Reviews of Space Mountain

Reviews

8

Rating

8.75 / 10

Recommended By

88%



Roller coaster in the dark

Reviewed by courtney Review Date: 06/17/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

this ride is so much fun as you never know what turn, hill or drop is around the corner!

Pros:

Exciting and thrilling, great to cool off with entire queue inside

Cons:

Can get long waits, boring queue, height requirement
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by abrooks126 Review Date: 04/24/2019

Rating: (8)
Recommended

A fun, high-speed roller coaster ride in the dark. You can't see any twists, turns or drops so you have no idea what lies ahead. And to me, that's what is the most fun.

There are two tracks, supposedly both the same. Opinions differ as to which side is better. I can't say I notice a big difference.

While not an original WDW attraction, it's still over 40 years old and showing some wear. The ride can be bouncy, jouncy and sometimes jarring, so take notice of the pre-ride warnings. I used to ride this several times, but now it's a "one and done" each time I visit. Well, maybe I'm just getting old(er)....

Wait times can be long, and would recommend a Fastpass. I would have given this a 9, but because the ride isn't as smooth as it used to be, I gave it an 8. Still, check it out and you decide for yourself.

Pros:

Fun, older roller coaster in the dark so twists, turns and drops can't be anticipated.

Cons:

Fun, older roller coaster whose ride isn't as smooth as it used to be - can be jouncy and jarring. Be mindful of pre-show warnings, but don't let it scare you out of riding.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by PolynesianStitch Review Date: 04/21/2019

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Seems faster due to darkness. Fun because its hard to anticipate what is coming next

Pros:

Exciting

Cons:

Rough ride
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by KimH134 Review Date: 04/21/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Roller coaster in space. Thrilling

Pros:

Very thrilling.

Cons:

Can be too intense for some.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by LouO Review Date: 04/20/2019

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

I expected more - it really is just a roller coaster in the dark

Pros:

Cool - if you like roller "old time" roller coasters

Cons:

Darkness thing did nothing for me to elevate the experience If you're one for smooth roller coasters - this one isn't for you A bit outdated at this point
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Pgroyal Review Date: 04/18/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

An old time favorite.

Pros:

Nice old fashioned roller coaster

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by NotMickeyMouse Review Date: 04/17/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Classic you must do.

Pros:

For ages 10 and up. Enjoyable. Good queue.

Cons:

It's a dark ride.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by MelissaAndela Review Date: 04/17/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Space Mountain is a Disney must-do! This wooden roller coaster sends you zipping through space on a rocket; the atmosphere is awesome, and half the thrill comes from not being able to see what's coming next on the track as you are in the dark surrounded by 'stars'. It's a must for roller coaster enthusiasts, though those not big on thrill rides may find it a bit too rough and fast. The wait can also be a bit long if you don't have a Fastpass.

Pros:

Super fun roller coaster with amazing atmosphere

Cons:

A bit rough and bumpy The wait can be very long
Did you find this helpful?

Other topics in Magic Kingdom Rides and Attractions