Reviews of Skipper Canteen

Reviews

48

Rating

7.56 / 10

Recommended By

85%



View Menus at Jungle Navigation Co., Ltd. Skipper Canteen Dining Location

Lunch/Dinner Menu

Cuisines: Asian, Other/Ethnic, African
Read more about Skipper Canteen including links to the menus and reviews here:
http://allears.net/dining/location/skipper-canteen

Themed around the famous Jungle Cruise attraction, this new Adventureland eatery features a wide variety of Asian and American dishes.

Reviewed by TeacherGrandma Review Date: 12/29/2015

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I stopped by the restaurant twenty minutes after they opened for the first day on Dec.13. I was seated 45 minutes later, and was very excited to be lucky enough to eating here the very first day! The menu does seem to have a lot of exotic spices, but many are not the "hot" kind. The servers are well-versed in all the dishes, and are able to make recommendations based on your preferences. Very picky eaters will probably have a difficult time finding something they will like.
I ordered the Schweitzer Slush to drink, with tiny green bubbles of squirting apple juice on top - fun. There was a flavorful Ethiopian bread of which I had a few bites. I also ordered the steak with yucca fries (???) and avocado, all very tasty. For dessert, I had Kungaloosh, which was recommended by my server, also a chocolate lover. The desserts are quite small, which they do warn you about. This was a bit disappointing, since I usually choose my restaurants by the quality of their desserts.
They were only seating guests at about half of the available tables during the soft opening, as cast members get used to going live, with real customers.
Part of the back story, is that the first large room was the mess hall for all the Jungle Cruise skippers, another private secret room with a butterfly collection, and the final room was the family's dining room with parrot chandeliers, that has been opened up to guests. The cast members are a lot of fun, and stay in character. It almost seems to be as much an attraction, as a dining spot. It is great to have another table service option in the Magic Kingdom!

Pros:

Exciting new restaurant in the Magic Kingdom!

Cons:

Heavily spiced menu items
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by pstoudemire Review Date: 01/09/2016

Rating: (10)
Recommended

I was hesitant to eat here without a reservation. I walked up at 5:45 and was seated immediately. The punch and slush drinks are fantastic! Both are very flavorful and refreshing. I had the Chop Sui Pork for dinner and it was very tender and flavorful! The rice was a bit dry, but had good flavor. I had the chocolate cake with cashew/caramel ice cream for dessert. I was unsure if I'd like it because I don't like cashews, but it was fantastic! The waitress never told and jokes and didn't seem very into the theme, but the meal was delicious and well worth the money. I walked out full and will definitely return in the future.

Pros:

Food, relaxed atmosphere

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by patti1009 Review Date: 01/14/2016

Rating: (8)
Recommended

My family (3 adults) was there on the 4th day they were open. We had about a 15 minute wait and were texted when our table was ready. We ate in the large room and thought it was comfortable, well themed, and our server and host/hostesses were very entertaining. We really enjoyed the bread and dip, Arepas, A Lot of Steak Salad, Shu Mai. They were all very flavorable and a little spicy. I was surprised at how spicy the salad was - and I love hot and spicy. Don't miss the Arepas and Shu Mai. The only disappointing dish was the Noodle Bowl. It was described as "like Pho" which it was, but not as good. If your children are strictly chicken fingers and fries types of eaters, maybe not a good choice of restaurant, but otherwise great new choice at MK.

Pros:

Interesting Food

Cons:

Not good for all children
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mickeykimmy Review Date: 05/16/2016

Rating: (10)
Recommended

My husband and I ate dinner here on May 7. I made a reservation through the app when I woke that morning and had my pick of times. We arrived a few minutes early and were seated with just a short wait. The restaurant is wonderfully themed and the decorations very interesting. Our server was very much into the theme and was very funny throughout the meal.

The bread and honey were very different but good. We started with the arepas on the recommendation of our server and they were so yummy! My husband had the mac n cheese for his entree and I had the "tastes like chicken". Both were delicious. The food was very flavorful without being too spicy or exotic for the average park guest in my opinion.

The only thing I would change is to make this restaurant like all others with the ADR system since right now they only take same day ADR's. We did love this restaurant and will definitely be back to eat here on our next trip.

Pros:

Excellent food and atmosphere

Cons:

Wish they took ADR's other than same day
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by baloo Review Date: 06/07/2016

Rating: (10)
Recommended

The morning of May 20th we were able to secure a same day, 11:45 am lunch reservation here. We were seated almost immediately upon arrival. The theming is great - we enjoyed looking around. Take the time to read the titles of the books on the many book shelves - a lot of them are very clever. My husband and son had the Char Siu Pork, and I had the "Tastes like Chicken". Our meals were delicious and nice sized portions. We did not have room for dessert.

We would definitely eat here again!

Pros:

Great theming & Great Food

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by DisneyFamily Review Date: 06/20/2016

Rating: (5)
Recommended

I really, really wanted to give a positive review on this, but unfortunately, I can't. We ate here on the first soft opening day in December 2015 and loved it. This most recent visit was in April 2016. We were so looking forward to the great food options again. I will say that the food was still great! Even the kids loved the fish. But, there is something not quite right yet at this location. The wait staff was missing in action most of the meal. There seemed to be a bread plate shortage. The waitress took them away even as my youngest (5) tried to hold onto it saying "i'm sorry, I'm still eating my bread". Took it anyway. The staff just didn't seem to click here. Hopefully they are just working through being new.

Then there is the bathrooms....ugh. The decor is beautiful, but it honestly looked like it had not been cleaned in days. Not the typical Disney standard. I know it has nothing to do with the food, but yuck!!

Finally, there was the discount for Tables in Wonderland. I checked at the hostess stand and they confirmed it was still available at the location. When it came time for the bill, the waitress said no, they don't offer that discount. Even after explaining what I was told out front, there was nothing.

I really wanted to love this restaurant! I may give it another try in the future, but cautiously.

Pros:

Food was very good

Cons:

Bathrooms were so dirty, the wait staff was never around
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by PolynesianStitch Review Date: 06/21/2016

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Server was outstanding and very much into the theme of the restaurant, also extremely prompt with drink refills. The dumpling appetizer was outstanding. We also had the chicken entrée and the Char sui pork. The chicken was excellent and pork just a little bit dry, but still pretty good. The chocolate volcano dessert was quite tasty. Décor was great. Nice to have another table service choice at the Magic Kingdom.

Pros:

Server, appetizer

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Collette Review Date: 08/10/2016

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We came as soon as they announced they would take Tables in Wonderland. The hostess was very entertaining; the servers less so, but they were quite busy. The hot and sour soup was the most delicious I ever had, but it is very very spicy hot. My husband liked the arepas appetizer very much. I had the duck noodle bowl and was very surprised that the duck pieces were way too large to easily handle with chopsticks, and worse yet, still had the fatty skin attached. I think they should trim off the skin and cut the pieces bite-size. The broth had a very good flavor and it was fun slurping up the noodles. My husband's stew was good-tasting and interesting; it had a lot of potatoes. We shared a kungaloosh dessert, and I really liked the bananas and ice cream part. I love chocolate, but the cake part seemed more like a brownie and was more dried out than it should have been around the edges. I didn't like the coffee dust stuff at all. We got plenty to eat here and it was very tasty overall.

Pros:

good food, small dining rooms very nice

Cons:

no wine
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by MinnieMouseMama Review Date: 09/03/2016

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Full disclosure: we are adventurous eaters. My 10 year old dd likes curry and Ethiopian food. DD age 16 likes pad thai and chia seeds. We found this location a delight. In fact we had hoped for more spice. Not heat. Spice. Flavor! We find traveling at Disney a culinary bore. (Does Mickey hate garlic?) Skipper Canteen was a treat. The arapes appetizer is more than enough for an entree. The mac and cheese is not Stouffer's out of the freezer section. Steamed dumplings needed more ginger but the dipping sauce was nice. The steak salad was "good enough" with plenty of protein. The soda options were fun. (No Beverly?) The only other table service location in MK we can stand is Be Our Guest. This was a welcomed surprise.

Pros:

interesting menu

Cons:

not enough flavor
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Tanasigirl Review Date: 09/27/2016

Rating: (8)
Recommended

My hubby and I ate an early dinner here on September 13, 2016, before the start of the MNSS Halloween Party. Of the three dining rooms, I can really only recommend the Library. The main mess hall is open air and can be a bit noisy and the other back room was near the waiter's station, so silverware clatter was constant. We asked nicely to be moved to the Library and were quickly and politely accommodated. In my opinion, it is the coolest room. Quieter, but decorated so beautifully with carved dragons and snakes. One circular table is surrounded by beautifully-mounted butterflies. Unusual stained glass light fixtures everywhere, even in the bathrooms. I loved the decor!

The food is fine, but nothing we got too excited about. I had the Tastes Like Chicken because it is! and it was a decent-sized portion of white meat that had been cooked a bit too long and the coating a bit too thick for my taste. My hubby had the Char Sui Pork and he enjoyed the flavor of the meat. The rice was a little bland and the Chinese broccoli was just okay. So, I would have liked maybe better side options or something to help it out.

Don't know if we will go back or not, but it's a nice one-time adventure.

Pros:

Decor, especially stained glass light fixtures

Cons:

Can be noisy
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3 5

Other topics in Magic Kingdom