Reviews of Typhoon Lagoon



Typhoon Lagoon (TL) is Disney's untypical version of a typical water park themed in a tropical island setting. The park contains all of the types of activities you would expect to find at a water park--slides, pools, a slow river--plus others you will find nowhere else, including a surf pool and a saltwater artificial coral reef pool chock full of tropical fish that you can snorkel through.

http://allears.net/btp/faq_tl.htm

Reviews:

19

Average Rating:

8.16

Would Recommend:

89%

Reviewer: traciem Review Date: 09/30/2018

Rating: (1) Would Recommend:

My hubby and I are both retired from active work life and this our favorite water park in Florida. We love the theming and attention to detail. For us this the hidden gem of Disney parks in Orlando. My hubby is and EVC and they have a special shaded area for EVC and other special needs guest which is located near food and bathrooms. We both love the newer Miss Adventure Falls ride and love to spend afternoons at this water parks.

Pros:

Excellent Theming and Area for EVC and Special Needs guests

Cons:

None

Reviewer: Colleen Review Date: 09/30/2018

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

We usually hit up both water parks on our trips, and of the two I prefer the theming of Typhoon Lagoon. I love the lazy river and the family raft ride. There are some great options for food and drinks here. We always get there at opening so we can grab seats in the shade for my grandchildren, so we have never had a problem with crowds. The only drawback is the wave pool. The concrete bottom is very rough, and its easy to get caught in the undertow. I wiped out sitting in very shallow water with my granddaughter, and scraped my elbows up. All in all a fun way to spend the day.

Pros:

Theming, fun water rides

Cons:

Wave pool injuries

Reviewer: Nat Review Date: 09/30/2018

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

Our favourite water park! Love the lazy river. Take advantage of Getaway Glen which is reserved seating and towels. Highly recommend!

Pros:

Lazy river, nice atmosphere, wave pool

Cons:

Wave pool injuries from hard concrete floor

Reviewer: survivoramy Review Date: 09/30/2018

Rating: (8) Would Recommend:

We just recently got the FL resident after 2 passes after not having them for several years. Typhoon Lagoon was our first visit and our activation point. We did have a lot of trouble with activation and I had my receipt printout, my DL, and my card purchase was made on. When we tried to go in gate they told me we didn't have privileges so off to guest service. Then back to ticket booth before it was finally figured out. We lost 30 minutes of our visit trying to straighten that out. Once we were in the park it was great. I had 2 teens with me. They always love the Wave pool. It was our first time on the new family ride and we really enjoyed it. Riding the raft up the conveyor belt was a new experience for sure (and it beat climbing stairs). I thought I remember Crush'n'Gusher having 3 person rafts as an option but there were only 2 person ones and if you were riding alone there was only one slide you could get in line for. But doubles were also in that same line so my girls were done WAY before me because they picked the shortest line and I was stuck in the longest one. We rode everything in the short time we were there and nothing had too long of a wait.

Pros:

Crush 'n' Gusher water coaster is always fun as is the wave pool. Love the theming in Disney.

Cons:

Ticketing and Guest Services turned what should have taken 5 minutes into 30 by their own errors.

Reviewer: Disney nut Review Date: 09/29/2018

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

fun times

Pros:

love the wave pool and the lazy river

Cons:

none

Reviewer: trishie30 Review Date: 09/26/2018

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

We rented a Beachcomber Shack and if you can swing it, it\'s a great experience. Unlimited towels, drinks, a covered place to relax and a Cast Member to deliver food for you, plus a locker for you to keep your valuables all really added to our experience here. This was our first visit and we didn\'t know what to expect, but we knew from a prior visit to BB that it would be touch to find a place to sit. We reserved in advance and chose our spot when we arrived and we couldn\'t have been happier. We all loved the wave pool although it is not for the faint of heart. Beware that if you stand where the waves crash, you can easily wipe out. Loved the slides and group raft ride. The lazy river is great but gets really crowded sometimes. Try to remember water shoes because the pavement can get extremely hot and there\'s little relief.

Pros:

Beachcomber Shack, lazy river, slides

Cons:

Hot pavement, crowds

Reviewer: Kathy Review Date: 09/26/2018

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

Been coming here for years and will continue to do so every trip to Disney! My kids loved being here- the rides, the wave pool, the tropical atmosphere! Now just my husband and I go together as our kids are grown and no longer vacation with us. We love the lazy river! Always a great way to spend the day!

Pros:

Sunshine and palm trees!

Cons:

None

Reviewer: Kerri Review Date: 09/25/2018

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

Out of the 2 water parks we found that TL was much better for older kids. Really enjoyed all of the slides and the wave pool!

Pros:

Wave pool and slides

Cons:

None

Reviewer: hlmclem722 Review Date: 09/11/2016

Rating: (1) Would Recommend:

TL, was a one and done for us! (Blizzard, however, gets a 10) First, typhoon has a huge bee problem at/near all food areas. All drink areas were out of ice. Eating was stressful. My kids were so scared of the bees it really took from the enjoyment of our day. Read about the wave pool before we went. My kids 15, 14 and 6 knew it had a rough surface and needed to be careful. The first wave, 14 year old got knocked over flat and I had to watch her get tossed to shore. She looked liked she was in a cat fight, all scratched up. Wasn't even that far out in the pool. Someone lost their shorts. I felt so bad for them. Needed family bathroom for my son(6) never found it. Slides were just ok. If deciding between Typhoon and Blizzard Beach, choose Blizzard!

Pros:

Visited 8/22/2016

Cons:

Bees, Wave Pool, Family Restrooms

Reviewer: aknlw2003 Review Date: 09/03/2015

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

Disney's Typhoon Lagoon is a must stop if you've never done the waterparks. Our family had one of our favorite days of our trip at TL...and we highly recommend. There are plenty of chairs available, you just have to keep looking. They have tucked chairs throughout the park and we were able to grab some lovely chairs on the "beach". My kids absolutely LOVED the wave pool. Now, we have a beach house, but with all of the shark attacks this summer they couldn't just enjoy the waves like in summers past, so they were thrilled to be able to play in the waves. Crush and Gusher is a super fun time! We went three times so we could do all 3 runs. The line moves way faster than you think it will. The family raft ride is also a lot of fun! My complaint is that the wait times are manually updated, so they are always wrong. I know we're trying to stay rustic...but waiting 40 minutes for a simple body waterslide in a line that said 15 minutes is simply a little annoying, we would have made other choices.
The music is lively, and the lifeguards are absolutely amazing, and always on high alert. You really feel like you're on a Caribbean island while you're there.
The downside is really the food. Terrible food options at this park. We wished we had taken our own food in a cooler. Snacks were good though!

Pros:

Crush and Gusher

Cons:

Wait times
1 2