Reviews of Mickey's Not So Scary Halloween Party (Magic Kingdom)



Each year Mickey hosts the Not-So-Scary Halloween Party in the Magic Kingdom. This is a hard ticket event -- meaning you need to purchase a separate ticket for entry (just like Mickey's Very Merry Christmas Party). The Magic Kingdom is transformed into a fun spooky haven for trick-or-treaters of all ages.

Requires separate admission ticket.

Fact Sheet and Current Information/Blogs Photos/Videos: http://allears.net/tp/mk/mnssh.htm

Reviewed by MassMike Review Date: 04/18/2019

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

Not worth the money. You won't get the experience you think.

Pros:

Halloween candy, opportunity to wear a costume, special parade and fireworks

Cons:

Very crowded, some listed meet and greets don't happen, expensive
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by sand935 Review Date: 09/28/2018

Rating: (6)
Not Recommended

I went to the party on a tuesday. When I talked to friends it sounded like this party was less crowded than the weekend parties. i thought it was the most crowed party I have been to in four years. If this had been my first party I would have liked it a lot. Knowing what parties included in other years I was disappointed in the changes. Character lines were longer so only did one toward the end of the night.

Pros:

Fun party cheap day at the park with the special ticket

Cons:

crowds no special candy leaving the park no wurthers caramels long character lines
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Tamara Ervin Review Date: 09/27/2018

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

This was my first MNSSHP, and I am on the fence about whether it was worth it or not. I went on a Tuesday in September, the crowds were not horrible, but everything still had a wait. I was expecting more than what was there, based on reviews of previous years. There was no way anyone could get through the whole party by midnight. I am just not as "wow'd" as I thought I would be.

Pros:

Good candy, shorter ride lines

Cons:

Way too hot, long lines for candy and characters
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by cindyfan Review Date: 09/27/2018

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

Needs desperately to be updated. This event hasn't seen many changes or upgrades in forever. It's great to go once... maybe once every 6-8 years! But if you've seen it recently, save your money. And they need to sell less tickets.

Pros:

Fireworks. Parade (if you've never seen it before, it's fun)

Cons:

Too crowded. Nothing has changed in many, many years! needs something new and fresh (besides Hocus-Pocus which is already "old" after 3 years)
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Jane Buie Review Date: 09/27/2018

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

Just got a few days ago after 10 days in the park, including MNSSHP, and we were disappointed. On a girls trip, there were three of us vintage ladies. The park was crowded, hot, and the few rides we tried were crowded. We left after visiting the candy offerings and went back to our resort. It will be a long time before I pay that kind of money for a half filled bag of "free" treats.

Pros:

Fun watching the creative costumes worn by others

Cons:

Only a few rides open and it was very crowded
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Jennifer Stevens Review Date: 09/27/2018

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

The event has become unbearable. Too many tickets are being sold for too much money. Shoulder to shoulder crowds are on the increase. Lines for trick or treating and rides are long. We have been doing this party for 9 years and it is to the point where it just isn't worth the aggravation. The parade is good but who wants to spend an hour or 2 of party time just sitting staking out a viewing spot? The same goes for character meet and greets and the fireworks show. You only have 5 precious party hours and can not do eveything in 1 or 2 party nights.

Pros:

Fun Decorations and seeing the people dressed up

Cons:

Too many tickets being sold.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Karen Schlaker Review Date: 09/26/2018

Rating: (8)
Not Recommended

Went previous year

Pros:

Guests loved my husbands' costume and kept getting requests to take his photo, nice to do it once but not worth the money to do it a second time, loved the parade

Cons:

expensive, crowded, candy was just okay (again expensive ticket)
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 09/25/2018

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

Loved the festivities but it was much too crowded. We never trick or treated, didn't get to meet any characters as all the lines were too long. We used the advice to see the later parade and show but it was still very crowded. During the day the crowds were much lighter than normal but after 7 it became as crowded as a typical summer day which we avoid. I thought this was a special event to do but for 7 of us it was a big waste of money

Pros:

Decorations

Cons:

Too crowded, too expensive
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by pwood78 Review Date: 10/03/2016

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

I have attended the MNSSHP party several times in the past. We attended this year on Sunday Sept 25, 2016. It didn't seem really crowded, but the lines were insane to meet characters and to trick or treat.

I felt like we had to stick to one theme and couldn't do everything.

We got in the park at 4pm and rode some rides and had a quick service dinner, at 7pm we attempted to trick or treat. We waited 10 minutes in 1 line to get 2 pieces of candy so we gave up on trick or treating, it was a waste of time.

We walked past every character meet and greet, the lines were ridiculously long, which I knew beforehand that the lines start really early and take a long time, so I didn't plan on meeting characters anyway.

so we stuck with watching the parade, shows and dance parties. Unfortunately, everyone but me was pooped out by 10pm, so I missed the fireworks. With 2 more hours we may have been able to do a little shopping, watch fireworks and maybe jump on a quick ride or 2.

I wouldn't recommend going to the party anymore. It isn't the same as in the past.

The Toy Story dance party is gone. And the villains used to come off the stage after the show and do meet and greets, I met 5 villains back to back in 15 minutes last time I went in 2011. They don't do meet and greets after the stage show anymore, and there aren't many villains out at all doing meets.

Pros:

Parades/Shows

Cons:

Lines
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by prncsmom Review Date: 09/25/2016

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

This was our first time attending the party and will likely be our last. We attended on Tuesday, September 20, 2016. We arrived early (we had park hopper passes for the week) and the park was already hopping - unbeknownst to us this was a night Disney offered discount admissions to cast members, so it added to the crowds. We got our bags and wrist bands and then the down pour happened. People were trying to take cover while they cleared out the park of non-party attendees. It was a bit chaotic to say the least. The trick or treat lines were long and going from station to station ate up a bulk of our time. We did a ride or two, but it was that or wait for character photos and not trick or treat. We did manage to see the second parade because we stopped to take a break and the cast member said now would be a good time to secure seats. It was a good, but not great parade. We did see some of the last of the night Hocus Pocus show - our son was tired and we decided to leave a bit early...as well as everyone else did staying at the resorts. Getting a bus back to the hotel was not easy and the drivers were impatient and frankly a bit rude to cram as many people on as they could - the other passengers who had never attended felt the party wasn't worth the price either. That was a theme we ran into for the remainder of the week - just not worth it. For the money - use it for park hoppers or add the water park or treat yourself to something nice to take home - the party was average and not worth it in our opinion.

Pros:

Lots of Candy

Cons:

Over crowded, tremendously long waits for photos, hard to see the parade, show and trick or treat
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3 8