Reviews of Port Orleans French Quarter (Moderate Resort)

Reviews

136

Rating

8.97 / 10

Recommended By

98%



A Disney Moderate Resort

For full details, Fact Sheet, Photos and Videos visit: http://allears.net/acc/faq_po.htm

Reviewed by GrandMum Review Date: 04/24/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This is my absolute favorite resort and that was confirmed after my trip earlier this month. I got to meet Shelly the delightful bartender after seeing many of her posts on Facebook. Then I saw Tim who actually remembered me from my trip last year. All the CMs are extremely friendly and they all smile and greet you all the time.

Pros:

Love the small size and the boat to Disney Springs.

Cons:

Only con is that it's difficult to get a reservation.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Gigi459 Review Date: 04/22/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

HOTEL ROOMS: Clean and well kept, not much Disney theming, but get that in the parks .Rooms recently refurbished. Beds very comfortable, on the soft side. Pillow top mattress. Toiletries (shampoo, cream rinse and shower gel) now mounted in large bottles on the wall of the shower. Small Body lotion and facial soap near sink area.Two sinks outside of tub area. Curtain between sleeping area and bathroom. You can get ready while others still sleeping. Small fridge provided, but not very cold. No freezer. Coffee maker provided. No alarm clock. Can call for wake-up if needed. Beds are now open underneath them, great for storing luggage.

GROUNDS: Beautiful and well maintained. Smaller resort (one of the best features).
Short walking distance to pool, transportation and restaurant. Great pool and playground for small children. New Orleans theming. Bar near pool area. Hot tub steps away from pool in a more secluded spot.

TRANSPORTATION: Bus service greatly improved from our last visit a few years ago. We did not share a bus with Riverside. Never waited more than 10 min for a bus. Downtown Disney only a 15 min boat ride, very enjoyable. Prefer over a bus anytime.
We did occassionally use Lyft on the way home from parks, when we were tired and didn't want to wait for a crowded bus. Approx. $10-12 depending on the park.

FOOD: Quick service restaurant on site, food with New Orleans theming, Some on the spicy side. But can find plenty of things without spice. Pretty much on par with all hotel quick services. Only sit-down restaurant is at Riverside, a beautiful 12 min walk along the river to Riverside. We used the Garden Grocer to have water and snacks delivered right to our resort. Works like a charm, you get notified of delivery and then just have to have bell services deliver it to your room. You do have to be present in room to receive your order.

STAFF: Very friendly and helpful.

I have stayed in many Disney Hotels over the years. Deluxes are my favorites. But not always affordable. This is a perfect compromise. Great hotel at a lower cost.
Would highly reccommend!
Show less
Date of stay: October 2018
Room tip: Buildings 2 & 5 closest to pool

Pros:

Smaller resort, boat ride to Disney Springs, beautiful walk to Riverside. Best hotel if not doing a deluxe

Cons:

I didn't experience this when we stayed last October, but during really crowded times might have to share buses with Riverside. Not a deluxe resort.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Teresab715 Review Date: 04/20/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

My favorite resort! We have stay at many different hotels and resorts both on Disney property and off-site, but we always end up comparing it to here.

Pros:

Small size, homey feel, nice pool.

Cons:

No table service restaurant, food court is good, but not great.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by darcelmargliotti Review Date: 04/17/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Love,love love it here!! We stayed here last Spring and it was not only quiet but quaint.i love the size of the resort and smaller food court. Food was great and always could find a seat. Pool was smaller size but not crowded at all. Most of all loved the boat ride to Disney Springs. I think we will definitely stay here again.

Pros:

Small size Small bus crowds. Intimate Great family activity

Cons:

None really
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 03/25/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We stayed here from Mar 18-24. Loved the size of the resort and proximity to the counter service restaurant and the bus stop. Seemed like the buses were out of sync on a couple of days, but the cast member at the bus stop kept calling dispatch to let them know that people were waiting for a particular destination. Loved eating beignets in the morning, and only costing 1 snack credit!

Pros:

Small resort, convenient transportation options.

Cons:

Bus service inconsistent
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by jogirlmyrick Review Date: 01/26/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This is our favorite resort. We love staying here because the size and no room is too far from the front of the resort.

Pros:

It’s a lot more quiet. Love we can boat to Disney Springs.

Cons:

Can’t think of any.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Quiltinlady Review Date: 12/28/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We recently had the luxury of staying at the French Quarter for 7 nights. I loved the newly renovated rooms. Love the décor. The rooms seem to be more sound proof than they used to be. The new floors are fantastic. They are so much better than carpeting and still feel sort of soft and comfy. The beds are elevated so that you no longer have to worry about what was left under there by the prior occupant. The mattress was so comfy - it was tempting to spend more time there when we had an early FP+. However - we opted for the option of not having daily room service. We assumed that they would still come in and clean after 3 days - WRONG. Unless you gather your trash and towels and go out and find a cleaning person to exchange these, they will not come to your room. NEVER AGAIN. I do not think it is worth it not to have ANY room cleaning. I missed seeing the bed nicely made and seeing the fresh towels appear in the room. AND I felt horribly guilty that I was putting someone out of a job. The Sassagoula Floatworks & Food Factory was clean, and the food choices varied and delicious. The grounds around the resort are immaculate. This remains my favorite resort.

Pros:

Manageable size, Really friendly staff - ALL of them! They make you feel special.

Cons:

Do not opt for the gift card for not having your room serviced. Other than that there are NO cons.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by ruthann Review Date: 12/21/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We just got back from a 10 day trip to POFQ on Dec. 19th. The resort was beautiful with Christmas decorations. The room was clean and kept cleaned each day. The CM's were very helpful. Food court was very good with good selection. No complaints. Love this resort, as it is easier to get around with our mobility issues.

Pros:

all of the above

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/17/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Just returned from our 25th or more stay at this resort. Its our favorite by far. Grounds well kept, mousekeeping was great. Only disapointment was the new mickey shaped beignets. The origional was puffed and hollow on the inside. The new ones are more like a donut. No where near as good as the origional. I Always looked forward to having my coffee and beignets in the morning. Im so disapointed. If i wanted a donut I would get a donut. Please change them back to the origional

Pros:

Size

Cons:

None. Its a perfect resort
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by jbald Review Date: 09/30/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Love this resort. Will be going back for our 4th stay.

Pros:

size and the grounds are beautiful

Cons:

none!
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3 14

Other topics in Disney Resorts