Reviews of Hollywood and Vine Dinner

Reviews

20

Rating

7.75 / 10

Recommended By

95%



Buffet - Dinner
Disney's Hollywood Studios

http://allears.net/dining/menu/hollywood-and-vine/dinner

Reviewed by WDWDad1974 Review Date: 05/13/2014

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Went for the Disney Jr. lunch. The kids loved it. The characters took their time, and even had organized dances periodically.

We ate at around noon and were not hungry the rest of the day. The food was tasty and varied. I was expecting a little more standard buffet line, but they had some good salads and some good hot entrees--like salmon and a really tasty Asian-inspired chicken dish (I forget the name). The desserts were really good. My son loved the make-your-own pasta station, which can feel like a nice break from the usual pre-cooked meal you have elsewhere in the park.

Pros:

Good dishes, good selection

Cons:

A bit crowded
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by ROCCOFIRE Review Date: 07/11/2014

Rating: (9)
Recommended

A good dinner buffet. I recommend a reservation for all Disney restaurants, because like this one very busy. The staff and service did an excellent job, a good variety of food, and with the dining plan you fill up easily.

Pros:

dinner has no characters

Cons:

ā€”
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mkymouse4ever Review Date: 05/17/2014

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We attended the star war's dinner, and had a great time. Food was the typical buffet, but filled and plentiful.
Character's where outstanding, the best we have come accross.
The allergy to chocolate was an issue. Every pastry, cupcake was either chocholate or had a chocholate star wars written on it. > Asked the chef he came over and had to get a cheesecake out of the resturant next door and was soooooooooo nice about the whole thing.
Our CM waitress was earning her ear's and she was wonderful and very helpful!

Pros:

Food, character's

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by hello12345 Review Date: 02/03/2014

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I went into this dining experience not expecting much and I was surprised. We only ate here for the fantasmic dinner package. In the long run the package wasn't even needed as the Fantasmic show was not full.

Due to the weather we decided to check-in 30 minutes early and we got a table within 5 minutes. We sat down around 4:30 and it was not busy at all. By 5:30 it was full and waiting area was full outside. We never had an issue getting to the buffet even with the crowds. We probably stayed longer than we normally do because of the weather and we were never rushed.

The service was a 10. Our waiter took our drink orders immediately after sitting down and brought refills when needed. My kids were celebrating their birthday and the server brought special cupcakes for them. This is the best service we ever had at a Disney restuarant. He was an older Asian guy and I wish I got his name to give him a shoutout!

The food was an 8 - 8.5. When compared to places like the Crystal Palace, Tusker House, and 1900 Park Fare, Hollywood and Vine is a 10. The buffet had a good selection and everything was fresh. The top picks were the lobster and shrimp mac and cheese, pasta, chicken breast with ranch sauce, and salmon.

Obviously you have to pay Disney prices. For 2 adults and 2 children we had to come out of pocket $140 after tip. That keeps this from being a 10. If you are on the dining plan then Hollywood and Vine is a no-brainer. Coming out of pocket you might want to think twice. This same meal would have cost me $35-40 at Golden Corral near I-4.

Overall this rates near the top of Disney buffets. Only a few rate ahead of it in my opinion (Biergarten, Ohana, and maybe Cape May.)

Pros:

Overall good experience

Cons:

cost
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by kretzklan Review Date: 01/15/2014

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I've seen some bad reviews here and don't get it. We thought the food was wonderful - all hot and such a wide selection! The only thing we didn't enjoy were the peel and eat shrimp. We did the Fantasmic package and the lines for the buffet got VERY long...however, eating that early (3:35), it wasn't a bad thing to waste some time. Our server was delightful as well!

Pros:

wide selection of food

Cons:

lines long during the Fantasmic package window
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by lamystreaux Review Date: 06/07/2013

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I am not sure why this place receives low scores. Not every item on the buffet is great, but there are enough yummy items to make this a winner. We had prime rib carved on the meat station, some great soups and salads, and we also enjoyed a great pulled pork there. Sides were not too bad, and my son really enjoyed the options for the kids. Desserts were plentiful to choose from. If you want a nice meal with plenty to eat, this is a good table service option.

Pros:

good variety

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by jlundeen Review Date: 01/12/2013

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We had never eaten here before, so this trip (Dec, 2012), we wanted to try it as a Fantasmic! reserved seating meal.

Got in pretty quickly, and were seated all together (6 adults - no kids). Buffet had lots of variety, and some items were good enough to go back for seconds! Staff was friendly food was good.

We'll go there again!

Pros:

A nice surprise

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by matt6816 Review Date: 08/29/2014

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We had a 7:20 reservation and were seated within 5 minutes. The food was well prepared and our server Bing was excellent. Unfortunately some parents look at buffets as an excuse to let their children run loose while others are trying to eat. I believe this dining location deserves a much higher rating than a 6.

Pros:

selection

Cons:

unsupervised children
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by hello12345 Review Date: 06/05/2014

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Had an ADR for May 28. Arrived about 15 min prior to our ADR. The setup to get check-in and get in was a little confusing. We had to check-in and then get into a line immediately. The line led to pics with Chip and Dale as Ewoks. We were seated close to our ADR time. Our waitress here was far more knowledgable and friendlier than the Sci-Fi breakfast. The characters came around in a quick and orderly fashion. They were all willing to interact with the kids. We were there for about one hour and got visted by each character twice. The food was normal for Hollywood and Vine. They have the best selection for Disney buffets in my opinion. Picture taking was also a little easier than the Sci-Fi breakfast. Hollywood and Vine is well lit and there is a little more room to move around for the pics. I had to dish out this money so my kids could see these characters. In the three previous Star Wars weekend trips we have never met the Star Wars dressed Disney characters. The price was extreme, but the convenience of seeing all the characters while we ate in the A/C was close to being worth the price. I will not pay this price to do it again though. 2 adults/2 kids cost about $190 after tip.

Pros:

See all the Star Wars Disney characters

Cons:

Price
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Fitzboyzmom Review Date: 05/30/2014

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We ate here for the Star Wars dinner (I could not find a place to review that). It was really neat to see all the characters dressed up and is worth it once for that alone.

The food was very good...lot's of choices. The service was wonderful. Just really expensive (I never complain about that, so you know it's bad :).

I was glad we did it. It was fun, but would not probably do the Star Wars thing again. Would definitely come back for the buffet.

Pros:

ā€”

Cons:

ā€”
Did you find this helpful?
1 2

Other topics in Archives