which was a dream!

Disney Cruise Line’s dinner service, at least in our experience, does not include any major productions or fanfare during your dinner seating. If you plan to dine at the Royal Palace to see Disney princesses, you will be highly disappointed. Unlike Cinderella’s Royal Table in the Magic Kingdom, there were no characters, and there was no song and dance during dinner service at any of our meals. For us, this was a nice change from the norm of other cruise lines.

The Buccaneer Blast Fireworks at Sea show is the perfect example of how Disney Cruise Line pulls out all of the stops with its daily entertainment. From deck parties to Broadway style shows that rival those in its parks, Disney certainly knows how to put on a show. There is truly nothing like the Fireworks at Sea show, and this alone is completely worth every penny.

We truly believe the purchase and development of Castaway Cay is one of the best decisions the Walt Disney Company has ever made. We were so glad our cruise itinerary included a stop at Castaway Cay. The island is perfectly laid out with endless activities, and there is a flawless balance between family and adult where one does not impede on the other. The only down side was that we eventually had to leave this perfect island in the sun that had as wanting to sign up as permanent residents by the time our day had ended!

Although we've enjoyed our time aboard other cruise lines in the past, we can say without a doubt that the level of service we received, the amount of included onboard amenities, the quality of food offerings, and the unique dining opportunities with rotational dining on the Disney Dream far surpassed any of our experiences on other lines. Our Disney Cruise Line experience was truly a dream come true. For all of these reasons and so much more, Disney Cruise Line has made repeat cruisers out of us and we are very much looking forward to our future sailings with DCL.

Pros:

Fantastic food, luxurious staterooms, no casinos, adults-only & kid/teen areas done very well!

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Dawnmh Review Date: 03/04/2014

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We have just returned from a Feb. 3 night cruise on the Dream. It was our first cruise and we could not have asked for a greater time!

The staff was more than great! So attentive and friendly! The ship was super clean and comfortable. The check in and boarding process was a breeze! I definitely recommend the online check in prior to getting there it makes it speedy. I would have liked someone taking a picture as you walked in and they announced your name, I'm sure my little boy's face was precious, an expression that's a once in a lifetime.

We had a cat 4E room with a larger balcony and it was wonderful! Perfect amt of space. Again, I would love a complete smoke free cruise, it was annoying to try to enjoy the outside and smell smoke from another balcony. I was afraid of the bathroom sizes but they were great! With the split baths, I didn't even notice they were smaller! Loved the storage under the bed too.

Our room host was great! Always there when we needed him or just a friendly face to say hi when you walked by!

I loved that I picked a floor that was not totally all rooms. I think it kept traffic down and it felt very private.

The dinners were good and I did like that the wait staff followed you through the different restaurants, it was very personal. You were seated at the same table number every night which was easy to remember. The food was good in the dining rooms, not excellent but good. I loved the potato soup at Artists Palate and the next night our server even got it for me, it wasn't even on the menu.

Lots of characters to see but the experiences were very short and limited. I thought that there may be roaming characters throughout the day for chance encounters but none of that. Make sure you get in line 15-30 m before the character is supposed to be there bc they cut off the line at a certain point. They have the times spread out during the day but not enough spread. Plus the pirate dressed ones only come out on the pirate day and in limited times. How about characters at the dinners? The longer cruises include a character breakfast, why not a character dinner on the shorter ones?

My only major complaint was the photos. What a rip off! Come on Disney, if I can get all my photopass pics(that are a greater amt of photos) on a disc for less than 175, then the limited amt of photos from the cruise should be affordable. We had two staterooms and we couldn't get the cheapest package (10 photos) bc there has to be someone from the stateroom ordering it in each pic and we had one of just my parents alone! Ridiculous! I paid the bill for both staterooms! I felt really let down by this bc pictures are the only permanently captured memories, at least make them affordable! Very disappointing!

I would definitely do another cruise but the one that stops twice at Castaway Cay. Nassau was a waste!

Pros:

Wonderful experience!

Cons:

Stopping at nassau
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by fluffy30 Review Date: 09/08/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We just returned from our first Disney cruise on the Dream and had a wonderful time. Husband and I sailed with our three sons (16,4,4) and we all agreed it was the perfect vacation. The ship was immaculate and the staff were amazing. From cleaners, guest services, dining rooms to security everyone was helpful and courteous. I was particularly amazed when one of our twins got lost in Cabanas and upon approaching a staff member there was an immediate jump into action and with one call staff everywhere were looking for him. He was found within a few minuets. It was handled with care and professionalism. Disney knows how to take care of every detail and we will be cruising with them again soon.

Pros:

Wonderful Cruise

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by GregMV Review Date: 06/27/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Just returned on a great cruise on the Disney Dream. Everything went perfect. I don't understand some of the reviews that degrade the ship and crew. I guess if the world doesn't revolve around them, they aren't happy.

Pros:

All

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Lucijoy Review Date: 05/25/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Just returned from the Mother's Day cruise on Dream. We had a wonderful experience. Got to the port around 11:30. As Castaway Club members we got right on. My parents were with us--first time with Disney but boarded maybe 5 minutes behind us. Had planned to head to Cabanas but when hubby asked CM for directions she told us to go to Enchanted Garden--Cabanas was full. Great suggestion and perfect timing! After a good lunch we explored the ship and found Vibe for 17-year old son. Got him checked in (they get a Vibe key card to replace KTTW card) and checked out the area--nice pools just for the teens. He enjoyed the first night get acquainted time and late-night dodgeball. He went to Vibe several times but did most things with the fam, mainly with older brother (22). 22-year old was caught in the gap--young singles group is 18-21; not into clubbing and bar. But he found enough to do that he is interested in going again with friends. Glad the boys had each other. Had no problems or delays getting into our stateroom (6150). My parents were happy with their inside stateroom. Although we had different dinner times (by choice due to personal schedule differences), we were still able to do a lot together. Dining was wonderful! Loved all of the MDRs. Animator's Palate on the Dream is greatly improved from the Magic. Nothing but praise for the shows and movies (theater does get cold!) and AquaDuck is fantastic! Great time to go is during port days. I can't think of anything that would have made it better. Looking forward to checking out the Fantasy in September 2014!

Pros:

Beautiful, magical

Cons:

Hard to navigate through Shutters especially later in the trip
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mickeymom5 Review Date: 04/07/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This was my family's first cruise. It was everything we dreamed it would be. We had awesome servers: Tony and Guillame. The food was awesome! Castaway Cay was a great place. Our crab won the crab race! Woohoo! We didn't really care for Nassau. We just got off the ship and got back on so we could say we had been to the Bahamas. I wish Disney would stop somewhere else. The Mid-Ship Detective Agency game was a big hit with my six year old. She really enjoyed it. The pools were super crowded; even though it was really too cool to swim. Our stateroom was beautiful (6618)! We loved the verandah. All the common areas were beautiful...we will definitely be cruisin' again real soon!

Pros:

Everything!

Cons:

small and crowded pools; tons of kids in the hot tubs
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by JackM Review Date: 02/18/2011

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Posted by: ldeglian Wed February 2, 2011 (moved to Disney Dream category)

We sailed the maiden voyage of the Dream Jan 26-30. We had a fantastic time. While we are Disney cruise vets, it took us some time to figure out where things were and how to get there. We met up with crew we have met on other cruises and met some new folks as well. We were told that 50% of the crew is new and that was apparent as there were some minor issues with service and attention to detail that we hadn't seen on other cruises. In addition, there are some weird things to navigate--like getting to the aft elevator through Cabana's or getting to Palo and Remy, but overall, we loved the ship and can't wait to sail again!!

Pros:

Amazing ship!

Cons:

Still working out some kinks
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by JackM Review Date: 02/18/2011

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Posted by: Ranger275 Fri February 11, 2011 (moved to Disney Dream category)

Just got back from a 4 day cruise on the Dream from Feb 6-10. It was amazing. The new ship is even better than the Magic and Wonder and I thought they were incredible. We have been on 5 cruises and this was the best yet.

We were told that all the restaurants were upgraded, and to us, they were. The food was great and they looked great as well. In fact, in the past, Palo just seemed so much better than the regular dinners but with the regular dinner restaurants being so much better, Palo while still great, didn't stand out as much. The new buffet is far better laid out and not nearly as crowded. The food was fantastic. This is one area that was just a lot better.

We were very impressed with the shows, even better with the new theatre. We didn't go to any movies in the new movie theatre, they just never seemed to work out time wise.

The shops, while carrying most of the same merchandise, were just amazing and looked great.

In the past, we always used the stairs, since you need the exercise after all the eating and it was faster. But now with the ship being so much bigger, we used the elevators a lot more. Our room was on the 2nd deck and to walk to the 11th was quite a climb.

Our room was a inside stateroom and we ended up with a handicap room which actually was great. It was bigger and more open and it was nice to have such a big bathroom. The virtual port hole was great even though the special guests on it were very rare. We did see Tinker Bell a few times. We just get inside staterooms since we are never in the room. We just save the money for other things on board.

The family and kid's pools are now together and that area is a mad house. We didn't bring our kids this time but it really makes that area loud and crowded.

The adult pool area right around the pool is smaller and shaded most of the day. They do have upper decks to use and they were great but you couldn't sit by the pool or in the pool at all and get sun. We just used the upper decks and had a great time.

They have given a pretty large area to just a teen area. Not sure why when they combined the kid's and family area and seemed to make the adult area smaller. But the teen area is large and very nice. If you were a teen you would be very happy to enjoy your area. We also looked at the kid's clubs and were very impressed. Even more to do and I almost wanted to stay and play.

The adult night club district is great and you have a large variety of clubs. This was Super Bowl weekend and it was very fun to watch the game with a lot of crazy fans. The ship had lots of parties going on for the game. Very beautiful areas to enjoy a drink

We were told that only 2,900 people were on board and the ship could hold 4,000 so it was nice not having it full.

The staff was great as always and we even ran into a few that we knew from before. We were told that have the staff is new and half from the other ships. I believe our server and definitely our asst server were new, not bad but not up to what we have had in the past.

The spa was beautiful and we used the Rain Forest room and had massages. I also used the work out room. The whole area was great though our massage wasn't as good as some we have had on the ship before. Locker rooms were great also.

Just an amazing ship! We loved it and booked another cruise for next year on board. It was hard to believe that they made it better but they did!

Pros:

Disney Dream, better food, just amazing

Cons:

adult pool
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by nicoleamidon Review Date: 02/08/2015

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We took the 3 night Bahamas trip mid-January, 2015 on the Dream. This was our fourth Disney cruise but our first time on one of the newer ships. We loved being on the Magic and Wonder before and were worried the larger ship might not feel as personal or might feel over crowded.

The Dream was terrific! The ship is definately larger but it wasn't a problem at all. My husband and I love to walk the promenade deck (gotta burn off all those dinner calories!) and doing more stairs was fine for our active family. Animator's Palate is an upgrade from the older ships - even our teens enjoyed talking to Crush. They also liked the sports deck, especially mini golf. The pools were busy but other common areas like the theaters, lobby, shops, etc. never felt too crowded.

Our balcony room was several floors below Cabanas (so noise wasn't a problem) but it was odd to walk through the restaurant in order to access the stairs or deck and doing this could be tricky when food service was in full swing. It just seems like poor planning and very un-Disney like. The overall service was excellent, of course, and we liked our catamaran and snorkle trip in Nassau.

The port of Nassau isn't worth too much time (as many previous reviewers have pointed out) but we really had fun sailing and swimming as a family. One tip - be sure to ride the AquaDuck early and often (consider doing this the very first thing upon boarding, even). It got extremely crowded towards the end of the cruise with long waits. Our kids rode it multiple times with no line on embarkation day. We just packed our suits in our day bags and they practically had the pools and slides to themselves for several hours.

The technology on the ship is fantastic and we loved the moving artwork on the walls. We missed having a "trunk" of shelves in our room - stateroom storage was adequate but there was less than on the older ships. The Walt Disney Theater was absolutely beautiful and one night we sat in one of the small balconies on the side of the auditorium. This provided an interesting view of the stage and our kids liked being able to see down into the floor of the stage where props were raised and lowered, cast members prepped and scenery was moved around. We got an "inside" peek at how Disney creates some of their on-stage magic!

We don't think being on the Dream has ruined the older ships for us at all and we plan to return to whichever ship is going where we want to cruise next.

Pros:

another beautiful ship, great shows, teens loved mini golf

Cons:

walking through Cabanas to access stairs
Did you find this helpful?
1 2

Other topics in Overall Experience Disney Dream and Fantasy