Reviews of Plaza Inn Minnie and Friends Breakfast



Menu:
http://allears.net/dlr/din/menu/men_royb.htm

Reviews:

13

Average Rating:

7.85

Would Recommend:

77%

Reviewer: MWS Review Date: 01/23/2019

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

We were one of the first groups of the morning and since there weren’t many people in the restaurant, the characters came over quickly and interacted with us for quite some time. There was Capitan Hook, Minnie Mouse, The Fairy Godmother, Chip and Dale and Eeyore. It was fun having them to ourselves before the restaurant filled up with other diners. The buffet had the standard breakfast items including Mickey waffles and several healthier items such as fruit and oatmeal. The food was well prepared with something for everyone. The beverages were also self-served so you didn’t have to wait for someone to bring you a refill.

Pros:

Character interactions

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: blana Review Date: 08/31/2017

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

So fun. We were able to meet Minnie, Chip, Dale, Tigger, Pooh, Eeyore, Captain Hook, Max, Rafiki, and Fairy Godmother all in under 45 minutes prior to regular park opening. The food was good and plentiful. Our only complaint was the lack of help the characters had in getting around. Several times entire families would get up from their table and mob the characters as they were trying to make their way around the room. There didn't seem to be anyone assigned to helping the characters move through this, which slowed the character progression down.

Pros:

Lots of characters! Nice selection of food

Cons:

Characters were at times mobbed by people
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: TiggerTrigger Review Date: 01/20/2016

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

This is by far the best character meal we've ever done. We saw 11 characters when we dined there and from my research, you just never know who you are going to see. The interaction was also not as stiff like you get at standard character meals.

The food was really good, and I must say that Disneyland Mickey waffles are so much better than Disney World waffles. My big complaint was that the line for things like sausage and bacon took forever, while the line for custom omelettes was running really efficiently. You'd think it would be the other way around.

I'm also not a big fan of cafeteria trays and how the food servers give you your plates.

Still, this is such a fun meal and worth the time and $.

Pros:

TONS Of Characters, Good breakfast food, Good service

Cons:

Lines for certain items, Plate and Tray situation
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: JerseyShoregirl13 Review Date: 12/09/2015

Rating: (2) Would Recommend:

It was arranged poorly and very confusing. I and other guests were confused which line to go to get food. One line was for omelets I thought. But found out you needed to go on the line to get other items first. They did not bring beverages to you. Most characters were outside most of the time.
We were told to go in for breakfast first then go outside to meet Minnie. But when several of us finished our meals and went outside to meet Minnie were told Minnie was going inside to greet diners.
We were told to go to our tables (which were no longer ours) to wait for her -what? So after several of us complained to the manager, our request to take photos with Minnie were granted. BUT not by PhotoPass photographers, as we should have. I enjoyed my experience there 10yrs ago but not this time. Food was also poor quality.

Pros:

Pretty atmosphere met Fairy Godmother

Cons:

everything else especially setup of getting food
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: bellebookworm9 Review Date: 10/17/2015

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

We had a 10:30am ADR here on 10/1, our last day in Disneyland. Our original plan was to participate in Early Entry at 8am and knock out a good amount of rides. Well, my mom decided not to go along with that plan, but that's another story. So we arrived here around 10am. There was a short line to check in. Then they take your photo, as a previous poster said, with no character. It *is* included with Photopass+; they will give you the folder in the restaurant with a 5x7 and four 4x6 photos, plus they are available to download as part of the Photo CD. After that, you pay up front before being seated. We were seated inside, in the room to the left.

Suzy, the mouse from Cinderella, came around almost immediately. Other characters we saw were Eeyore, Tigger, Winnie the Pooh, Rafiki, Max Goof, Dale, and, of course, Minnie. Captain Hook did not make it to our table, but we were able to catch him on our way out, and we never did get to see Chip.

For other people who have been to WDW, this restaurant reminds me of Crystal Palace at Magic Kingdom, with its Victorian theming.

The restaurant is essentially self-serve, though they do have cast members who put together plates of bacon, sausage, hash browns, eggs; bowls of oatmeal, and french toast and Mickey waffles. Other items include cereal, fruit, pastries, and jello or yogurt parfaits. There are cartons of milk, dispensers of juice, as well as a regular self-serve soda dispenser.

This is one of the most inexpensive sit down breakfast options at Disneyland Resort, and the sheer number of characters make it an excellent value. We did not feel rushed at all...in fact, we were ready to go but had not met all the characters yet!

Pros:

Good food, lots of characters

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: mgilmore Review Date: 09/28/2015

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

We ate here on Sept 20th, 2015
We had reservations for 8:10 am (park opening was 9 am)

The restaurant was 30 mins late opening, I will talk about that first.

There was a Character breakfast line to the left to enter the park we arrived at about 7:50am. At 8 am they weren't letting any of us in. Many folks were getting very upset.

None of the Cast members at the front of the line knew anything. Alot of complaining was happening. Finally they started letting us in about 8:20 a. We all walked back together and a manager from the restaurant came out and said they weren't opening the restaurant until at least 8:30 am.

Apparently there was a CM event with their kids that morning related to halloween, but that has nothing to do with restaurant reservations that were made 2 months in advance. Lots of folks were so upset. They registered us and started seating around 8:30 ish.

They take your picture outside (no character). They won't put it on photopass because they expect you to pay for the picture pkg.

You pay when you go in the door, before they seat you. The buffet area had alot of really nice choices. It is all serve yourself. You even get your own drinks, so gratuties are not accepted here.

Characters started coming right away! I was glad we had an early reservation. The characters came around quite fast since the restaurant was pretty empty. The 30 or so of us with early ressies were seated all around the restaurant.

We had 10 characters!! The most of any character buffet I have ever been to between DL and Disney World. We saw Fairy Godmother, Rafiki, Chip, Dale, Captain Hook, Minnie, Tigger, Pooh, Eyeore and Max.

We really enjoyed the food as well. My son enjoyed the omlette station. I enjoyed the Mickey waffles and brioche french toast with caramel sauce. There was an abundance of fresh fruits, pastries, cereals, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage and many more items.

I think an early reservation here is the best thing because as we were leaving it was taking the characters a long time to get around because the inside and outside was full and they had alot of tables to visit.

Despite the restaurant opening late we highly recommend this breakfast. Get an early reservation though. As the restaurant fills up it takes long time for the characters to get around to all the tables.

Pros:

Good food LOTS of Characters!

Cons:

Restaurant didn't open on time
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: brittos Review Date: 06/10/2015

Rating: (6) Would Recommend:

Best character interaction for character dining. We had Rafiki, Max, Peter Pan, Fairy Godmother, Tigger, Eeyore, Captain Hook, Chip, Dale, and Minnie! Good mix of classics and more rare charcters. Food was all right. Buffet had nice selection.

Pros:

best character interaction for character dining!

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: tiggabump Review Date: 09/24/2013

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

We had the Character Breakfast 2x while here for a week 9/17 and 9/19. The food was good and plentiful but when you sit outside you don't get all the characters coming to you. My grandson (21 mo) really enjoyed chip & dale and Tigger but that was all we got to see on both meals. Since this is not an inexpensive breakfast they need a better way to bring the characters around to see everyone. They took a picture when we got there but never brought it around for us to see either time.

Pros:

Good food and character interaction

Cons:

Crowded
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: bheadkf Review Date: 09/05/2013

Rating: (3) Would Recommend:

We had priority seating 30 days in advance. Did not have a table ready for us. We had 4 adults and 4 children. We asked to sit inside and the person seating us told us it would take too long to fix a table. We were seated on the outside patio away from everyone else. Had no table service at all. We had to move our trays to another table if we wanted to go back for refills. Had to ask for the characters to visit our table and in fact eventually moved to another section before leaving breakfast so that the children could meet some characters. Would not ever go back!

Pros:

food was good

Cons:

very poor service
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: FamilyOfSix Review Date: 07/12/2013

Rating: (5) Would Recommend:

I have been to a lot of character breakfasts. This one is the worst. I really can't say a lot of good things about it, but I'll give it a "5" because the food wasn't terrible and the service from the person clearing the table was decent. Plus the hostess tried to get the characters to come visit us at least. Otherwise we wouldn't have seen any.

Basically for character breakfasts, where you are seated can make or break your experience. We were seated inexplicably waaaaay out in the outdoor seating, in a whole section all by ourselves. I have no idea why. There were only a few families scattered through the outdoor seating area. Clearly, being indoors is better for ambience and for seeing characters.

We had many characters pass right by us and not stop at all. I think they didn't see us. Chip and Captain Hook passed by completely. Twice. Finally, after being there for about 40 minutes and not meeting ANYONE, we were finishing the breakfast and I asked the waitress when the characters were coming. She was surprised we'd seen no one. I was getting a little ticked because we'd already paid a lot of money for mediocre food and no characters. She told us she'd send all of them our way, including the Fairy Godmother, Minnie, Chip, Dale, Captain Hook, and some other random characters. Like the teenage son of Goofy. I don't know his name.

We waited another 30 minutes for characters. It was ridiculous. Finally we went TO Minnie when we spotted her and we basically waited for her to pose for pictures. There was another family waiting after us too--- they said she'd passed them by 2 times already.

The Fairy Godmother never came. The hostess said, "Oh, she only comes sometimes." Too bad she'd told us that she would send her out to see us! That's code for "I forgot to tell her to see you and now she's gone."

As a final insult, as we were finally finishing I think they were getting ready for the transition to lunch. Anyway while we were still finishing breakfast, some kids jumped the fence into the restaurant seating area with their hot dogs and sodas from the hot dog stand outside the restaurant. The characters that we flagged down to see our kids stopped to see these bozos too--- and the waitstaff saw these kids, and said nothing to them like, "This is seating only for the Character Breakfast."

What a sloppy, slow, disorganized mess.

But my kids saw some characters and they really liked the pastries and the food. What can I say. We will not go back there again.

Pros:

Variety of Characters, quickly seated

Cons:

Seated outside, Characters skipped us, Far away from buffet
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments
1 2