Reviews of Boulangerie Patisserie les Halles

Reviews

128

Rating

8.42 / 10

Recommended By

95%



Read prices, menu items, and more about the Restaurants

Boulangerie Patisserie les Halles

Services: Quick Service

Reviewed by Lou28 Review Date: 01/13/2013

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Just went to the newly expanded Boulangerie-Patisserie. After many visits standing in long lines in the narrow shop, then hunting for a seat, the new restaurant was a welcome change. There was more room for lines and additional seating. We were there at an uncrowded time, but I suspect even this larger space will get crowded during busy seasons. I didn't do a direct comparison, but all my favorite desserts were still there. The best part is the addition of more savory items. We used to go mainly for dessert, but now it really is a good lunch or light dinner restaurant. The chicken sandwich (sorry, I don't remember the French names) was yummy, especially when warmed, but a bit pricey. There was a baguette with garlic and cheese which was so good and actually quite reasonably priced. I noticed the cheese plate price really increased but didn't seem bigger to me. I know some people will not like the cafeteria-feel and loss of the charm of quaint old shop, but all things considered, the new restaurant is an improvement.

Pros:

expanded menu and seating

Cons:

some pricey items
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by cholmberg Review Date: 01/21/2013

Rating: (9)
Recommended

This would get a ten, despite the long lines (I can see why everyone wants to get in!) except for the fact that there is very little seating. I had to stand there with my daughter and a tray for ten minutes waiting. There were people not eating and just chatting, taking up tables. . . both times we went in there, it was an issue. Everything we had was delicious. We were on the Deluxe plan so had plenty of snack credits to burn, and we did! They should clear out some of that gift shop that is in there and put in a few more tables. It was just -cramped-. If this is 'expanded' I shudder to think of how it was before.

Pros:

delicious!

Cons:

long lines, next to no seating
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Lulu Review Date: 01/22/2013

Rating: (3)
Recommended

For such a beautiful place , the staff was an ugly foul mood which surprised me that Disney would allow such people represent France. I was struck in awe with beauty of the products and couldn't decide which product to have for lunch when I get a eye roll and a huffy attitude by the cast member behind the counter. When I did decide and she reluctantly decided to take me to the register and asked me if I wanted a drink and when I told her yes. She turned around disgusted and left .
When we were in the store area and bought some mugs and tried to make small talk with the cashier she turned away from me and talked in French to a co-worker in a rather ignorant tone. Since they were mugs you would think she would wrap them another bag. But, no she just threw them in the bag. I am shocked they were not chipped.
My fiancee said that is your typical French "rude" but, I thought this is Disney Cant you show some civility? I was hoping to visit France in the near future but this has really turned me off to them and I think I will plan my net vacation elsewhere

Pros:

Very very good bagutes

Cons:

Service was horrible
1 User found this helpful.

Reviewed by dsnyak5 Review Date: 02/03/2013

Rating: (6)
Recommended

Visited the new and expanded bakery on 1-29. We were not impressed. Cold, stark, and unwelcoming. Completely lacking the charm and coziness of the former location. Bigger, yes, but in this case bigger doesn't mean better.
Eclairs are quite a bit smaller...but not the price. Our favorite cheese plate is a shadow of its former self. Tiny slices of cheese, no bread, no fruit, and a much higher price. We will miss having this light lunch on our trips. We thought many of the offerings looked old and dried out.

The eating area is a welcome addition, but has no ambiance or warmth. You have no desire to linger. Really, the whole place is now like a school cafeteria. Such a shame.

Pros:

savory choices

Cons:

devoid of any charm
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by tink Review Date: 02/07/2013

Rating: (8)
Recommended

I ate here twice. The quiche florentine was very good. The ham and cheese sandwich had a lot of butter on the bread. I did not have any pastries but they looked good. I like that there is more room and places to sit. You can order pastries from either side. It is nice that it opens at 9am
especially if someone is entering though the International Gateway.

Pros:

good variety,opens at 9am

Cons:

alot of butter on ham and cheese sandwich
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by lizzie1974 Review Date: 02/08/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

I ate there 3 times on our last trip. The Croissant Jambon et fromage is delicious. Baguettes are great, chocolate croissants are good. Nice rich hot chocolate.
The servers behind the counters are super, especially when you look them in the eye to order and admit how bad your own French is! (I try but I just sound silly).

The line was long and customers are a bit confused by the set up. There is one main line, then it is supposed to sort of branch off depending on what you'd like to order. If you just want a dessert, for instance, you should skip around the person in front of you ordering something from the sandwich section. The servers are really trying to convey this but most people don't get it. I didn't realize how it was supposed to work until I went through the first time. It's a short learning curve, but for most people it's their first time too! The menu boards above the counters are specific to the stations.

They may want to consider making 3 funneling lines that direct people to exactly what they want. Also a bit more signage would probably help folks.

Pros:

food, service

Cons:

customer confusion
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by mrsfarrellhob Review Date: 02/11/2013

Rating: (8)
Recommended

The chocolate croissant I had for breakfast, though expensive, was the best I've ever eaten. This is a great breakfast option for those entering Epcot via International Gateway...I got my breakfast and zipped on up to World Showcase to ride Test Track!

The coffee, in addition to being too expensive, was too strong and served in a crappy cup with a lid that kept coming loose.

I also got a chocolate eclair for dessert the same day and didn't care for it as it had chocolate filling and not the vanilla filling I'm used to. I should have asked first!

Pros:

Pastries

Cons:

Coffee, Price
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by alyssavm Review Date: 02/13/2013

Rating: (7)
Recommended

So sad that there was no charm here, since I love France (the EPCOT version and the real deal)! That being said, service was pleasant and efficient. The cheese plate was a great value at $10. 4 out of the 5 cheeses were good!

Pros:

Cheese plate

Cons:

Kind of sterile, no charm
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by marsdnr Review Date: 02/23/2013

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Visited late January. The new location is nice. Lines move quick and there is small eating area. We always visit this place several times each visit. This trip was no different. I ordered the cheese platter to take back to the room. Was a nice evening snack.

Pros:

more lunch items on the menu.

Cons:

Cost
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by MellieBeans Review Date: 03/17/2013

Rating: (6)
Recommended

I LOVE the French pastries here, and believe me I visit each and every time we are at Epcot. This time, our first visit since they upgraded to the larger location, was a huge disappointment. The pastry are a lot smaller in size, but not in price. I was sorry to see that, to say the least. My favorite is the Napoleon and it was about half it's usual size. It still tasted good, of course.
Needless to say, I will probably not be as happy to visit here again, and who knows, I may not, unless they go back to their original portion sizes, that is!

Pros:

Size of seating area

Cons:

smaller products
0 Users found this helpful.
1 2 3 13

Other topics in Epcot