Reviews of Old Port Royale



Food Court - Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner/Snacks

Breakfast Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/old-port-royale-food-court/breakfast
Lunch/Dinner Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/old-port-royale-food-court/lunch-dinner

Video of Old Port Royale and Shutters:
http://youtu.be/5nH-y6q6Mpo

Reviews:

13

Average Rating:

7.31

Would Recommend:

92%

Reviewer: LISAE Review Date: 08/13/2016

Rating: (7) Would Recommend:

This was our resort food court. We used this a few times, mainly for lunch or snacks and once for breakfast.
The breakfast burrito and cooked breakfast were ok but the mickey waffle breakfast was very good.
Burgers, chicken burgers etc. were fine. Average food court fayre.
The best thing was definitely the Danish. The cheese Danish, pain au chocolat and fruit Danish were delicious.
Just a mention that this is definitely one of the best resorts we have ever been to (if not the best) for a refillable mug refill centre. Lots of drinks dispensers available. Always clean and full.

Pros:

Good choice for a resort food court. Pastries were amazing.

Cons:

Reviewer: LLSS Review Date: 09/30/2015

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

I was very impressed by this place. We only stayed 2 nights, so I could see where the food could get repetitive, but I actually really liked the selection here. While they have your basics such as pasta, burgers, egg platters, etc., they also had some items I have not seen at other resorts. There is a breakfast quesadilla and a breakfast cuban which were pretty amazing. I had a Chicken Lime wrap for lunch one day, and was blown away at how delicious it was. They also seem to serve breakfast late (when we went in at 11:15, they still had breakfast at one station), so if you prefer breakfast foods, you can get that around lunch time It was a big positive not needing to go outside of the resort to get some good food when we wanted to spend the day around the resort.

Pros:

Good Food, Good Selection

Cons:

Reviewer: DapperDan Review Date: 06/09/2015

Rating: (5) Would Recommend:

There is only one pricing option now for the Rapid Fill mugs, and that's the length of stay option. Guess they got tired of people paying for one day but using the cups for a week.

Worse was the elimination of the TIW discount. That was something I factored in as a positive when choosing this resort. Please update your menu page so others don't get that same surprise.

Otherwise the food is decent if a little more expensive than I anticipated. And sitting outside enjoying breakfast while watching brazen birds try to negotiate for your food is great. I'm sitting here right now finishing breakfast as I'm writing this.

I still like this food court, and the resort is beautiful too. But I want people to be aware they changed the rules. Hope everybody enjoys their vacations!

Pros:

Theming, selection, central location

Cons:

No Tables in Wonderland discount! Rapid Fill mugs are all for length of stay only

Reviewer: Dsnygrl Review Date: 02/15/2015

Rating: (5) Would Recommend:

We ate at the food court several times during our visit. My son enjoyed the cookies from the Grab and Go, but boy were they expensive. We tried several of the hot sandwiches. In each case, we saw the servers go back to the kitchen and grab a pre-packaged sandwich. While they heated them up and they tasted good, they were not fresh. We did enjoy the chips that came with the sandwich. we purchased a drink cup for our son, but not for ourselves. We found it not to be worth the money. While it is convenient to eat here if you are at the resort, I would recommend eating somewhere else if you want fresh, hot food.

Pros:

location

Cons:

sandwiches were obviously not made on site

Reviewer: bellebookworm9 Review Date: 08/22/2014

Rating: (8) Would Recommend:

I dined here for breakfast on 3 out of 5 mornings, as well as once each for lunch and dinner.

For breakfast I had the kid's mickey waffles, the kid's french toast, and a cheese danish with a side of pineapple. I was at OPR either very early (7:30am) or very late (10:45am), so it was never terribly crowded and I was always able to get one of two tables that were meant for two people.

For lunch, I ate around 11:45am, and ordered the Royale Sandwich, after Jack Spence recommended it in his blog recently. It came with a side of house made chips. The sandwich was great but so big I could barely eat half! Also loved the soft-serve ice cream option for dessert.

My friend and I ate dinner here once as well, around 6:45pm. I had the roast chicken with mashed potatoes, cornbread, and green beans, with a pineapple upside down cake for dessert. My friend had the turkey meal with the same sides. We both loved our meals.

I am also happy to say that I did not have nearly the same amount of trouble with my refillable mug that I did at All Star Movies several months ago. The RFID readers here were cooperative and I was able to get my soda with no frustration.

Pros:

Decent food, easy to find seating at off times

Cons:

Reviewer: peytonshea02 Review Date: 06/04/2014

Rating: (7) Would Recommend:

Having never stepped foot on CBR property in all our trips, and it being a place we always thought we might want to stay someday..we took a breakfast trip over to check it out.

The food court has a neat layout to it. Really has the outdoor marketplace feel.
The family got Mickey Waffles and a Bounty Platter. Nothing new or surprising to report. I decided to try the Breakfast Cuban Sandwich. The station from which I ordered it from was also the spot for pancakes....which is clearly their specialty because 8 people got their pancakes before I got my 1 sandwich. :/ The sandwich was not hot (bet everyone's pancakes were!) The swiss cheese was really strong and overpowering , and the fact that it was not really melted ..it was not a good thing. The potatoes were tasty and seasoned well.

ps ~ After staying at and visiting many properties we were truly surprised at how huge this resort it! WOW!

Pros:

Cons:

Reviewer: mmc55 Review Date: 03/03/2014

Rating: (8) Would Recommend:

Many great choices. Lots of pastries. Seating adequate but naturally gets real crowded at peak meal times. Some tables are available outside.

Pros:

Selection

Cons:

Price

Reviewer: SCOTTMOP Review Date: 11/24/2013

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

The choices here are excellent and the food was really good. The Caribbean catch fish sandwich I had several times was good. The pizza was good too. The grab and go had lots of selections too. Breakfast was good as well.

Pros:

great selection and delicious food

Cons:

can get crowded

Reviewer: ang2575 Review Date: 09/08/2013

Rating: (4) Would Recommend:

The food court here falls way behind the food courts at other moderate resorts. And sadly, the costs are nowhere near worth the quality. It reminded me of school cafeteria food. Service was friendly but always slow. We gave it three tries over our 8 day stay and then agreed, it just wasn't worth it. Too bad because the food courts can be so convenient for breakfast.

Pros:

Great themeing

Cons:

Food quality not equal to the cost

Reviewer: mcmouse Review Date: 04/02/2013

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

We ate here several times for quick service meals and breakfast during our 9 day stay. The dining area was always clean and the drink station and condiment area were always well stocked. We did notice right at the end of our stay that the resort was filling up with Spring Breakers and athletic teams and the seating was a little harder to find for breakfast. That was to be expected. Eating early before 8 AM was the answer to that. The food selection was fine for us. We like that you can pick a drink or dessert from any of the stations. We were on the free dining plan, and used the new "tap cards". They worked just fine for us. The cashiers were very helpful in telling us what we were entitled to with the plan. This is a nice food court.

Pros:

Cons:

1 2