Reviews of Trader Sam's Grog Grotto



View Menus at Trader Sam's Grog Grotto Dining Location

Located in the Great Ceremonial House, this 11960s themed lounge serves exotic drinks and small plates. The lounge itself, where all the amazing themed fun takes place, only allows 50 people in at a time. It is important to note that doesn't mean you'll have a seat, just you will be allowed inside.

At Trader Sam's Tiki Terrace (located outdoors) there is seating for 82 people and it has its own music.

Person's under 21 are welcome until 8:00pm each night.

Reviews:

14

Average Rating:

7.29

Would Recommend:

71%

Reviewer: sand935 Review Date: 10/01/2018

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

What a fun place! The drinks were great and the presentation for each drink type was so much fun. Animated squid arm, storms in the windows and much more. The food was also good. Have been here twice now and am looking forward to going again.

Pros:

Atmosphere

Cons:

long waits to get in
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: maegenduerksen Review Date: 09/30/2018

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

What a hidden gem! Our family now has a tradition of visiting Trader Sam’s whenever we’re vacationing at WDW. I constantly found myself laughing out loud at the bartenders and wait staff. Entertainment, drinks... reminds me of Adventurers Club actually.

Pros:

Great atmosphere

Cons:

Wish it was bigger
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: Lori Review Date: 09/26/2018

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

Trader Sam's is one of our favorite places. The atmosphere and the cast members are fantastic. And be aware, strange and wonderful things may happen depending on what drinks you order and where you are seated! The Headhunter sushi roll is my favorite sushi on property.

Pros:

Wonderful atmosphere, interactive cast members, great food.

Cons:

A limited number of seats are available, so there may be a long wait to get in, especially during busy times.
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: Anonymous Review Date: 09/26/2018

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

Great place for adults to have a little kid free fun after 8 pm. A very social environment to meet guests and cast members from all over the world. Food was good, drinks were great and the entertaining servers were wonderful. Each different drink comes with its own special experience.

Pros:

Strong drinks, kid free after 8 pm, cast members who have as much fun as the guests.

Cons:

Crazy prices for souvenir cups.
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: allec999 Review Date: 11/03/2017

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

Loved this place! Staff here goes all out. A number of drinks come with their own little show upon delivery. The delivery of the Nautilus cocktail was our favorite. There were some other surprises as well. Only complaint is that we tried to go back again another night and couldn't get in. We understand why. So much fun.

Pros:

Atmosphere, staff

Cons:

hard to get in
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: aurora3000 Review Date: 03/06/2017

Rating: (8) Would Recommend:

Trader Sam's is a quirky fun bar with creative drinks and theatrics to match. We enjoyed our experience, but you really need to understand what you are getting yourself into when going in. First, the place is very small. We waited about 20 minutes before we could sit inside. No problem, as we were able to shop and walk around the resort as we waited. We were able to describe our likes and dislikes to our server and she made some recommendations. The drinks are pricey, but this is not your typical bar. We also ordered several items from the kitchen. Everything we ordered was absolutely delicious- a pleasant surprise. Drink orders come with audience and Server participation. What can I say- It's just a fun place!

Pros:

Fun!

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: Hayzerqb11 Review Date: 01/31/2017

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

I really enjoyed both visits to Trader Sams, however if you are able to get a table inside the whole experience changes for the better. Definitely a fun bar if your with friends. The staff was really interactive with the ordering of certain drinks. Definitely go back, with no wait.

Pros:

Theming, Staff, Drinks

Cons:

Wait
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: Momof4 Review Date: 07/18/2016

Rating: (3) Would Recommend:

We were here on June 30th. We came from a blazing hot afternoon at MK and got right in at opening. We were looking forward to AC and a cold beverage. Huge disappointment. It was super dark and loud. The servers didn't do anything special other than pretend to swim. We ordered 6 drinks- 4 cocktails and 2 beers- no souvenir cups-and a few apps. (Wings and tacos, I think) Our bill was over $150.00. Ridiculous. I've had better food and effects at Rainforest and T-rex. We couldn't get out of her fast enough. We ran upstairs and grabbed some Lapu lapus and dinner at Kona and life was good again!

Pros:

Potential to be fun

Cons:

noise.level, prices, quality of.food.and drinks
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: disneymom35 Review Date: 11/18/2015

Rating: (8) Would Recommend:

We arrived to get a pager and told there was a 45 minute wait. We promptly went out to the patio and ordered drinks and appetizers. Hated having no prices on the menu for the drinks but knew enough to steer away from anything with a "souvenir cup," because that is always $10 or more added on. Ordered portuguese sausages and asian dumplings. There is very little description on the menu of these items and luckily my husband tasted a dumpling seconds before I took a big bite. They contained not only pork but shrimp too. Being allergic to shellfish, it was a close call. There was no mention on the menu of what was in the dumpling. My fault for not asking but I assumed they were pork. There really shouldn't have been some indication of what it was stuffed with.

Anyway, by the time the pager went off, we had each had two drinks (very good, btw), and decided to skip Trader Sam's. Maybe next time.

Pros:

Decent drinks and food

Cons:

Menu much too vague
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: disneyhardin Review Date: 11/13/2015

Rating: (7) Would Recommend:

We were able to get right in one evening without a wait. The décor is neat and the servers have lots of personality. That being said, the drinks were nothing to write home about and they were expensive. We had 2 beers and one "specialty" drink and it was about $35. It was neat to get to keep the Tiki cup that the specialty drink came in. We did not try any of the food offerings, just drinks.

Pros:

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments
1 2