Reviews of Tokyo Dining



View Menus at Tokyo Dining Dining Location

Read more about Tokyo Dining including links to the menus here:
http://allears.net/dining/location/tokyo-dining

Japan's Tokyo Dining is open for Lunch and Dinner.

Reviews:

12

Average Rating:

7.58

Would Recommend:

83%

Reviewer: KLove Review Date: 12/23/2018

Rating: (8) Would Recommend:

I have been to Teppan Edo many times, but had never dined at Tokyo Dining until my visit this month. The atmosphere of Tokyo Dining is creative and vibrant. You may be seated near the window, with a great view of the World Showcase Lagoon (and Illuminations, if you are dining late). Even if you don't get a window seat, you will have a view of the open-kitchen sushi bar, which is fun for kids and adults alike. The service is extremely friendly and welcoming. You will be greeted with a bow of respect, as is customary in Japanese culture. The menu is diverse and ranges from sushi, poke bowls, and appetizers to bento box combinations and creative Asian-fusion entrees. To start our meal, we ordered the tempura shrimp, which came with two different types: cassava flour breading and panko. Both were delicious. I ordered a variety of sushi and sashimi, which was exceptionally fresh and beautifully prepared. My brother ordered the Miso Marinated Rack of Lamb, which was some of the most tender and flavorful we have ever tried. My parents ordered the Miso-Yaki Salmon and Teriyaki Butter Grilled Chicken, which were also excellent. The accompanying seasonal vegetables (rainbow cauliflower and asparagus) were a bit cold when they were served. Overall, we were very happy with our meal. The prices are quite high, but not atypical for Disney table-service restaurants. The kids menu only offers a few options, although many of the regular menu options would likely appeal to children, particularly the teriyaki chicken and noodle bowls.

Pros:

Friendly service, atmosphere, fresh sushi, innovative and creative menu.

Cons:

Somewhat limited menu options for kids, expensive. Very few complaints overall.
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: Crow323 Review Date: 11/08/2018

Rating: (8) Would Recommend:

had a window table for Illuminations. the service was slower than previously but a busy night. bento box was good. sake included. i go here every trip.

Pros:

food quality and window seat

Cons:

service a little slower than past trip
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: jannielane Review Date: 03/01/2018

Rating: (8) Would Recommend:

Our group of three adults ate at Tokyo Dining at the beginning of December. Although the restaurant was very crowded, once seated the atmosphere was very peaceful and service was gracious and unhurried. I had the Bento Box because I couldn't make up my mind on a single entree. It was not exotic, but still excellent. I can get the same food at local Japanese restaurants, but not the atmosphere. I wish that the menu were a bit more daring, because Japanese cuisine is not exotic anymore, nonetheless, I like Tokyo Dining's food and will return.

Pros:

Great service; food is pretty and well-prepared

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: The Papi Review Date: 02/25/2018

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

We ate here in late January 2018. We were seated within minutes of our arrival. The seats along the windows were already filled and it was just 6:00 p.m. Our server was very friendly and welcoming. We ordered salads for apps, then I had the eel and DH had the panko fish & veggie combo. Everything was well presented and arrived in very little time. We didn't feel rushed, and were surprised to be back outside in just over a hour - so no park time wasted! This was also one of the best value meals we've had in a long time at WDW. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Food presentation, friendly waitstaff

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: JessicaBonnell Review Date: 02/13/2018

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

We ate here on a Friday evening at the end of January. It was excellent!!! The staff was very friendly. The whole atmosphere was so fun! We were sat near the sushi prep area, which was great when they did the sushi making demo! Everyone was so excited. Our food was delicious. I had two rolls, the fire cracker roll was great! My husband had the teriyaki butter chicken, and he loved it! The sauce on it was amazing. Our 8 year old had the chicken nuggets. They came in an adorable little bento bowl, with tempura chicken, sweet potato and cheese! She loved it, and she doesn't like anything. It also had some fresh fruit. Also, we got to try the sushi that was made during the demonstration...and Nana, the sushi chef, came over and she was the absolute highlight of our whole trip! She and our daughter became fast friends. She even made us an origami swan with all our names in Japanese.
This restaurant wasn't really somewhere we ever considered before, but I am so glad we did! This will be a must do from now on!!!

Pros:

food, atmosphere, sushi demonstration, staff

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: hammons16 Review Date: 05/03/2016

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

We ate here on 4/22 for my son's, 6, birthday. We have ate here in the past and have always been really impressed with the friendliness of the staff. This was probably our most memorable and favorite meal of our trip. We had none of the sushi or seafood because my daughter has a seafood allergy and they were very friendly and accommodating (she had grilled chicken and steamed rice). Husband had steak, I had grilled chicken, both of which comes with sauces and vegetables and some other sides. Food was delicious. We would definitely go back.

Pros:

food, extremely friendly staff, nice atmosphere

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: mickeyflex Review Date: 10/21/2014

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

We shared the miso clam soup (just okay, but lots of clams), a salad (huge and ginger dressing was amazing!), Spicy Crunch Roll, and Combination - Matsu. The rolls were not unusual, but on point and tasty; the fish, shrimp, and eel were very fresh; the egg omelet were an interesting addition.

Pros:

service, amount of food

Cons:

temp of tea, miso clam soup
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: DisneyBride1013 Review Date: 10/04/2014

Rating: (3) Would Recommend:

We go to WDW at least once a year and always stay for two weeks minimum. We are such huge fans of Tokyo Dining and always eat there at least three times per trip because the food is delicious and it's very easy to eat there if you have food allergies. But, during our most recent trip in March of 2014 we were horribly disappointed in the service and changes to the menu. We were promptly seated but waited more than 10 minutes for a waitress to appear at the table. After she took our drink order it was another 10 minutes to get the drinks. Then, it was 30 minutes before receiving food and we never got drink refills. After we were done eating it took 15 minutes and waving down the manager to get the check. What should have been a 45 minute lunch was nearly three hours. I'm not kidding. And, we were shocked to see a more limited menu (especially sushi) and we were disappointed to receive cold paper wipes instead of nice warm cotton towels at the beginning of the meal. Overall, not a good experience.

Pros:

Food was tasty and allergy friendly manager

Cons:

Slow waitress, new limited menu and paper wipes replaced warm towels
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: nursenita Review Date: 11/29/2013

Rating: (6) Would Recommend:

First time eating here and the last. The positive thing with this meal was the view at night. Beautiful. Food not good, service was slow, and the noise level is high.

Pros:

view

Cons:

food, service, noise
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: tangerinezoe Review Date: 05/11/2013

Rating: (4) Would Recommend:

Honestly, unless you are devoid of Japanese food where you live, skip Tokyo Dining. Being from San Francisco, Tokyo Dining was extremely underwhelming. The menu didn't have much to offer, and it seemed pretty obvious they didn't want to get too adventurous with their menu for fear of scaring off those unfamiliar with sushi. Plus, everything is way overpriced. I could stomach my experience if either the prices were more reasonable, or there was more to choose from albeit still at a higher cost. The food tastes fine, and the waitresses are nice, if a little hard to understand, and if you're lucky enough to get a table by the window you get a great view of Illuminations.

Pros:

Good service, great view of Illuminations if you can get it

Cons:

Poor selection, way overpriced
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments
1 2