Reviews of Boatwright’s Dining Hall Dinner

Reviews

33

Rating

8 / 10

Recommended By

88%



Other Menus at Boatwright's Dining Hall

Read prices, menu items, and more about the Restaurants

Boatwright's Dining Hall

Services: Table Service

Reviewed by earthmom7 Review Date: 01/03/2013

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Had dinner here on 12/26/12. Our server was friendly and very attentive although he did forget to enter an appetizer order. Next to the California Grill this was our favorite dinner of the week we had in Disney. The pork chop was cooked perfectly, the creole pasta with shrimp was very flavorful.

Pros:

service, food

Cons:

None
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by adjordan Review Date: 01/21/2013

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We ate here one evening during our stay at POR. The food was great. My husband had steak tips and my daughter and I shared the catfish. The other party had chicken strips for the kids and pork chops for the adults. We all enjoyed it. This was the only place that we ate that served sweet tea. Everyone in our large group appreciated that. The only negative was service. The place was not very busy at all and it was a chore getting our drinks refilled and even our check. I noticed this a lot since we had a large party and the 18% gratuity was already added to the check. If we stay here again, we will probably choose to eat here. I'm not sure we would go out of our way to do so if we stayed somewhere else.

Pros:

food, had sweet tea!

Cons:

waitress
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by brb214stoon Review Date: 01/29/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

The blackened fish is excellent as is the steak. Kids enjoyed it as well. Many desserts to chose from.

Pros:

atmosphere, food, quick service

Cons:

0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by sperez Review Date: 05/14/2013

Rating: (5)
Recommended

We ate here 5/09/13 as a last min. sit down meal. I would have to say the service was terrible. They were not very busy and the waitress took forever to take our drink order as well as bring us our drinks. My 7 year old daughter spilled her Ice tea and no one came over to the table to help clean up. I told the waitress and all she did was bring her a new drink. The floor was soaking wet to the point where we had to put our feet up off the floor.

Our food also took a very long time to come out. I actually ordered dessert to go because everything was taking so long.

That being said me and my son had the strip steak and it was very good. the corn bread was tasty as well.

Pros:

Food

Cons:

Service
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by MissWendyBird Review Date: 05/14/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

My dad and I decided to eat here for our first night and we weren't disappointed. For an appetizer, we had crawfish bites topped with Remoulade sauce. This appetizer was much, much better than expected. We couldn't get enough of it!

For the main course, I had the slow roasted prime rib while my dad had the grilled pork chop. The prime rib was superb, much better than I expected. I ate everything, which is very unusual for me since I chew slowly, allowing me to get full faster. The asparagus spears were delicious, along with the Yukon potatoes. I'm literally drooling as I write this, that's how good the meal was.

The only bad thing was the lack of waitresses/waiters. While our waitress was very nice, I felt she was over-burdened and could have used some help.

For the price, you can't beat it. It's a great meal in a great atmosphere with friendly people. Boatwright's definitely keeps it's place as one of my favourite restaurants.

Pros:

Better than expected

Cons:

Not enough staff
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by nrymut Review Date: 08/31/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We loved our dinner here. Food and service were great. We could not finish everything as the portions are generous. The dining room is nicely themed and tables are not too close together. I highly recommend the pork chop and the sweet potato bread pudding.

Pros:

Food, service

Cons:

None
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by nurseholly Review Date: 10/02/2013

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We really enjoyed our dinner here. The food was good and the service was attentive. I liked the theming and would recommend the restaurant for people that are staying at Port Orleans. However, I don't think that I would make a special trip here from another resort.

Pros:

food

Cons:

nothing really
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by longislander Review Date: 10/06/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

What a wonderful surprise! During all of our stays at POFQ, we never tried Boatwright’s. This past visit, I wanted to try it and check it off my “to-do” list. We had an ADR for the first night of our visit. Usually, we are still out of sorts from traveling so our dinner doesn’t normally taste that great. Since we had low expectations of Boatwright’s, we booked it for our first dinner. I’m allergic to shellfish and my family members are not adventurous eaters if we didn’t like dinner, no big deal. We arrived early and were seated promptly. The waitress knew from our reservations that I was allergic and said she would bring over the chef. We discussed what I could and could not eat. I decided on the prime rib (mostly due to Allears’ reviews) and my daughter ordered the jambalaya. I know everything tastes better in WDW, but my prime rib was still the best I’ve had in years. It was perfectly cooked and extremely tender. My non-adventurous eating daughter thought the jambalaya was tasty without being overwhelming spicy. Our server, Jennie was wonderful: friendly and attentive. I think we found a new first night tradition! If you want a nice quiet meal or a delicious prime rib, stop by Boatwright’s!

Pros:

Food

Cons:

none really; just a little out of the way
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by Kealoha50 Review Date: 10/07/2013

Rating: (0)
Recommended

Ate here Sept. 30. The prime rib was delicious as well as the masked potatoes and asparagus. First time that we ate here and will definitely be back. We stayed at OKW and took boats to Downtown Disney they Port Orleans Riverside. The trip was worth it and had a nice relaxing boat ride.

Pros:

Loved the food.

Cons:

none
0 Users found this helpful.

Reviewed by memakwed Review Date: 12/28/2013

Rating: (7)
Recommended

We have stayed at POR 3 times now and this time we really used the food court. We were on the DP. We had mugs that we used for hot cocoa or coffee in the morning. The hot cocoa is burning hot so a tip would be to add some creamer to the hot cocoa(right next to each other) and it will cool it a bit without watering it down. We found ourselves eating a lot of cheese Danish or cherry Danish for breakfast using a snack credit. We ate by the quiet pool by our room so DS could swim from 7-9 am. This worked since it was warm and my dad had to wait to take medicine before going to the parks. We had a couple late lunches here. We had some great soup too. Clam chowder and tomato bisque. Was able to use a snack credit for these as well. We tried create your own pasta with alfredo and different ingredients, the beef and blue sandwiches- a little heavy on the blue cheese and I love blue cheese, a bacon burger kids fish sandwich- needed some help with tartar sauce tomato onion, BBQ pork sandwich and lots of tuna sandwiches. and tons of carrot cake. That was probably the moistest cake there. The red velvet missed the mark. the cheesecake got a little soft while we ate. Overall it was a great dining experience.

Pros:

convenient good portions

Cons:

crowds
0 Users found this helpful.

Other topics in Port Orleans