Reviews of Akershus Royal Banquet Hall - Lunch/Dinner

Reviews

69

Rating

7.48 / 10

Recommended By

81%



View Menus at Akershus Royal Banquet Hall Dining Location

Lunch/Dinner Menu

Cuisines: American, Other/Ethnic
Read more about Akershus including links to the menus, reviews and videos here: http://allears.net/dining/location/akershus-royal-banquet-hall

Princess Storybook Character Lunch/Dinner
Norway - World Showcase - Epcot

Read prices, menu items, and more about Akershus Royal Banquet Hall

Services: Buffet/All You Care to Eat , Table Service , Table Service

Reviewed by floridaorangebird Review Date: 04/17/2019

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Disney ruined this once great restaurant when the changed the theme to being about Norway, to Disney princesses. Its now nothing but a loud childrens cafeteria/zoo. They have ruined the menu and buffet, and it has totally lost concept of what it was meant to be. Anything for Disney to make a precious buck anymore. This use to be one our favorite places and was enjoyable for both lunch and dinner. I feel bad for the young Norwegians who have to work here and put up with the crazyness. Its not even well maintained anymore. We will not return and the prices are a rip off and the princesses do not belong here.

Pros:

none left sadly.

Cons:

loud, crazy, dirty, ripoff, not about Norway anymore. just Disney greed.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by gr Review Date: 01/28/2015

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

When you see New York Strip on a menu you expect a nice piece of steak. 3 Adults ordered this in our party and were surprised to get a piece of roast beef 1/4 thick X 3" X 7"...I can honestly say my "Beef"was barely warm next to the equivelant of 2 ice cream scoops of cold mashed potatoes and 26 cold long string beans. My meat was so tough that the butter knife they provided would not cut through the gristle. The 3 year old child received a bowl of Macaroni and Cheese which was hot and a glass of milk for $27.99. The service was average considering gratuity is already part of the bill and there is no incentive to be better. I'm disappointed in quality of the food that is offered in the Disney Parks considering the premium price that is charged.

Pros:

children get to meet princesses

Cons:

Really poor food for the money!
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Georgia Di Natale Review Date: 11/29/2018

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

Had dinner at Akershus last night. In my opinion the choice and quality of food was very mediocre. The salad bar was poor. The only two Norwegian items were the smoked salmon and one kind of cheese. For the rest could have been an American appetizers buffet. As main course I tried the meatballs and weren’t much better than the ones you can have at Ikea! The desserts really were not impressive. You can have much better desserts at the Norwegian bakery across from Akershus. Being Disney I was disappointed. Compared to the past experiences there I was amazed at the change of quality. For me a rip off. In addition the restrooms were really dirty. This aspect is also strange because usually restrooms are really taken care for at every park.

Pros:

Pictures with the princesses in a pleasant setting.

Cons:

Too expensive for the very poor quality of food there.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by rnipper Review Date: 06/05/2016

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

We had dinner at Ackerhaus on 5/14 to give my niece and 2 great nieces one last Princess experience. The photographer was in such a hurry he was taking pictures before the previous group was even out of the shot and the few he took were so quickly done that none of them had the girls smiling or with eyes opened. It was unlike any of the other character photo sessions encountered.
The girls enjoyed the interaction with the princesses again even though they had seen them all at other locations and Cinderellas Royal Table. Since no one knows which princesses will appear we took a chance that their might be some new ones but I was OK with that.
My biggest complaint was the quality of the entree's. My sister ordered the meatballs and she ate half of one and did not like it. I tried a bite of one and it had an unpleasant aftertaste and was kind of grainy. My pork chop was so overcooked that it was nearly impossible to cut it with my knife. I ate 2 bites and stopped. My 24 year old niece did like her mushroom ravioli and said it was really good. Why didn't we send the food back? It was the end of a long, hot day and we wanted to go get spots for Illuminations so in the words of Elsa we "let it go". It was certainly not a 300.00 meal and we were not on the dining plan. Our waiter was very nice and attentive but I think that if you see that 2 entree's are barely touched you might want to inquire whether there was a problem.Had this happened on our first day or earlier in the day we the pork chop would definitely have gone back.Seasonings or the overall way a dish tastes is individual preference and not necessarily the kitchens fault but overcooking a pork tenderloin is not acceptable.
I would not return here.

Pros:

Nieces loved the princesses

Cons:

Hurried photographer and poor quality food
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by chrisac64 Review Date: 01/15/2015

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

Third time taking daughter to Akershus over the last two years.
All previous times were ok. This time the food on the menu is the same but the preparation is much different. They do not give you a printed photo anymore, you have to go online and print it out yourself. The princess's only made one round in the time we were there. Previous visits they made two and had a parade for the children twice. And the service was very lacking.
A huge difference than our previous experience in April of 2014.
I diff entry would recommend people to save there money and spend it at another dining experience.

Pros:

Get to meet some princesses

Cons:

Food was poor,no printed photos now,poor service,limited time with characters
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Beth Review Date: 10/03/2015

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

I was very excited to take our preschooler to eat lunch and meet princesses. Unfortunately, the experience was disappointing.

1 - Wait time. Even though we had reservations, we had to wait about 15 mins outside in the sun.

2 - Crowded restaurant. Our table was squeezed against the wall, near the kitchen and the appetizer buffet. That meant that when we weren't surrounded by guests waiting for their appetizers, we were surrounded by servers rushing past with plates of food. I would have asked for another table but the place was packed.

3 - Poorly designed appetizer buffet line. Lines started at the right and left, then collided in the middle over the cold cuts, cheese, and vegetable salads. Why do that? It was hard to dodge the opposing traffic, and being crowded in with tables didn't make it easier. The buffet itself was sloppy with dripped food and the items didn't seem to be as cold as they should be. (The gjetost--brown cheese--was sweating, for example.)

4 - We had barely sat down with appetizers when our entrees arrived. Servers plunked the new dishes on the table and left them cooling while we hastily shoveled down our salads.

5 - Food was mediocre. Portions were fine, but the food was fatty and just sort of meh. Someone at my table ordered a turkey sandwich and the bread was so flimsy it the item had to be eaten with knife and fork. None of us finished our entrees. Desserts were about the same quality as you'd get at any grocery store, e.g. rice pudding from a tub, frozen apple pie, etc.

6 - Servers were very friendly and fast with drink refills.

7 - Kids under 2 eat free!

8 - Princesses! They were also very friendly. We posed for pictures with Belle on the way in, then had visits from Snow White, Sleeping Beauty, Ariel, Cinderella. (No Elsa or Anna, alas.) The "princess processional" that all the little girls joined was adorable. Watching everyone else's little princess is almost as much fun as watching your own. :) We didn't bring a tiara for our little one, but we wish we had. Many little girls were decked out in full princess swag.

I think this experience would have been far better if Disney would take some tables out of the restaurant. It's not like they are meeting the demand now--you still need to make special arrangements far in advance to see the princesses. The crowded atmosphere, plus the hurried pace, really bothered us, particularly given how long ago we had to reserve a table and how much the meal cost. I'd probably have been more happy if they had charged $5 more a plate but crammed in one less row of tables. As it was, I felt ripped off.

Pros:

friendly servers, princesses

Cons:

uneven service, mediocre food, high price
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 11/26/2019

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

Meeting the Princess's is Great. Our Teenage girls loved meeting several at the table after the meet and greet at entry. The menu is nothing to talk about. The service was slow and in fact the waitress spilled my plate on me.

Pros:

Character experience, A little girls delight

Cons:

Menu selection, loud, crowded, long wait
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by saffie Review Date: 11/24/2017

Rating: (4)
Recommended

I'll be honest; the only reason we booked this reservation was our youngest daughter had yet to get the full princess dining experience and CRT was impossible to book. We've been here before and loved it, so we figured, why not? We were seated in a nice section, no problems there, and Belle was absolutely enchanting. The "Taste of Norway" bar was especially tasty and I'm glad we had it; because our entrees proved to be less satisfying. The princesses were a bit rushed, and Ariel was just not feeling it that night, but we still had plenty of time to get the pictures we wanted. Now to the service. It was not good. I don't know if it was a language barrier or what have you, but our server was just rude the entire time. Most of the time we got our food and drinks from other servers. She treated us like a burden more than customers; and considering we were stuck paying her tip due to the size of our party, I suppose she didn't feel any need to put forth any effort. At the end of the entire meal, we got TWO desserts...in a party of NINE. Which meant each of us got a teaspoon of each selection before the entire dessert was gone. In the end, I can still say I'd recommend this experience to anyone who wants the princesses and can't get into CRT, but it will be our last time visiting this restaurant. We got our pictures and our memories, and the rest just isn't worth it.

Pros:

Princess interaction - the "Taste of Norway" bar

Cons:

Service was less than stellar; didn't get what we should have
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Disney nut Review Date: 09/29/2018

Rating: (5)
Recommended

Great character interactions!

Pros:

The characters were great and kids loved it.

Cons:

The food is just ok.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Amy Olvey Review Date: 09/27/2018

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

While the food wasn't as great as I had hoped, the interaction with the Princesses was terrific! My daughter loved getting to see all of the different Princesses come to our table! The food was average at best. I have picky eaters and they left there hungry.

Pros:

Getting to see all the different Princesses in a controlled setting and not having to wait hours in line.

Cons:

Need better food choices.
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3 7

Other topics in Epcot