Reviews of Kouzzina by Cat Cora - Dinner



<b>Closed October 1, 2014</b>

On the Boardwalk

Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/kouzzina/dinner
Child Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/kouzzina/child-dinner

Press Release: http://land.allears.net/blogs/dnews/2009/03/celebrity_chef_cat_cora_to_ope.html

Reviews:

10

Average Rating:

6.60

Would Recommend:

80%

Reviewer: Snemma Review Date: 05/29/2014

Rating: (5) Would Recommend:

This was by far our most disappointing meal of our trip. Though the saganaki was some of the best we've ever had, my wife's steak was poorly planned and poorly executed. My lamb shank lacked in flavor.

Pros:

Appetizer

Cons:

Main courses were blah

Reviewer: mgt Review Date: 01/25/2014

Rating: (8) Would Recommend:

We arrived early for our reservation and where seated quickly. The service was good.

I had the pre-set menu because I could not make up my mind.

The fish stew was excellent! The beef not so much.

Desserts were wonderful!

Walked over to Epcot for the fireworks after dinner.

Pros:

good "date night" resturant

Cons:

Reviewer: MWS Review Date: 01/07/2014

Rating: (5) Would Recommend:

Initially, we were very excited to try Kouzinna by Cat Kora, but we found the food average at best. I’m a big fan of Greek food, but the saganaki tasted like a grilled cheese sandwich when paired with the bread. My husband did like the crust of the pork he ordered.
I had the steak and luckily the server suggested having the herb saltsa on the side, which was a good thing since it had a very strong taste. The potatoes were undercooked and had no seasoning.
The chocolate budino cake was tasty but my husband didn’t care much for the baklava.
The service was great considering our server had several large tables to contend with and our food arrived in a timely manner

Pros:

Service

Cons:

Noisy

Reviewer: MargieVE Review Date: 11/24/2013

Rating: (8) Would Recommend:

When I stay at one of the Epcot resorts, I often choose Kouzzina for dinner on my arrival night, because it is relatively casual and relaxing.

On this visit, I dined with my husband. Our server greeted us promptly and offered to get drinks. We asked about two of the red Greek wines available by the half carafe, and chose first one (and then the other, later) based on her descriptions and recommendations. Both were just as she described and we enjoyed them. Our wine delivery was accompanied by some bread, olives and olive oil for dipping.

For our meals, I chose the appetizer sampler with meatballs and spicy shrimp. It was delicious and just the right size. My husband chose the fisherman's stew, and we shared a side of the gigantes beans. The stew was also quite tasty, and we both enjoyed the beans.

I noticed that other reviewers have had problems with the service, but our server (Natalia) was terrific. She seemed quite busy, but was always there when we needed her.

Pros:

Food, service

Cons:

None

Reviewer: thenardier1500 Review Date: 10/31/2013

Rating: (6) Would Recommend:

My second review of Kouzzina in the last few months brings almost the same experience: great food, slow service. Our waitress was slightly more attentive than our waiter in August, but the kitchen was about as slow as can be. Our reservation was for 6:40. We left at 9:10PM. There's absolutely no need for any meal to take that long. It was the first night of the trip, and I was dying to make Illuminations, too bad the slow service dashed those hopes!

Pros:

Food

Cons:

Service

Reviewer: RF53 Review Date: 10/15/2013

Rating: (1) Would Recommend:

I wish I could tell you what the food is like at this restaurant, but I never got to order! Our experience started out pleasantly. We were greeted promptly and our reservation time was honored, which is not common for most Disneyworld area restaurants. The hostess was very nice. She addressed us by name and escorted us to our table. She said someone would be right with us. That is the last member of the restaurant staff I saw for quite some time. I noticed that the restaurant was only half full, however it was very loud and the staff was running around as if they were in a race. Someone raced by our table and said without stopping that she would be right with us. Again, nothing. Not even a glass of water. It made me feel like if I was at Denny's. At this point I said to myself, "If a member of the staff does not come to our table in the next two minutes we are out of here". No one came. I realized then what kind of a night it was going to be if we stayed. This restaurant is touted as one of the better restaurants in Lake Buena Vista, if not the entire Disneyworld property. Perhaps we caught it on a bad night, but I expected so much more from a restaurant where I planned to spend a couple of hundred dollars. The chef may be iron, but the service was more like wet cardboard! Needless to say, I won't be going back.

Pros:

Cons:

Service

Reviewer: Kurt Jensen Review Date: 10/12/2013

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

This was probably the best overall meal we had on our recent trip. we dined there Tuesday October 8, 2013. I had the whole fish that the waitress de-boned tableside. It was wonderful.

Pros:

Food

Cons:

none

Reviewer: TiggerTrigger Review Date: 09/29/2013

Rating: (6) Would Recommend:

Kouzzina is so heavily hyped and the menu looks so good that I had to try it. It was by no means awful, but for a person that really enjoys Greek food, I was only so so on what we had. We certainly didn't hate it, but we're also in no hurry to return. While we went for dinner, I think I'd also skip breakfast since they removed a number of the things of interest from the menu.

Pros:

location, food is decent

Cons:

doesn't really live up to hype

Reviewer: thenardier1500 Review Date: 09/23/2013

Rating: (7) Would Recommend:

I love this restaurant. It's my 4th time since 2010 eating here. It's always been exceptional. This time, not quite as wonderful. Our waiter played a big disappearing act through the entire dinner. He'd come, act as if we were imposing on him, then disappear for 25 minutes. It really put a damper on this meal.

The food, as always was great. My friend and I started with the Avgolemono soup. One of those dishes that your mouth waters when you think of it. The same friend and I both had the sampler platter. The Greek lasagna was good, as was the chicken and orzo. The lamb burger, not so much. To me, it reminded me of bad breath. This third of the sampler was actually what I was most looking forward to, and I was so disappointed that I didn't like it. I really wanted to. Another friend at the table really loved them, and finished both of ours, however. The dessert selections were outstanding as usual.

I'm eating there again next trip, so a little bad service won't keep me away!

Pros:

Food, atmosphere

Cons:

Service

Reviewer: nrymut Review Date: 01/20/2013

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

Our party of 5 ate here on Jan. 17. The food was excellent and the service was great. I had the sampler. I found the lamb burger to be flavorful but a little too spicy for me. The lasagna was different and very good. The cinnamon stewed chicken was wonderful. Dessert was also excellent. I love eating here. We always have a great meal at this restaurant.

Pros:

Excellent food and service

Cons:

None