Reviews of Kona Cafe Lunch/Dinner



View Menus at Kona Cafe Dining Location

Full Service Lunch/Dinner

Lunch Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/kona-cafe/lunch
Dinner Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/kona-cafe/dinner
Child's Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/kona-cafe/child-lunch-dinner

Reviews:

57

Average Rating:

7.65

Would Recommend:

84%

Reviewer: Anonymous Review Date: 10/10/2018

Rating: (5) Would Recommend:

Used to be great. Now food so salty it was inedible. Asian stir fry with chicken or shrimp. Our server offered to mix them which was a good idea but he racked on extra $9.00 for the 4 shrimp.veggies chopped so tiny that I couldn't identify them. Drinks expensive and weak.

Pros:

Beeper to let you know tablecusxteady

Cons:

Salt, Salt, Salt.
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: sand935 Review Date: 10/01/2018

Rating: (5) Would Recommend:

We do not care for the menu changes that they have been making to the dinner menu. I like pork options and the pork duo is not up to the other pork options that they have had in the past. They are now to fatty. My husband wanted seafood but couldn't find anything that appealed to him. He ordered the chicken and did not care for it.

Pros:

none

Cons:

poor menu changes less quality
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: Anonymous Review Date: 09/26/2018

Rating: (7) Would Recommend:

very nice place for a leisurely lunch...food and service very good

Pros:

good food and selecion

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: disneydiner Review Date: 06/03/2018

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

We have always had nice meals at Kona Cafe and our April lunch there was no exception. Our party of four ordered the Asian stir fry, Dashi noodle bowl with grouper, Verlasso salmon, soup of the day and sushi. We were all pleased with our choices and did some tasting of each others' dishes. So good! We ordered two Kona Cones for dessert and what a treat they were! Too cute-and yummy! Our waitress was great and took photos of our group-it had been a long time since we four had been together. Our bill was less painful with my niece's cast member discount. Meals are priced on the high side at Kona but it is vacation and it is Disney. Oh, and the lapu-lapus were great!

Pros:

different and delicious

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: mamavogel74 Review Date: 11/03/2017

Rating: (6) Would Recommend:

Kona is usually a must do for us- Lapu Lapu's and good food... unfortunately our last visit in June was not good. We were very disappointed. We were a large party, there were 12 of us in all. 10 of our party were seated together and two of us were seated on our own. This was poor planning on their part as they had smaller parties seated at the end of the table, which is why we were separated. We had the reservation for 5 months, this was not a surprise for them. Drinks were slow to come and warm when we received them. Service was very spotty, the wait staff (we had 2) disappeared for long stretches leading to a drawn out meal. Just overall disappointing. It will be a while before we go back.

Pros:

food was good

Cons:

drinks were warm, service slow, party split up
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: ribby Review Date: 08/20/2017

Rating: (3) Would Recommend:

Kona has been a mainstay during our visits for years but this year (August 2017) was disappointing. The menu listed for Kona on AllEars is for December 2016 but that has changed and not, in my family's opinion, for the better. Sushi selections have been cut by more than half, entrée selections have been reduced as well and the steamed pork buns - a favorite appetizer - have exited the menu. Among some items we ordered were the California roll (ate half; not tasty), Asian Pasta Shrimp (half eaten; again, not tasty and a bit overcooked) and the steak (reduced portion for the amount paid). Additionally, the restaurant was fairly empty at 6:00 which we have never experienced in prior visits. We liked dining at Kona rather than Ohana because of the more selective menu. I'm afraid future visits are probably in jeopardy. Do not know what happened there but my family was very disappointed.

Pros:

Ambiance; friendliness

Cons:

Dramatic menu change and not positive
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: mg0914 Review Date: 02/04/2017

Rating: (8) Would Recommend:

We checked in at Polynesian on 12/22 and had a noon reservation at Kona. We were seated on time and had a very pleasant meal here. I've always liked Kona but my family hasn't always enjoyed it to be honest. But I'm happy to say we all very much enjoyed our lunch. Perhaps it was at least partially due to the fact that we were all very hungry after our flight. And perhaps it was partially due to us being excited to be just beginning our vacation and escaping the New England cold.

Our waitress was terrific and our appetizers came quickly. I've had Kona's crab cakes before and I was looking forward to them. They were just as good as I remembered! Other apps ordered were pot stickers and salads.

For entrees we ordered the Loco Moco, pork tacos and the Asian noodle bowl for entrees.

Kona flies under the radar for most people and while it wasn't the best meal of our trip, I believe everyone will be happy to go back. Before our meal was over we received a text that our room was ready! Perfect ending!

Pros:

great service, very good food

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: angela923 Review Date: 12/12/2016

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

Had dinner at the Kona Café on 12/9/16. The Kona Café is my favorite restaurant anywhere. This is the 1st time I would rate it less than a 10. The food was great as always, dessert perfect. the Pressed Pot of coffee has changed to Jofferys coffee from 100% Kona. So now you pay more for coffee much less quality. Kona blend is a better cup of coffee. This being said I will be back because it is still the Kona Café.

Pros:

Good Food

Cons:

Coffee pressed pot horrible
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: Tanasigirl Review Date: 09/27/2016

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

With ADR, we ate here on September 12, 2016, as we toured our way through the monorail resorts. A favorite first-night pastime. We decided to share two appetizers since the sweet bread and macadamia nut butter cannot be ignored.

We shared our favorites sticky wings and the California Luau roll. The sticky wings have a wonderful Polynesian glaze with just the right amount of mustard drizzled on top. Over time the portion size has gotten smaller, so I think this time we got 5 wings. The sushi was excellent. I had not had this one before with the pineapple included.

The restaurant is on the second floor of the lobby and is open-air, so it can be a bit loud at times. It has never stopped us from coming. Great wait staff and nice atmosphere to enjoy.

We were staying at the PORS, so we took a bus to the Magic Kingdom and then rode the resort monorail around to the Poly. Easy-peasy.

Pros:

Sticky wings!!!

Cons:

Can be noisy
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: Momof4 Review Date: 07/18/2016

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

We walked up at 5:00 on June 30 without an ADR and they were able to seat us so that alone was amazing. We have always loved Kona and it did not disappoint. We started off with the must have Lapu lapus and then the sweet bread and macadamia nut butter- delish! We had a mix of potstickers, sushi, red pepper soup and shrimp and chicken noodle bowls. Everything was absolutely delicious. We have never been disappointed here and I can not wait to go back!

Pros:

sushi,.noodle bowls

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments
1 2 3 6