Reviews of Mickey's Not So Scary Halloween Party (Magic Kingdom)

Reviews

133

Rating

5.94 / 10

Recommended By

50%



Each year Mickey hosts the Not-So-Scary Halloween Party in the Magic Kingdom. This is a hard ticket event -- meaning you need to purchase a separate ticket for entry (just like Mickey's Very Merry Christmas Party). The Magic Kingdom is transformed into a fun spooky haven for trick-or-treaters of all ages.

Requires separate admission ticket.

Fact Sheet and Current Information/Blogs Photos/Videos: http://allears.net/tp/mk/mnssh.htm

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/09/2019

Rating: (7)
Recommended

We have attended MNSSHP many times in past years so we do have some experience of what to expect. We decided to go on Sunday, Oct. 6th expecting lower crowds. Wrong! MK was slammed and my understanding is this party was not sold out. Buyer beware! They are obviously selling a lot more tickets than in years past. It was jam packed right up until midnight. The order ahead for food worked well. Our main goal was to see the new Fireworks show and Boo to You parade which were both amazing! Don't expect to do rides. Stick with experiencing the Halloween festivities and go another day if you can to enjoy the park.

Pros:

Special food items, Castle fireworks, Parade

Cons:

Cost- Crowd- Long lines
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by solitaire12 Review Date: 10/08/2019

Rating: (5)
Recommended

My husband and I are annual passholders and have attended MNSS every year for the last 4 years. In 2016 we attended twice during fall break in October with our family (total 12) - the crowds were very light and we had a wonderful time. The following year we went back in September - just the 2 of us and it was also great. In October of 2018 again with our family we noticed increased crowds and longer lines. This year in September of 2019 just my husband and I attended and found it to be crowded and not an improvement over being in the MK on a non MNSS night. Disappointing as it is advertised as being a time of lower attendance. We will be there in 2020 again during fall break and I am sure that our family will want to attend - but I don't look forward to it as I once would have. I would recommend it still on the strength of the parade alone, but don't expect the crowds to be "magically" lighter.

Pros:

The very best parade ever!

Cons:

Too crowded - seems to get more so every year.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/08/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This was my 4th year attending Mickey's Not So Scary party. We go every year on a Sunday and have never had a problem with crowds. This year we lucked out I suppose with crowds as we went the Sunday in September before Hurricane Dorian, attendance wise you could def. feel the impact. In the past we would have to wait 30 minutes for Peter Pan even at like 11 PM; this time around it was a walk on all night. No fireworks that night due to wind, but I was okay with that. A couple new floats in the Boo to You parade, and the new projection show was awesome. Got plenty of candy and rode plenty of rides with little to no wait. Having been so many years, every year that characters lines are always SUPER long, no different this year, even with low crowds on the night we went. Thus every year we forgo waiting in a character line and opt for more rides. Same to Hocus Pocus show and Boo to You parade, if you seen it once skip it, do rides and candy instead. I can understand this year with the good weather the sold nights being extra crowded. Also I always recommend going in at 4 PM when they allow you to, you get the chance up till like 6-6:30 to get some fast passes or a dining experience. This year we had a dining reservations at Be Our Guest for 4:15 and it was great. Normally we go in at 4 and fast pass Splash Mountain. Overall I will def. keep doing this event every year!

Pros:

Night time, candy, shorter ride wait times, get to go in at 4.

Cons:

This year my biggest Con was the parking situation with the construction they are doing at the main transit area, they really were not providing the normal trams if you park in any section but the farthest one out. I already know I am going to walk a lot in the park, I always love the trams to your car at the start and end of your day; especially the end of day.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/08/2019

Rating: (7)
Recommended

My son and I attended Not-So-Scary on September 15th. We had a blast! The lines were very low on many of the attractions, trick-or-treat station lines were very reasonable, the parade was great... I have no idea what people are complaining about.

Pros:

Short wait times for rides!

Cons:

Character meet lines did seem long.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/07/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We had the best time! We went during the second week of September and the crowd level was not super crazy. The only time we felt it was really busy was during the firework show but that always happens. We love that you can get into the park before the party starts! We got there around 4:30 and rode 8 rides before the party was officially started. Definitely recommend!

Pros:

Candy, rides, photo ops, parade!

Cons:

Never feels long enough lol
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/07/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Awesome as always! Not sure about the crowds and long lines. The night we went the longest wait was fifteen minutes. Snacks were great. Loved the pumpkin ice cream with chocolate Mickey waffles and the pumpkin milkshake. The new fireworks were great - we watched from Ray's Starlight Cafe. No problems getting treat bags and filling up several! No complaints from this mouse fan!

Pros:

Love the charged up Halloween vibes. Park goers always seem so much nicer at this event.

Cons:

Weather - it was humid but hey, it's Florida!
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/07/2019

Rating: (6)
Recommended

This was our first time at MNSSHP back on Sept. 6. While the crowds were lower (because of the hurricane that week) it was overwhelming with a toddler. Loved the idea of trick or treating, only had to stop at two places because we had SO much candy already! We waited for some characters and did rides with little to no waits. We LOVED the Disney Junior Dance Party and spent most of the night there. The parade was amazing as was the Hocus Pocus show. Couldn’t stay for the fireworks because the toddler didn’t like the noise so we watched from Main Street and brought her inside. Overall, yes it was fun to be there and we REALLY lucked out with crowds because that week was a fluke and no one was there, but i would not really recommend it with toddlers or younger children that don’t have an interest in characters or fireworks. We spent most of our night dancing which she loved and that made us happy but wish as an adult I could have done more. We will go back when she is older.

Pros:

Parade, Hocus Pocus show, rides, snacks and Disney Junior dance party

Cons:

Toddler in tow 😂
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/07/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We went on a Sunday and had the lowest crowds we have ever seen in the last 5 years (having attended every year!) This party has more than you could possibly do and I think the expectation has become that you should be able to get tons of candy AND see the parade AND see the fireworks AND just walk on every ride AND meet characters. You have to prioritize and choose, since this is a four hour event. We came home with more candy than we will ever eat, skipped the characters and fireworks, ride rides and caught the parade and the Hocus Pocus show. Amazing night!

Pros:

Parade, Hocus Pocus Villain Spelltacular, seeing everyone’s creative costumes.

Cons:

The parade had a technical difficulty and the new Buzz float had to be removed. Disney handled it well!
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by poolman Review Date: 08/24/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I took my adult DD to MNSSHP on Tuesday 8/20. The parade was great very festive. Never waited more than 20mins for any one ride. Space mountain in the dark was fun. The fireworks were outstanding. For the most part we avoided the candy lines. They were handing out candy after most of the rides.

Pros:

Parade, Fireworks, and short wait times.

Cons:

Cost! Although we had a great time in the end we felt cheated by the price paid.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by jennarenay96 Review Date: 06/13/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

This is my favorite party out of the two! I love the themeing and the parade so much, and I love all of the candy that you receive!

Pros:

Very festive, free candy throughout the park, awesome parade, awesome stage show, awesome fireworks, and you get to meet unusual characters!

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3 14

Other topics in SPECIAL EVENTS at WDW (including Mickey's Not So Scary Halloween Party, Food and Wine, runDisney)