Reviews of Mickey's Not So Scary Halloween Party (Magic Kingdom)

Reviews

133

Rating

5.94 / 10

Recommended By

50%



Each year Mickey hosts the Not-So-Scary Halloween Party in the Magic Kingdom. This is a hard ticket event -- meaning you need to purchase a separate ticket for entry (just like Mickey's Very Merry Christmas Party). The Magic Kingdom is transformed into a fun spooky haven for trick-or-treaters of all ages.

Requires separate admission ticket.

Fact Sheet and Current Information/Blogs Photos/Videos: http://allears.net/tp/mk/mnssh.htm

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/16/2019

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

Would be a great event except for the horrendous crowd levels. Our party was not sold out and the crowds rivaled a holiday weekend. Never again!

Pros:

Parade Fireworks Chance to meet rare characters

Cons:

Crowd levels insane
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by EliseD Review Date: 10/16/2019

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

Not worth it!We arrived for the Halloween party at the MK parking lot and as resort guests, parked for free. IF I paid $25 I would have been even more upset.

We got to the front of the lot only to find out we had to take a tram. It was extremely hot out and the we were in line for the monorail for FORTY FIVE minutes! Sitting out in the sun literally roasting. WHY? Well, when we got to the front of the line, the employee was not filling the cars. He was just sending people down and having them figure it out (?) and the cars were going out half full! He should have been standing by each car and flagging more people in. This was absurd and started our afternoon wrong as we in turn missed our first fast pass.

We had hoppers but also bought a Halloween ticket ($110 per person) for that evening for the park and were told the Halloween party was a smaller event. WRONG. It was PACKED. Line times were actually worse here than during the day!! We paid $220 to walk into this event and ended up leaving as the lines were insane!!

Then we go to leave and (again) the monorail line was a mile long to get back to our car so we flagged down a staff member and asked if we could Uber or anything and he said to try to wait for the ferry.

We go to the ferry area and waited for HALF AN HOUR for a ferry to pick us up. Much to my shock, when we got there, this ferry had NO SEATS! People had children sleeping with their faces on the concrete!! If Disney is going to offer transportation, it should uh, have chairs?! AND be more timely during peak times! By the time the boat was loaded and left it had been FIFTY minutes since we exited the park! A 15 minute ride there and then a full tram left us walking to our car for a grand total of an HOUR AND TWENTY FIVE MINUTES from leaving your park to our car. This should never, never happen.

Especially not for what we paid for this experience.

Pros:

Parade

Cons:

Everything else.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/15/2019

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

Have been attending this party for over 10 years without ever missing a year. This time attended the Oct 4 party. The crowds were terrible. The long lines for candy were a headache to say the least and especially since after such a long wait you would get very litttle candy at each stop. You had to stop trick or treating to try to find a place on Main St to watch the fireworks and parade for at least an hour ahead of time, just as you do on regular nights. The whole purpose of this ticketed event is to provide some relieve from fighting crowds. However, not this year, I think it's bad enough to be an annual pass holder, yet have to pay such a high ticket price for this event, only to be disappointed in the quality of the event. Disney needs to rethink some of its planning in several areas in so far as the way they are planning these experiences for their guests. It has become a hassle instead of a pleasure to attend. I have been visiting Disney for over 30 years sometimes 8 times a year from out of state and I'm beginning to think that I might have to rethink renewing my annual pass much less paying for these extra events. It's beginning to become too much of a money hungry place instead of what dear old Walt had in mind originally, so sad!!!

Pros:

Characters fireworks music

Cons:

Long wait times movement around park due to overcrowding expensive due to increase of tickets decrease in amount of candy given
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/14/2019

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

This was our first time attending and while it was great to see the costumes, the crowds were horrendous. We expected lower crowd levels and wait times based on this being a separate ticketed event which was definitely not the case. It was more crowded after the 7 p.m. start time then during regular park hours.

Pros:

Costumes and Candy

Cons:

Ridiculously crowded. Long wait times.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/13/2019

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Miserable experience for our first Halloween party! Crowds were unbelievable -- wall to wall people. Daughter wanted to see Jasmine. Waited in line for over an hour and watched only 10 (or fewer) children meet Jasmine during her only 30-minute appearance. With lines so long, characters should meet children, take ONE picture per group and move on. Attempted no rides or other characters. Got 2 handfuls of candy after waiting in LONG lines. Sat an hour before parade to save spot. Left after parade. Waste of $300. Disappointed kiddo!

Pros:

Parade was good but had to stake out a spot an hour before the parade.

Cons:

Everything!
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Villeguy Review Date: 10/13/2019

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

We purchased tickets for four parties (09/29, 10/01, 10/03 and 10/08) months before the season pass was offered. So we started off with a bad taste in our mouths due to the amount of dollars loss. It just got worse from there. Three of the four parties were sold out. You do NOT ever want to attend a sold out party. I repeat "YOU DO NOT EVERY WANT TO ATTEND A SOLD OUT PARTY". There were more people in the park at the parties then there were during a normal hours day. The attractions had standby waits of 30 to 50 minutes. In my opinion attractions waits at a hard ticket event should never be longer than 20 minutes. If you go to the party for the attractions you will never be able to ride more than 5 or 6. At one party Space Mountain went down for a good portion of the night. The waits for the special characters can go into hours. Compared to the multi-night ticket we had for Universal's Halloween Horror nights with their express pass, we were able to go through all 10 of their houses and ride four rides in one night, while still being able to leave early, hit up Voodoo Donuts and avoid the major crowds at the end of the night. In fact we had thought about going to Halloween Horror Nights on one of the nights that we had paid for Mickey's Not So Scary Halloween Party, that's how disappointed we were. At this point I don't think we will ever attend another MNSSHP. Let me rephrase that "We will never attend another MNSSHP!"

Pros:

Non

Cons:

Non
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/12/2019

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

Save your $$. Wall to wall and not limited. I know they say sold out but how many tickets are they selling?

The only positive was it seemed most people left after the 9 parade/firework show. But then park closes at 12. People running to get on rides. Why not stay open till 1 am?

Food was poor and limited. Long lines for rides, characters, and food. Just not worth it or what it used to be.

Way too many locals who are there to get there big group pictures taken. Parade locations were camped out with blankets and reserved way in advanced.

Not magical anymore.

Pros:

Haunted Mansion outside lighting, characters, fog. Pirates-live characters on ride. Lots of candy

Cons:

PACKED!- way too many people. Resort bus was slammed with adults in major costumes, getting in turnstiles was crazy, Main Street wall to wall. Lines- 1 1/2 to meet 7 dwarfs. Rides slammed. Food- limited places to eat. So Pecks Bills was over 40 minutes, food was sloppy & rushed. No bueno. Adults- this has turned into an fancy adult “look at me” costume instagram event. Not for kids.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/12/2019

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

I am currently stuck on a montarail as we speak I'm very disappointed with the Halloween party nothing was like it said it would be,they don't even have decent food available just chicken fingers and fries what an absolute waste of 244 dollars. Barely any candy and the staff didn't seem to know much about anything it was our first and last time

Pros:

Non

Cons:

Read above
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/10/2019

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

NOT FOR KIDS. I hadn’t been since Oct 2009 and it was nothing like it was 10 years ago. In 2009, I took my 4 yr old sons who dressed as a tiny Pan and Hook. We sat on the curb for a delightful parade, did rides at our leisure, and most magical- a cast member engaged them in an impromptu sword fight in the mostly empty streets of Frontierland (back when you could bring swords!) Cast members dumped ridiculous amounts of candy in their bags as we meandered around the park.
I recently tried to repeat the magic with my 4 year old daughter. Miserable. Long lines for candy. Long lines for rides. Long lines for characters. Long lines for food. Worst of all, as we looked for a spot to watch the parade 45 min in advance, I quickly found we were edged out by adults who were angling to see the headless horseman. This event has been marketed into an event for collectors and adult Disney enthusiasts who come for the special edition treats and souvenirs. I’m fine w that, but market it as such. The original “not so scary” moniker implies that this event is kid centric and it’s just not- way too many people.

Pros:

Theming

Cons:

Too crowded
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 10/09/2019

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

Attended the Not so Scary Halloween Party September 29th. The crowds were terrible. My husband who rented a scooter left as he could not get through the crowds. Ride waits were over an hour so we never got on one ride in the 5 hours we were there. Nothing like previous times we have gone. Absolutely they are selling many more tickets. I am hesitant now for the Christmas party to spend $110 USD which is $154 CAD to be so crowded and have to leave.

Pros:

good name brand candy

Cons:

crowds
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3 14

Other topics in SPECIAL EVENTS at WDW (including Mickey's Not So Scary Halloween Party, Food and Wine, runDisney)