Reviews of Starring Rolls

Reviews

24

Rating

9.04 / 10

Recommended By

100%



Quick Service next to Brown Derby

All Day Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/starring-rolls-cafe/all-day

Reviewed by cmoranski Review Date: 05/08/2016

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Good news they have added more tables and chairs finally. Pastries are excellent. Lovely cinnamon rolls. Delicious eclair. Hubby says coffee is better here than Starbucks. Great place to sit and watch the street show while having coffee.

Pros:

Added more seating

Cons:

Layout
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Junebug21981 Review Date: 08/09/2015

Rating: (9)
Recommended

My DH and I shared a chocolate croissant and a cheery danish together for breakfast. Both were wonderful, you can find both of these items at other parks.... great breakfast staples!

Pros:

Nice little seating area outside, Great food

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mschu2112 Review Date: 07/10/2015

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We ate here on June 25 and July 2nd for breakfast. Very good selection of pastry and bagels. For a quick breakfast this is great. Hit it when the park opens and there are no lines and plenty of seating. It is almost hidden where it sits but is worth a look as we always find this as a nice start. For lunch they also have a good selection of sandwiches that looked very good.

Staff was friendly and quick. Nice place to start the busy day with a relaxing juice and pastry. Will always make it a point to go here as we always plan for this.

Pros:

Great food

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by sreynolds5 Review Date: 02/20/2015

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Nice bakery with so many tempting pastry options. We were there about an hour after park opening and the line was well out the door. It took about 20 minutes to get our food. The seating is limited, as with so many counter service eateries in the World. We ended up sitting around the corner in the Brown Derby outdoor seating area, since the Derby was not yet open. Recommend the apple cranberry turnover and the cheese danish. Yum! Sandwiches and cupcakes looked pretty much to die for. Next time, we'll try this place for lunch :)

Pros:

Delicious Pastries

Cons:

Long Line, No Available Seating
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by amcrav Review Date: 01/17/2015

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Great place to eat. It does close kind of early so you have to get there early in your day. The cupcakes are great. We stop by on every trip to WDW. The traffic flow inside can be frustrating.

Pros:

Food

Cons:

Traffic Flow
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by CinCin Review Date: 11/17/2014

Rating: (9)
Recommended

The turkey sandwiches are delicious! It is made on a artisan bread and then cut into large wedges so they are pre made and you can't make special requests. It had a type of viniagrette dressing on the bottom that had a mix of red and other mild light green peppers and and Italian type flavor to it. I scraped that part off since I am not a fan of peppers but it otherwise added a nice flavor overall to the entree. The turkey was shaved and piled up so it was a hearty portion size and the bread was soft and tasty. This reminded me in a way of a muffaletta with the type bread used and the dressing. It was very very good. I also had the Butterfinger cupcake which was huge. I only ate half because of the size and tossed the rest. It was delicious but I simply didn't want to have to carry it around with me. I had had the cupcake before so I already knew I was going to like it, but the sandwich surprised me as I didn't think of this as a "meal place". The only downside to my experience here was the limited seating. I had to circle a few times to look for a spot that might be opening up but after not finding anything, in frustration and hunger, I finally asked a couple if I they minded if I joined them. They were already finished eating. We ended up having a nice conversation and I made some new friends. Then after they left, and I was seated alone, I saw a couple looking for a spot and I invited them to join my table. So I made more new friends! I would definitely go back and order the same meal. I only wish they would do something about the seating as there was space to add a few more tables. I didn't mind sharing but for a family of 4 my arrangement would not have worked out.

Pros:

Butterfinger cupcake, terrific turkey sandwiches

Cons:

too little seating, crowded
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Krissi890 Review Date: 09/21/2014

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This little place was tucked next to Hollywood Brown Derby and I never knew it was there! But once I found it, it was a little addicting! The cupcakes were amazing! I've tried most of them and they were all delicious and light (though huge) :) The seating was limited since it is always busy. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a delicious cupcake!

Pros:

Amazing Food!

Cons:

Not enough seating
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by nick6300 Review Date: 09/11/2014

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We visited twice during last week's vacation, and it was one of our favorite quick service places to use the dining plan. You can get sushi rolls, or deli turkey or ham on focaccia plus a banana or apple or small bag of lays chips. We split the ham one day and the turkey on the other. I tend to prefer turkey over ham, and thought it tasted better. Neither of us loved the dressing on the ham (not sure what it was, sorry). For drink options, they had a cooler full of teas, juices, milks, plus you could get sodas, you specialty coffees (hot or cold). The bakery is what sets this place a part. They have a large selection of bagels and pastries that rival what you'd find at EPCOT. The butterfinger cupcake was our favorite dessert option. It's served chilled with a chocolate filling, hard chocolate and butterfinger pieces on the outside, and huge! You can't really cut it in half easily because of the hard exterior, but it's definitely for splitting (i.e. 1000+ calories). We favored this over the ice creams at the MK's Parlor, which we ordered 4 times, and choices at places such as Kringla La Bakeri (spelling)?.

The main knock on this place is that it's mainly open from breakfast through 4, and it was changed to until 2pm starting Labor Day. So our window was 11-2pm. There are only about 10-15 tables outside, so it's best to come early or late. We weren't able to find a table on the occasion we arrived at 1230 but found a few empty ones when arriving at 1130.

A lot of people consider the ordering system to be a mess. It's simple once you do it. Upon entering near the drink frig entrance, grab a tray and cold drink (if that's your choice for drink), then as you approach the sandwich/sushi/coffee counter, ask for your sandwich or sushi, coffee, and some of the pastries. Then at the checkout counter, you can ask for a specialty cupcake (Olaf or Elsa, red velvet, PB, butterfinger, etc.) and check out. People complain when they don't order their drink before the check out counter and have to go back, and there is a line formed at that point. It's poorly organized because it's such a tight space. You just have to see what's offered at each station before moving on to the next one. The sandwiches were ok, but this is still my favorite HS quick service for it's desserts and coffees.

Pros:

Great dessert and drink options

Cons:

limited hours, confusing lines, limited seating
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by snovak Review Date: 03/24/2014

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Every yearly visit it's a must for us to stop here for the wonderful red velvet cupcakes. They are huge! This time when we went it was a rainy day at the Studios so it was very crowded inside Starring Rolls. The way the inside is set up, with ordering on one side and paying on the other was very confusing...no one seemed to know what direction they should be going in and unfortunately there was only one check out register so there were people standing all over and no one knew where the line was. That being said, a little inconvenience will not stop us for coming again for the great cupcakes.

Pros:

great desserts

Cons:

very small inside, confusing checkout
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by xtandt Review Date: 02/04/2014

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Has great desserts. But it does get very crowded inside. Limited seating outside. But still go, grab something and eat it while walking.

Pros:

Awesome desserts

Cons:

can get very crowd
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3

Other topics in Archives