Reviews of Port Orleans French Quarter (Moderate Resort)



A Disney Moderate Resort

For full details, Fact Sheet, Photos and Videos visit: http://allears.net/acc/faq_po.htm

Reviews:

126

Average Rating:

8.94

Would Recommend:

98%

Reviewer: kretzklan Review Date: 01/06/2013

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

We thought the room was comfortable (for two teens and mom and dad) - very clean. The food court was impressive as far as serving sizes and quality of food - the wait could be a little long for your food. We had some issues with the buses - but it was around Christmas time!

Pros:

small resort, easy to get to everything

Cons:

buses
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: Renee Review Date: 01/10/2013

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

The last four times we've stayed at POFQ but it's getting old and we want to try someplace different on our next trip. The only bad thing was the food. Not much of a variety and you get tired of eating the same ole nuggets, pizza and burgers. We were there on Jan 2-8th thinking all the kids were back in school but apparently kids in the south go back the second week of Jan. (Kids in NE go back Jan. 2). The parks were so busy they had to close them and set records. Very, very, busy but the buses kept on coming and never had a problem.

Pros:

quiet

Cons:

food
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: GaDisneyDad Review Date: 01/17/2013

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

We (i.e. me [a/k/a the DH], DW, DS#1, DD and DS#2) stayed at POFQ for the Disney Marathon Weekend (1/11-1/14) and thoroughly enjoyed it. This was our first time staying at POFQ, but had heard from many others of how wonderful it is. We can now, without reservation, join that group who would sing its praises. Due to the size limitations, our family of 5 had to have two rooms. Ordinarily, I would have balked at that idea, but it actually worked out quite well. Two garden view rooms here cost less than one garden view room at the Poly (our normal stomping grounds). And having the extra room was actually very nice for some personal space for the kids.

Understand that this is not a Deluxe Resort. Go in with that expectation, and you will not be disappointed. The rooms are very nice. The queen beds sleep very well after a long day in the parks (or a long run before the sun comes up)!

The pool seems larger than the volcano pool at the Poly. The slide is not as impressive, but that actually suited our younger two just fine. They liked the fact that it was an open slide as opposed to the "closed" nature of the volcano pool slide.

The staff we encountered were all Disney to a "T." In fact, the lady who checked us in had been there since it opened back in 1991.

The only time we shared a bus with Riverside was going to Epcot. For MK and HS, our bus was dedicated solely to FQ. We never had to wait more than 5-10 minutes.

I'm the one who makes all the reservations for our trips, but I think it speaks volumes that my wife made a point to say that she wanted to come back to POFQ the next time we came to Disney.

Pros:

Size, Amenities, Cost

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: PolynesianStitch Review Date: 01/19/2013

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

The room we stayed in was very close to the food court and to all of the different amenities. The bed was extremely comforatable, and we fell asleep as soon as we laid down in it. I also really loved the pillows. The fan in our bathroom stopped working and we mentioned this to the front desk just before we left for the parks and when we came back to stop by our room a few hours later, it was already fixed for us. We loved the double sinks. Exceptionally nice grounds. The heads in the food court are really creepy, I wish they would change this. Other than that one detail, the resort was fantastic and exceeded our expectations.

Pros:

Comfort, location

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: auntrhonda Review Date: 02/10/2013

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

We stayed from Jan.26- Feb.2,2013. We had a great time. The employees were very friendly. The food was great. I loved being able to get as much soda, coffee, iced tea, hot tea, and hot cocoa as I wanted. The lighting in the bathroom was a little too dim, but you can see at least. I would definitely stay there again.

Pros:

Wonderful,clean rooms. Employees are friendly

Cons:

bad lighting in bathroom. Refrigerator wasn't cold, just cool.
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: sgefowler Review Date: 02/18/2013

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

We have stayed at the Port Orleans French Quarter 4 times. Although we have stayed at other Disney resorts (value and moderate) we keep coming back to the POFQ. The theming of the resort is Mardi Gras inspired and I love it. The grounds are beautifully maintained and it really evokes the feeling of New Orleans. With each visit we notice something new. First timers will chuckle when you read the street signs. This resort is accessible to Downtown Disney via a river boat service that provides a leisurely ride to Downtown DIsney. Great for a cool breeze on those hot Florida days. The boats run regularly and we have never had to wait more than 5 minutes for a boat. Believe it or not, the boat is one of the reason we choose the POFQ.

With regards to rooms, they are slightly more upscale than the value resorts and are very well appointed. As with everything DIsney, cleanliness is paramount. We have never had any issue with mousekeeping and the kids love the towel animals. We did find on one visit that we had to encourage mousekeeping with little "gifts" however, I don't feel this is the norm. The kids love to come back to the room and see their stuffed toys placed throughout the room.

Since the POFQ is the smallest of the Disney resorts, there is never a long walk to either the bus, lobby, dining or pool. There is limited dining with a cafeteria style only. No sit down formal restaurant but the sister resort PO Riverside has one just a stones throw away. A must have is the beignets. You can always tell who has had them by the powered sugar on their faces or clothes. You simply must try the beignets when staying at the POFQ.

The swimming pool is great for kids of all ages with a sea serpent water slide that is not too big and even smaller kids can enjoy. There is a splash pool for the very small and a hot tub which I always find is crowded. There is a nice pool bar but as with all things DIsney, the drinks are expensive. However, based on the small size of the resort, its only a short walk back to the room if you bring your own beverages or use one of the grocer services. Movies are played on the lawns most nights and is great for the kids to get out and meet some other kids. There is also a small play area for kids with a sort of artificial turf ground that cushions falls for the little ones.

With regards to bus service, I have heard many negative things about it mostly due to the fact that it also shares bus service with Riverside. Buses also stop at 4 stops at Riverside so it will slow down travel times to and from the park. But not by very long. Wait times are low and in 4 visits, I have always had a seat on the bus. Overall, I am happy with the bus service.

On our last visit to the POFQ, our youngest son (18 months) got pink eye and the cast members were beyond helpful. They connected us with a pharmacy and arranged for the prescription to be delivered to the resort while we could go and enjoy our day at the parks. Delivery fee was nominal and well worth the service that we received.

Overall, my opinion is that you won't be disappointed in the French Quarter. Staying onsite can be more expensive than offsite but so many extras are included, in my opinion, they almost even out. The extra magic hours, magic express, Disney transportation, option to have purchases shipped to the resort, boat to Downtown Disney, games arcade tokens, etc etc etc make it all worth while! Enjoy your stay! :-)

Pros:

Smallest Disney resort, close to Downtown Disney

Cons:

Limited food service
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: mouserdh1984 Review Date: 02/28/2013

Rating: (8) Would Recommend:

Our stay was 2-16thru 2-23 our second visit, have stayed at POR 2 tmes also. We love the size of this resort. Only 2 times did our bus share with Riverside. We never waited more than 15 min for buses. Room was great love the update and the queen beds. We were in Building 4 close to the bus stop, only noise we has was the trucks bringing supplies early in the morn, you could hear the back up beeps.It was DDD 14 birthday while we were there night before her big day when we returned to the room there was a Birthday card from Mickey for her and on the big day returning there was a phone message from Mickey wishing her a Happy Birthday. We did walk over to Riverside on morning and one evening for meals just to get something differnt. Freindly staff no complaints from us. We would for sure stay here again.

Pros:

Size, Closeness to parks

Cons:

Limited food
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: Ilita Review Date: 03/18/2013

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

I´ve been in value resorts five times since 2008 (ASMovies and Pop), this time we decided to go moderate, and smaller.
I loved the peace of this resort, the surroundings and the places to walk. Our room was in the building four, very close to everything.
The beds are larger than the ones in the value and the room was also better to fit four.
My husband and kids (15 and 12) missed the icons and the disney atmosphere of the Pop.
The food court is small, we went in January, so it was ok, I don´t know if the size is large enough for peek times (such we are from Argentina we always go in January, our summer vacation)
If I have the chance I would return to this hotel, the cast members were always helpful and kind, and everything in the hotel was relaxing and friendly. I also loved the night shows at the bar.

Pros:

lanscape, beds, pool

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: mscaseyray Review Date: 03/30/2013

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

My husband and I stayed at POFQ in Dec 2011 after staying at the much larger POR previously. We were pleasantly surprised and I think we'd be more inclined to stay at French Quarter again. The resort is definitely small, but small can be wonderful when you spend most of your day walking around the parks. We stayed in the next to last building there and it took no time to get to the front desk and food court. It's brightly themed and it was beautiful at Christmastime. There is no table service restaurant on site but the food court is very good and we didn't feel we were missing anything by not having a TS restaurant. I highly recommend this moderate resort and highly recommend moderates in general--you get a little bit of both worlds for a great price.

Pros:

Quiet, Small, Beautifully themed

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: shell65 Review Date: 04/01/2013

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

We went to Port Orleans from 3/22 to 3/28 and had a great time. The rooms are beautiful and very clean. The staff was so nice and friendly. The food court people were extremely nice and friendly especially Rod. My daughter needed medicine in the middle of the night and they opened the store for us and got the medicine. At first the desk said they could not help and transferred me to the night doctor. He said ask for the night manager and when I did things went smoothly! We had a lovely time and would stay there again.

Pros:

small resort, lovely clean rooms, staff

Cons:

busses a little slow from resorts
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments
1 2 3 13