Reviews of Diamond Horseshoe – Frontierland – Open Seasonally

Reviews

12

Rating

6.42 / 10

Recommended By

67%



Reviewed by Chench Review Date: 01/25/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

I can't say enough about our experience to the Diamond Horseshoe! After a long day of rides, walking, shows, walking, sun and... did I mention WALKING? we were tired and hungry!

The food was delicious and though I wouldn't say perfect, we also weren't expecting to be sitting down to a gourmet meal. We were sitting down to a family style, all you can eat table of some real good saloon grub. The price wasn't cheap, but the amount of food well made up for it.

Everyone loved the pulled pork and chick the most. The cornbread was served warm and sweet. Drinks were cold. The service was perfect, quick and not too intrusive but always available. We found the place at this link https://www.visitflorida.com/en-us/eat-drink/family-guide-restaurants-disney-magic-kingdom.html which lists a bunch of Magic Kingdom restaurants.

The saloon atmosphere was also great. Everyone loved the look of the place! This is definitely the kind of place to take a group of hungry Disney explorers. Overdoing it though may slow you down for the rest of your visit! We were all wanting a nap after our meal. 🙂

Pros:

The service, the atmosphere and the great plentiful food!

Cons:

A little pricey but well worth the value if you're hungry!
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by peytonshea02 Review Date: 06/04/2014

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This was open over Memorial Day weekend - having never been there I decided to give it a try. I was the only one in the group hungry, so I got to have 1 meal solo! I ordered the Barbecued Turkey Sandwich. I had no idea what to expect when I ordered it because it had no description but it sounded good. It ended up being exactly like a pulled pork sandwich (but obviously turkey 😉 ) - It had a nice tangy BBQ sauce and was served on a large, soft roll. It was really good and hit the spot!

Pros:

Cons:

0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 05/20/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I ate here in 2018 with my husband and it was fantastic! So fantastic he demanded we go back in 2019. The food is great and family style. There is corn bread, brisket, mac and cheese, I do not get the hate this place gets. Maybe bbq isn't for everyone, fair enough.

Pros:

Good bbq, great atmosphere

Cons:

Open seasonally
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by SuzQ92 Review Date: 05/17/2021

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We ate here on a Halloween Party night in 2019 and really enjoyed the BBQ food. We were actually disappointed that we couldn’t eat more at this all-you-can-eat restaurant because we ate so much from the first serving that we were full! The atmosphere is nostalgic and fun, making you feel as if you’ve been transported back to the early days of Walt Disney World.

Pros:

The Mac n Cheese was particularly good! Loved the all-you-can-eat BBQ food and atmosphere.

Cons:

Only open seasonally.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by lcg Review Date: 05/13/2020

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We enjoyed a nice mid - day Thanksgiving meal here. It is served family style. The food was great, however not the most unique menu Disney has to offer.

Pros:

Had a great interaction with Cast Members

Cons:

If family style does not fit your party - most likely not the place for you
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by MaryW Review Date: 04/17/2019

Rating: (7)
Recommended

We enjoyed the meal here. It’s served family style. You can often get a seat here instead of Liberty Tree when the park is busy. The salad and cornbread is very good.

Pros:

The watermelon slushee drink is very refreshing on a hot day.

Cons:

Limited menu
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 09/26/2018

Rating: (7)
Recommended

The Diamond Horseshoe is located in Frontierland inside Disney's Magic Kingdom park. It is an all you care to eat western themed meal served family style - where I try to eat at least once on each trip to Disney.

It starts off with their Frontier Salad which consists of Tossed Greens, Tomatoes, Onions, Roasted Corn, and Cornbread Croutons served with House-made Chipotle-Ranch Dressing. Refills are available upon request - I know this for a fact as I love this salad so much I have a hard time moving past it to the main meal. 🙂

The Saloon Feast consists of Barbecued Pulled Pork, Carved Turkey Breast, Smoked Sausage, Braised Beef, Cowboy Beans, Seasonal Vegetables and Baked Macaroni & Cheese all served on a large platter for the table (I like everything except the Cowboy Beans). Make sure to try the Cornbread too - it is delicious.

If you have any room left you can end your meal with a Campfire Brownie served in an iron skillet.

This meal is pricey, but if you can time it right you can have a good breakfast and then eat here mid-afternoon to cover both lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended.

Pros:

No reason to ever leave hungry! Nice place to stop and eat/rest during a hot afternoon at MK. Reservations rarely needed. If you know there is something you will not eat, you can ask for it to not be included with what is delivered to your table.

Cons:

Pretty pricey, especially for a family.
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by SKNJ Review Date: 07/17/2017

Rating: (7)
Recommended

This is now open year round. The food was ok. The cornbread was good. The salad dressing was a little on the spicy side but good. It is a family style meal. We walked in without a reservation and there were only 3 or 4 other tables occupied when we left. They do not have plain lemonade and the tea is unsweetened.

The manager of this place is also over Liberty Tree Tavern and she spoke with us. She told us that they have had a few menu changes as they are trying to get this one figured out. The service was very good and once the server realized our youngest has ADHD, he took it upon himself to keep him entertained. They allowed our son to be a "greeter" at the front door, gave him the lighted tinkerbell clip, and even played games with him.

The desert was excellent. It is a very rich chocolate chip brownie with marshmellow crème on top of grahm crackers. It is basically a smores. It would be better if it was served with a scoop of ice cream. It was one of the best deserts that I had this visit.

Pros:

Desert

Cons:

drink selection
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by MarLL55 Review Date: 04/18/2019

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

What to say, what to say? Our waiter was very nice and very attentive. From that it went downhill. If the food that we were served was the food that was on the menu when you looked under Diamond Horseshoe on line-then it might have been ok. I was expecting a low key rootin tootin saloon. Not to be.

Pros:

Server was great -the piano only played one time.

Cons:

Food needs worked on
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by 45stoutjay Review Date: 04/06/2020

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

This is not a good place to eat at all. There are so many other places to eat in the Magic Kingdom than Diamond Horseshoe

Pros:

The theming and restaurant itself

Cons:

The food
0 Users found this helpful.

Other topics in Magic Kingdom