Reviews of Whispering Canyon Cafe Lunch/Dinner

Reviews

37

Rating

7.27 / 10

Recommended By

76%



View Menus at Whispering Canyon Cafe Dining Location

Dinner Menu

Cuisines: American

Lunch Menu

Cuisines: American, BBQ

Children's Lunch/Dinner Menu

Cuisines: BBQ, American
Full Service

Lunch Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/whispering-canyon-cafe/lunch
Dinner Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/whispering-canyon-cafe/dinner
Child's Lunch-Dinner Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/whispering-canyon-cafe/child-lunch-dinner

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 02/18/2019

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

Our waitress was great!! Went the extra mile!! But our food choice was not good

Pros:

The staff!!

Cons:

We chose the nacho's and they just were not good
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by debg32 Review Date: 05/29/2017

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

This was the worst experience we had on this trip. We dined here 2 years ago and had a great time. We were meeting up with family and decided to make this the night we would get together. They had never been before so they were excited to experience it with us. It was embarrassing for us. First, they sat us way in the back next to the exit door from the kitchen. 12 of us were crammed in to a small area. We could not see or participate in any of the fun. Our server was an older gentleman who was looking for a big tip. He never asked if we were on the dining plan. We did say we all wanted the all you can eat skillet dinner. He said that was a good choice since it came with the drink of the night. Well, it didn't. Maybe if you were on the dining plan but otherwise it was not included. The drinks were $11 each. The ribs were terrible. The pulled pork was dry, not enough sauce. In addition, one of the servers coming out of the kitchen area dropped her entire tray of drinks, shattering glass and fluids were all over the floor. I did get splattered on the ankles but thankful I didn't get cut by the shattering glass. At the end of the meal, our server asked what we wanted for dessert. Thankfully someone in our party asked if it was included in the price. It wasn't. If they didn't ask, that would have been additional money padding his tip. We did complain to the concierge at our resort and we were reimbursed some of the cost.

Pros:

Nothing

Cons:

Everything
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mpk Review Date: 06/18/2014

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

In the past this was a "must do", unfortunately this years visit was very disappointing. The service was good but the food was not. The salad was OK but had blue cheese in it (which is not a favorite). The all you can eat skillet had chicken, ribs, pulled pork and steak. The ribs were very overdone and dry, the pulled pork had very little BBQ sauce on it and the steak was tough and chewy. Our daughter liked the chicken, but the rest of us were not impressed. We asked for more of each meat and the refills were of the same quality. This meal is highly overpriced for the quality of food. We had a better meal at Texas Roadhouse the following weekend for half the price! Make sure to note that dessert is NOT included as in the past.

Pros:

Pros: the potatos and cornbread

Cons:

Cons: the meat!!
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by jeconk Review Date: 03/12/2014

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

When our large group was choosing restaurants for our week long visit, this restaurant was near the top of many of the lists. After eating here, it fell to the very bottom of almost everyone's.
While the atmosphere can be fun at times and the server's can be fun, it all depends on how interactive and "into the part" your server is. While the host who seated us was great, our server was not very much fun compared to what we saw servers at other tables doing.
The food is mediocre. WHile the choices are varied, the taste was not that good and quite frankly, all the different meats tasted pretty much the same. (is pork supposed to taste like chicken??...lol). The desserts also were limited in selection.
Since this restaurant is somewhat out of the way at the Wilderness Lodge, it is one that is easily overlooked..... and that is not always a bad thing.

Pros:

Choices are varied; can be fun atmosphere but depends on what server you get.

Cons:

Food Taste not that great
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by luvwdw65 Review Date: 11/10/2013

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

This used to be one of our favorite places to eat, but not after our last visit. Our waiter, Smokin Sam, was anything but on fire, he was pretty slow.

The Dessert Sampler Platter has been removed from the "all you care to enjoy" platter and replaced with a salad. This was very disappointing. The salad was just OK but dessert is always better.

We asked why? He said it was because they were wasting dessert because so many people would ask for and then not eat them.

Now about the portions. We ordered Pulled Pork, Chicken and Beef Strip Loin. The pulled pork portion would have been about half of what one person would get at any real BBQ restaurant. The Chicken must have been a baby because the 2 pieces we got were very small, and we got 1 piece of beef. This is what we got for 2, not so small adults. I know we got mashed potatoes, corn and beans but we go there to eat BBQ. I also know we can order more, which we did but those portions of sausage, ribs and fish were not any better.
And did I mention how slow our waiter was? So more than an hour later when we left, we still felt hungry and disappointed that we weren't getting dessert unless we wanted to pay for it.
We will not be going back.

Pros:

fun atmosphere

Cons:

Portions and change to the menu
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Grumppy Review Date: 09/30/2013

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

We ate here on the last night of our recent trip, basically because we were staying at WL Villas and felt we would be able to relax, pack, etc. After checking in, was told they were "running a little behind" but actually didn't have to wait very long...it would be nice if you are staying at that resort if they could arrange it so they contacted you in your room +/- 15 mins or so before seating so you didn't have to wait in hotel lobby. Anyway, as has been mentioned in other reviews, this is NOT the place to go for a nice quiet dinner. That is OK by us, and we had an idea what we were in for since we had been by the restaurant several times during our stay and seen and heard the antics. We were greeted promptly by our server, who was very pleasant, and put in our order. The drinks (sodas and milk shake) arrived relatively quickly; the food was delivered by other servers in a timely fashion. Since we were a party of four, the sides brought were barely enough for medium servings for each of us. We wanted to ask for more sides, but our waitress was nowhere to be found. Finally, we flagged down one of the managers who happened to be passing our table and asked her, and we finally got our additional sides. For the meat, we had the beef, chicken and sausage. I wouldn't go so far as to call the beef "steak", it was more like roast beef. It was OK, but nothing to rave about. The chicken was pretty good, but I would avoid the sausage. Three out of the four of us ate it, and all three ended up becoming ill later in the evening...the one that didn't eat it was fine. The sides and the dessert assortment were good. If you have kids, no doubt they will enjoy it here; the Wilderness Lodge and the grounds surrounding it are among the most beautiful in WDW-you really DO feel that you are out in a lodge in the wilderness and not smack in the middle of Florida. The highlight of the evening was walking down to the beach after dinner and watching the Electric Water Pageant which stopped right in front.

Pros:

Fun atmosphere

Cons:

Food, service
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by 1283alex Review Date: 05/23/2013

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

Food was just average - should have saved dining credits & ate somewhere better - somewhat fun to watch kids having fun, but very obnoxious to dine here as a childless couple - waitress did not take social cues from us to back off with dramatic antics - super crowded restaurant - VERY LOUD

Pros:

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by okwmd Review Date: 01/16/2013

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

We have eaten here each time we visit WDW and looked forward to the great steaks and the creamy red bliss mashed potatoes. We didn't realize their had been a menu change and it was not a change for the better. The only entree choice was the family style skillet dinner which was not appetizing or enjoyable.

For dessert...jalapeño cheesecake??

Old saying..."If it ain't broke, don't fix it!"...why was a great menu changed?? We won't return until the menu changes back!!

Pros:

Service was great; server was very responsive

Cons:

Very disappointed with the entire meal
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by earthmom7 Review Date: 01/03/2013

Rating: (6)
Not Recommended

We had eaten here our last time in the World and enjoyed it so we decided to give it another go. Had dinner here on 12/24/12. The endless milkshakes are great and we love the entertainment; yelling for ketchup, the pony races, watching someone get put in jail. However, I have to say that the food was only so-so. It's worth it if you have younger kids but as mine are now teenagers I should have chosen some place else for dinner

Pros:

entertaining

Cons:

so so food
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Colleen Review Date: 09/28/2018

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We ate here for the first time on our recent trip while staying at Wilderness Lodge. I liked the fun, family atmosphere especially for the kids. Our waitress was very funny and personable. We all ordered the skillet and it was very tasty, but it took a while to get more helpings and they initially forgot to bring out the side of mac and cheese my daughter ordered. I would definitely go back if we were staying at Wilderness Lodge again, but I don't know that I would make a special trip for it.

Pros:

fun, family friendly atmosphere good food

Cons:

a little chaotic
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3 4

Other topics in Wilderness Lodge