Reviews of Be Our Guest -Counter Service Lunch

Reviews

265

Rating

8.04 / 10

Recommended By

88%



View Menus at Be Our Guest Dining Location

Children's Lunch Menu

Cuisines: American

Lunch Menu

Cuisines: American
Read more about Be Our Guest including links to menus here:
http://allears.net/dining/location/be-our-guest

Be Our Guest - Lunch
Lunch in counter service
New Fantasyland Expansion

Read prices, menu items, and more about Be Our Guest

Services: Table Service , Quick Service , Kiosk

Reviewed by monorailmom Review Date: 03/04/2017

Rating: (0)
Recommended

The one thing I would say about lunch here is to PRE ORDER! Every time we are here, I look at the incredible line of people waiting to order and wonder why they are putting themselves through that! We were checked in, through the pre-order line, had drinks, and were at our table in under 15 mins. The food was wonderful as always, and the setting is just amazing, particularly if you love Beauty and the Beast.

Pros:

Setting, food quality better than other quick serve's

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by oravets4 Review Date: 02/10/2013

Rating: (0)
Recommended

This was our favorite QS meal of the trip. Got there at 2:15 and got in with a very little wait. This place is absolutely beautiful! We ordered the Croque Monsier and the steak sandwich. Both were very good, but I prefered my Croque Monsier. The strawberry cream cheese cupcake was awesome!! I ordered the chocolate cupcake, but after trying my husbands strawberry cupcake, I took his! I love that they give you a rose, you get the drinks yourself and then they find your table to bring the food to you. Can not wait for our next trip so we can eat here again!

Pros:

Food, concept, beautiful rooms to pick from

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by AdventurelandFan Review Date: 02/15/2020

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

As a reasonable fan of Beauty and the Beast, I expected to like this much-hyped location. But it was, in January of 2020 at least, the absolute worst experience I had on the whole property. The fries I had were cold, thin, and over-fried. They were ... challenging for my teeth, to say the least. The sandwich was utterly forgettable. And the onion soup was nearly as expensive as what you can find in Chefs de France in EPCOT, but orders of magnitude worse. (Seriously do not order the onion soup here. You're just throwing money away that you could be applying to the best onion soup you've ever had over in France.)

The theming is overtly fake and plasticky. I don't even think it does particular justice to the parts of the movie it's trying to depict. Most disappointing is the rose under glass. On not-that-close inspection it's no more complicated than an LED Christmas ornament.

To try to explain the theming disappointment, it's perhaps useful to compare it to the Tangled bathroom area/transition zone close to the Haunted Mansion. Both it and Be Our Guest are rough contemporaries in Fantasyland, but the theming in the Tangled area has a nuance that Be Our Guest lacks. There's a gradation to the coloring of buildings that occurs in the Tangled area that makes them look somehow more real, more sophisticated. The bathrooms have authentic frying pans on the wall that aren't explained. There are wanted posters, cleverly written, for various characters in the movie. And the pavement leading up to the area has hoof prints implied to have been made by the key horse in the film. It's not that the area tries to recreate scenes, but rather to put you into the world of Tangled.

By contrast, Be Our Guest seems much less sophisticated. It's actually trying to recreate scenes, with each room being a different phase of the film. But it's both too on-the-nose and less artful than what's going on in the Tangled area. On the whole, I was left severely disappointed in the theming, which made the poor food quality all the more inexcusable.

The whole place feels to me as if it needs refurbishment, giving priority to the live-action version rather than the original animated film. Making it look like the Emma Watson version of the film, and breaking it up into the several more rooms seen in that film — along with gloomy mood lighting — would do wonders for this restaurant.

I can't fairly comment on what the service is like, since there isn't any during lunch to speak of. Nor is that something that should be fairly judged as a deficit for this location — it's counter service at lunch, so genuine service from waiters shouldn't be expected. Still the name of the restaurant does make you think you're getting some sort of treatment that will make you think you're a guest of some kind. Instead, the lack of service and the big rooms full of cramped tables does make it feel like a school cafeteria more than a restaurant.

Common wisdom about this place is to go for lunch. It's the cheapest way to get in and see the theming. But the theming is completely missable, and the price for lunch is actually too high for what you're getting. I wouldn't discount the possibility that one day I might do the full-service dinner here — just to see if it becomes more true to its namesake.

But I wouldn't go back for lunch — even if someone else were paying. It's genuinely that bad. Even if you have kids that love Beauty and the Beast, don't indulge them here. Almost every quick service joint in the whole of WDW is better than this. Go to Galaxy's Edge. Go to World Showcase. Heck, just go around the corner to Main Street USA. Go on a monorail and get off at the Poly.

Do ANYTHING to avoid lunch here.

Pros:

None — though I've not experienced the full-service dinner, which may be much better, if significantly more expensive.

Cons:

Theming, inability to in any way evoke the "Be Our Guest" sequence from the film, pricing way too high for the quality of the nearly-inedible food. Wholly overhyped location.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Jen617 Review Date: 12/18/2016

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

This is the first time we have had lunch at Be Our Guest (Dec 5, 2016); we previously had dinner there about a year ago and sadly both were awful. We have no idea why people continue to rave about the place. I wish we could see what they see, but we just don't. We won't be back.

Lunch is a complete nightmare when it comes to ordering. You wait in a very, very long line that eventually will split into two inside. One line the guests order on their own, the other line someone takes their order. This is no rhyme or reason to this that we can think of. Either which way, it seems completely inefficient and we have no idea what determines which line you get.

Once we grabbed our drinks, silverware, etc, we went and found a seat. The first server that walked by told us to put our receipt at the edge of the table. The next one that walked by, moved it to where they wanted it. Yet another one walked by and asked where the receipt was so they could get our food. Someone completely different walked by and said they were going to go get it and checked the receipt. I kid you not, we had EIGHT different people walk by, check the receipt, and then NOT bring us our food. It would have been comical, had it actually been funny but really it was just annoying. No server seemed to have a grasp how to find our order. It is just a wildly inefficient process. They need something on the tables to identify who we are (such as a number like most places use or because the place is so big, some sort of device that will actually transmit a signal to a main hub where it can be viewed).

We finally got our food like 20 mins later, and it was just ok. At least it wasn't FROZEN like the dinner I had the year previous. I had the layered ratatouille then and I am not kidding when I say it was icy in the middle. When I asked our server to send it back because it was cold, he said "oh, well nothing here is prepared fresh, it's all frozen like a tv dinner so they must not have heated it all the way. i will tell them to make sure it's done". And that's what we are paying good money for? I don't expect it to be a California Grill or even an 'Ohana, but come on, frozen is unacceptable.

Please, please save your $. I know it's convenient to eat in the park, but really, hop on the monorail, and take yourself to 'Ohana instead. We did breakfast there for the first time and loved it as much as dinner (I'm vegetarian and asked for some egg whites and veggies which they were happy to do and it was excellent). They went through a phase for awhile when the food was very blah, but I'm happy to report it's excellent again and i could eat there every night!! Just don't make me eat at Be Our Guest again. Even our first-time to WDW friends said it was awful, and I felt bad because I was hoping it would be different and they would love it. Not so much :(

Pros:

None

Cons:

Too many to fit in this box
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Brygida Review Date: 06/20/2013

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Ordering was an issue. The cashier did not understand the product. Misinformed us that the meatloaf did not have tomato sauce when in fact it did have a layer baked in. Misinformed that roastbeef was well done when it was med rare. Everything is premade and practically nothing can be substituted. If you dont like cheese on your sandwich or would rather get the mashed potatoes side, you're out of luck! And the ingredients used are not fresh. The baguette was old and stale - enough to make a French man cry! Compare it to the baguette at chefs de France for instance which is hot and crusty. My son refused to eat his dish and I only ate my soup. When a manager walked by and inquired about the food we told her and she refunded our entire meal. Oh yeah, turned out the cashier charged us for a meal we didn't order too. My advice - go to Chefs de France.

Pros:

Potato leek soup

Cons:

Every thing else
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 03/16/2020

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

I thought the food was poor compared to breakfast and dinner

Pros:

Scenary

Cons:

Food
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Smoosher Review Date: 01/25/2019

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

We are Florida resident pass holders for quite a few years and have been trying to get reservations for Be Our Guest. I went on line every day for a few months. Finally the lunch reservations were made in May 2018 for Jan 20th, 2019. From most of the reviews we read, people praise this restaurant. I do not see why. They herd you in like cattle.The very loud main dining area has nice chandeliers but that is all. One side room has many great pictures from the movie and the other side room has statues of Belle & the Beast. The food is no better than any other over priced fast food in the complex. The French onion soup was luke warm with a solid block of cheese on top. We had to cut it with a knife to get to the broth. I love cheese and left more then half on a plate. It was too hard to chew. The sandwiches were OK at Best. Personally our party of five would not go back if dinner was free. We have eaten at the top and bottom end restaurants in the whole complex. This rates below almost all. I can only imagine what a $60.00 per person dinner would be like. Don't waste your money here.

Pros:

A few great pictures and statues.

Cons:

The food.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Smitty Review Date: 09/25/2016

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

I tried for 2 years to get reservations for lunch and finally did for this trip.
Went to check in and met a snippy cast member who sent me away stating that I had 2 more minutes to wait, despite showing her the time on my phone as it was 11:45 - my reservation time. I love being sent back in line to melt in 90 degree weather.
Finally, we got into the restaurant and ordered. Nothing was explained about getting beverages, etc. the cast member told us to find a table.
Thirty minutes later we were still waiting for 2 roast beef sandwiches all the while noticing people that were behind us in line already eating. I found a cast member and she came and looked at my slip, walked away - then another cast member came and looked at the slip ??? Ten more minutes passed and then the food came. Absolutely NOT worth the wait or the cost. I tried to find ketchup and was told that it was in the fridge under a cabinet ?? Not sure why it isn't out on the counter.
We spent $50 for two roast beef sandwiches and two cokes that took 40 minutes to get. No thanks.

Pros:

Restaurant setting

Cons:

Overpriced food
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 06/21/2020

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

The restaurant is very expensive and the food is not good at all. We tried at least 5 things on the menu and they were all just kinda meh.

Pros:

It’s very pretty inside

Cons:

The food
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/28/2020

Rating: (3)
Recommended

If you're just dying to see the inside of the Beast's castle and don't want to make a dinner reservation, go ahead and try this one once. Once will probably be enough...
The menu is ok, the food is ok (not great, just ok) and the atmosphere is generally chaotic, at least until you can get to a seat in one of the side rooms. The cart delivery is nice, keeps you from balancing trays in a crowded dining room. We count this one as a "pass" - been there, done that.

Pros:

Decent menu but with enough "plain jane" options for picky people. Cart delivery helps. Decor/environment is nice - but you'll not get any photos that don't have a bunch of strangers in them.

Cons:

Quite chaotic. Food and experience won't blow you away.
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3 27

Other topics in Magic Kingdom