Reviews of Kouzzina by Cat Cora - Breakfast

Reviews

9

Rating

9.00 / 10

Recommended By

100%



<b>Closed October 1, 2014</b>

On the Boardwalk (where Spoodles used to be)

Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/kouzzina/breakfast
Child Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/kouzzina/child-breakfast

Press Release: http://land.allears.net/blogs/dnews/2009/03/celebrity_chef_cat_cora_to_ope.html

Reviewed by bellebookworm9 Review Date: 09/01/2014

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Having never eaten at Kouzzina, I decided to give it a try before it closes next month. My reservation was for 8:40am on 8/17. I was running a few minutes late and arrived at 8:44. After checking in, I took a seat in the lobby and within five minutes I was led to a table. I liked the atmosphere here; it was nice to have a sedate breakfast.

I believe my server was Krystin. She highly recommended the Classic Golden Waffle topped with whipped mascarpone cheese, honey drizzle, and chopped pecans. This sounded good to me when I was perusing the menu ahead of time, so I went ahead and ordered that, with bacon. I also decided to give the Sweet Potato Hash a try.

The good: the waffle was amazing! So fluffy and the toppings combined wonderfully. I did end up adding some syrup but that's just how I like to eat my waffles. The sweet potato hash was not what I was expecting. I thought it would be like hash browns, but it was not. Instead, there were little cubes of potatoes mixed with onions and peppers. I wish I would have asked ahead of time.

If you have the chance to get here before it closes, I do recommend it.

Pros:

Waffles, Friendly Service

Cons:

Sweet Potato Hash
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Brbrhark Review Date: 02/01/2014

Rating: (10)
Recommended

My daughter and I got a breakfast skillet; her husband got an omelet. Everything was hot and delicious. The server was attentive but not overwhelming. This definitely made my list of permanent restaurants to go. I will try dinner here next time.

Pros:

Food, Experience

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by kathie859 Review Date: 01/30/2014

Rating: (8)
Recommended

I love this restaurant and the Fisherman's Stew is one of my favorite things to eat. That being said, we had service issues for dinner and breakfast service.

There were 7 in our party and 2 of us ordered iced tea. We were presented with a barely colored glass of swill. It was awful!!!! It didn't even look like tea. We noticed several minutes later that other diners were receiving tea that looked like tea---I asked our server if we could have the new batch <g> and he did get us new glasses. Why would a server give a diner something that was obviously not right?

The rest of the meal was good and the server recovered and paced the meal appropriately.

Pros:

Love the menu

Cons:

Service issue
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by kathie859 Review Date: 01/30/2014

Rating: (6)
Recommended

This used to be a great breakfast experience; however, our last trip had some service flaws with both breakfast and dinner. Our party of 7 was promptly seated and ours drink order taken. My drink came out (regular coffee) while the others waited. Several minutes alters their drinksarrived and our order taken. Several minutes later, 2 people (neither our server) swoop in with food for 6 of us. We waited. I finally got up, having failed to catch anyone's attention and approached a runner to mention the missing meal. We eventually received it and it was comped by an apologetic manager. Food wise, everyone thought the food was good.

Pros:

Nice selection

Cons:

Crazy service
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by paisleyk Review Date: 12/07/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We have had consistently great experiences here. We always start with the fresh fruit bowl, large enough to share for a family of four. The fruit is fresh and the assortment consists of pineapple, green apple, orange, blueberries-- not the usual bland fruit salad. I always get the stacked Kouzzina breakfast and as a vegetarian, I sub out the meat for extra sweet potato hash (they will sub for what you ask for). The artichoke spread is to die for! My husband gets the breakfast skillet and my kids always get the pancakes. Everything is always consistently wonderful! The coffee is great too!

Pros:

Food, service, atmosphere

Cons:

Nothing
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by feldhues Review Date: 08/21/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

A last minute reservation for dinner on July 24 turned out to be one of our best meals of the week! Our party of six ranging from ages 2 to 72 all enjoyed our meals. We shared the Kouzzina spreads (eggplant was my favorite but all good) and the spanikopita. We had excellent entrees - my 14 year old loved the braised short ribs -she said it was the best meat she had ever tasted, My husband and I shared the pork tenderloin (tender and tasty), my mom said the lamb shank was fall of the bone tender and was a large portion and couldn't be finished. So glad we decided to try Kouzzina and we would recommend it highly!

Pros:

food quality, good service

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by njpaulc Review Date: 05/07/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Had breakfast there Saturday May 4, 2013 with my wife and son. The room is absolutely beautiful, dark wood trim, light colored walls high ceiling and plenty of room, it looked like they could easily fit 5 or 6 more tables in the dining room. My son had the waffles and the cinnamon roll, I had a little taste and the waffles were great served with plenty of pecans (but I couldn't get near the bun which was garnished with fresh berries). My wife had the breakfast skillet which she loved, she said the arugula perfectly balanced the richness of the eggs and hash. I had the spinach, tomato and feta scramble which was delicious and had a perfect balance of ingredients. The service was exceptional, always available but never intrusive. We sat right by the open kitchen and it was amazing to watch the chiefs at work. It was difficult not returning for breakfast Sunday morning.

Pros:

Great food, Beautiful room

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by daphnee08 Review Date: 03/31/2013

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Went twice on our recent trip for breakfast. I had the yogurt and DW had waffle both times. Both were that good. Menu has a small selection, but good variety. All the food looked good. Service was very good and quick, mimosa's quite tasty. With location to EPCOT, HS, and Yacht Club, it was perfect. Also has outside eating area on the Boardwalk

Pros:

Variety, location, price

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by MagicKat103 Review Date: 03/12/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Decided to eat here because we were staying at Boardwalk and wanted to try it. We hope that this little gem does not get discovered so that we can always get in here. :) It was by far, one of the best meals we ate in WDW. Between the 4 adults, we tried 4 different things. Everything was amazing. The pecan roll was amazing. The kids meals were fantastic as well. Staff was very attentive and the manager came by and talked with us several times just to see how we were doing. They all had great recommendations and clearly knew their product. Even if not staying at Boardwalk, I would make a trip here to eat. Hands down one of the best places in Disney to eat.

Pros:

Everything

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Other topics in Archives