Reviews of Hollywood and Vine Dinner

Reviews

20

Rating

7.75 / 10

Recommended By

95%



Buffet - Dinner
Disney's Hollywood Studios

http://allears.net/dining/menu/hollywood-and-vine/dinner

Reviewed by matt6816 Review Date: 08/29/2014

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We had a 7:20 reservation and were seated within 5 minutes. The food was well prepared and our server Bing was excellent. Unfortunately some parents look at buffets as an excuse to let their children run loose while others are trying to eat. I believe this dining location deserves a much higher rating than a 6.

Pros:

selection

Cons:

unsupervised children
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by GinaDD Review Date: 08/27/2014

Rating: (7)
Recommended

We booked H&V for two reasons....Fantasmic dinner package and so our sons could really load up. There was no real value here though for our 14 year old daughter. If you are hearty eaters you will probably find an enjoyable meal. There was carved beef and turkey, salmon, a pasta station, lots of sides, but somewhat disappointing desserts. Some very nice breads with the salads. Also the tables are too small for the number of people they are set for. I don't think we'll be back.

Pros:

Lots of choices

Cons:

Over priced
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by ROCCOFIRE Review Date: 07/11/2014

Rating: (9)
Recommended

A good dinner buffet. I recommend a reservation for all Disney restaurants, because like this one very busy. The staff and service did an excellent job, a good variety of food, and with the dining plan you fill up easily.

Pros:

dinner has no characters

Cons:

ā€”
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by KBrzyski Review Date: 06/25/2014

Rating: (3)
Recommended

The food was ok - lots of choices. However,the mashed potatoes were "soupy." The Jedi characters were fine. They came to our table and took pictures. My major disappointment was what I paid for 3 adults - $222 with tip for the buffet, no alcoholic beverages! I paid $180 for 4 adults, 3 of which had steak dinners at the Be Our Guest Restaurant, and I felt the ambience was nicer. Perhaps it's worth it if you have a meal plan, but I would not recommend it to someone paying cash.

Pros:

Food was ok

Cons:

Cost
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by hello12345 Review Date: 06/05/2014

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Had an ADR for May 28. Arrived about 15 min prior to our ADR. The setup to get check-in and get in was a little confusing. We had to check-in and then get into a line immediately. The line led to pics with Chip and Dale as Ewoks. We were seated close to our ADR time. Our waitress here was far more knowledgable and friendlier than the Sci-Fi breakfast. The characters came around in a quick and orderly fashion. They were all willing to interact with the kids. We were there for about one hour and got visted by each character twice. The food was normal for Hollywood and Vine. They have the best selection for Disney buffets in my opinion. Picture taking was also a little easier than the Sci-Fi breakfast. Hollywood and Vine is well lit and there is a little more room to move around for the pics. I had to dish out this money so my kids could see these characters. In the three previous Star Wars weekend trips we have never met the Star Wars dressed Disney characters. The price was extreme, but the convenience of seeing all the characters while we ate in the A/C was close to being worth the price. I will not pay this price to do it again though. 2 adults/2 kids cost about $190 after tip.

Pros:

See all the Star Wars Disney characters

Cons:

Price
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Fitzboyzmom Review Date: 05/30/2014

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We ate here for the Star Wars dinner (I could not find a place to review that). It was really neat to see all the characters dressed up and is worth it once for that alone.

The food was very good...lot's of choices. The service was wonderful. Just really expensive (I never complain about that, so you know it's bad :).

I was glad we did it. It was fun, but would not probably do the Star Wars thing again. Would definitely come back for the buffet.

Pros:

ā€”

Cons:

ā€”
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mkymouse4ever Review Date: 05/17/2014

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We attended the star war's dinner, and had a great time. Food was the typical buffet, but filled and plentiful.
Character's where outstanding, the best we have come accross.
The allergy to chocolate was an issue. Every pastry, cupcake was either chocholate or had a chocholate star wars written on it. > Asked the chef he came over and had to get a cheesecake out of the resturant next door and was soooooooooo nice about the whole thing.
Our CM waitress was earning her ear's and she was wonderful and very helpful!

Pros:

Food, character's

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by WDWDad1974 Review Date: 05/13/2014

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Went for the Disney Jr. lunch. The kids loved it. The characters took their time, and even had organized dances periodically.

We ate at around noon and were not hungry the rest of the day. The food was tasty and varied. I was expecting a little more standard buffet line, but they had some good salads and some good hot entrees--like salmon and a really tasty Asian-inspired chicken dish (I forget the name). The desserts were really good. My son loved the make-your-own pasta station, which can feel like a nice break from the usual pre-cooked meal you have elsewhere in the park.

Pros:

Good dishes, good selection

Cons:

A bit crowded
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by lb1160 Review Date: 05/09/2014

Rating: (6)
Recommended

Dinner was a buffet and it was just okay. The best part of the buffet was the cooked to order pasta, that was excellent. Desserts were very disappointing and the Fantasmic special ticket didn't mean anything, no one checked tickets and there were hoards of people entering the area all at once. Don't think we would book it again.

Pros:

Service was very good, not rushed at all

Cons:

Food to generic, not great quality
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by jeconk Review Date: 03/12/2014

Rating: (7)
Recommended

We took the dinner meal at Hollywood & Vine to take advantage of the Fantasmic Seating advantage. While you get some of the best seats for Fantasmic (center section), you do not get a "private entrance" and have to enter with the masses.
The dinner is a buffet, which I like because you can try different things. They had a varied selection of entrees and some specialty stations (pasta, etc.) but the side dishes were not that varied or exciting. The dessert selection was great and the small portions allowed you to take several different ones to try. (and then go back for more of the ones you like!). Since it was a buffet, the small dessert portions are not a big deal.
The decor is not exciting, but I don't choose or really judge my dining choices by decor...but by food, service and comfort....all of which were fine at this restaurant.

Pros:

Wide selection of entrees and desserts

Cons:

Selection of sides not as varied
Did you find this helpful?
1 2

Other topics in Archives