Reviews of Hard Ticketed Events (Party for the Senses, Food and Wine Pairings)

Reviews

15

Rating

8.07 / 10

Recommended By

93%



Reviews of all special hard-ticketed (paid) events including: Parisian Breakfasts and Afternoons, Cheese Tastings, Food and Wine Pairings, Party for the Senses, Signature Dinner Series, Specialty Dinners, etc.

Festival Pages: http://allears.net/tp/ep/epcot-food-and-wine-festival.htm

Reviewed by disneydiner Review Date: 11/07/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We attended a wine tasting on Oct. 21 of three wines from Chile. All the wines were quite good and our host was informative and humorous. I remember years ago attending free tastings and though they are now $17, I feel the program was worth it.

Pros:

Good wines, nice people at our table

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by disneydiner Review Date: 11/22/2017

Rating: (10)
Recommended

On November 4 my niece and I attended the Parisian Afternoon lunch at Monsieur Paul's in the French pavilion at Epcot. Two very enjoyable hours! The mimosas flowed freely, the cold soup course was good, the sandwiches and mushroom cupcake were so tasty and the dessert plate was almost too pretty to eat. We were celebrating my niece's birthday and her dessert plate had Happy Birthday written on it in chocolate sauce! The commentary between courses was interesting. My niece was asked to read from the menu in her best French accent! She nailed it! The chef addressed us when dessert was served and he got a rousing ovation. He explained how the meal was put together to give us as many different tastes as possible representing France in one meal. A wonderful experience! A couple sitting next to us had attended three other Festival meals and they liked this one the best. There were seven different goodies on the dessert plate-ooh la la!!!

Pros:

good foods,lovely atmosphere,charming waiters,fun!

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by rmbaine Review Date: 10/04/2017

Rating: (10)
Recommended

The food and wine pairing at Spice Roads in Morocco is always great. This one may be the best ever. It is a complete 4 course meal.

After check in, we were greeted with a flute of sparkling wine. The first course was shrimp in a thin sauce with corn paired with a delicious white wine. I am sorry I did not keep the menu so I cannot tell you exactly what the wines were. I restrained myself from licking the dish.

The second course was incredible, a spicy tuna with veggies. The tuna was perfect, seared on the outside, raw in the middle, and just melted in your mouth. It was just a bit spicy and paired perfectly with a lovely rose wine.

The third course was roast lamb paired with a red wine. The wines were generous pours. I remember loving the pairing, but I think all the wine interfered with my memory of it!

Finally, dessert was chocolate baklava accompanied by a dessert wine. A perfect ending to a wonderful meal.

In my opinion, this is the best deal at Disney! It will save you money on dinner......you won't want any! Don't miss it!

Pros:

Fantastic food, wine, pairings

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by MCMod Review Date: 10/18/2016

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Originally posted by annebill

"What's Cookin' With".....and for us it was Buddy Valastro, aka The Cake Boss......just a lovely experience overall.....the brunch was exceptional, his recipe presentations were great (and yummy) but the exclamation point was the "lobster tail with salted caramel".....soooo good!!! afterwards, we were able to have a photo op and a one on one with him and he was so personable....certainly the high point of our F&WF experience

Pros:

great food, organized, fun presentation

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by dcdeb Review Date: 10/05/2014

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Returning to the Epcot International Food and Wine Festival this year is the Parisian Breakfast, a program designed to showcase the goodies produced by the France pavilion's beloved bakery, Les Halles Boulangerie Patisserie. I reviewed this special ticketed offering last year, and I'm happy to report that nothing much has changed! It's still a delightful and delicious way to start your day in Epcot, with an abundance of fantastic French pastries, strong French coffee, rich hot chocolate, and -- I must not forget to mention -- unlimited orange juice and champagne Mimosas! You can read my review of this year's Parisian Breakfast here: http://allears.net/tp/ep/fw14/2014-epcot-food-and-wine-festival-parisian-breakfast.htm

Pros:

Good value for money; terrific pastries

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by JoeTr Review Date: 11/02/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We (six very senior citizens) were lucky to be able to attend two French Regional lunches during our one week visit. The Cotes du Rhone and Bordeaux regionals were well represented. Every course provided a new taste treat. A Celery Zephyr with Black Truffles was served with an light mousse topping. Different and delicious. The Bordeaux were from the Rothschild Domaines, and lived up to their reputation.

Pros:

Quality and Quantity of food.

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Collette Review Date: 10/05/2017

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We enjoyed Morimoto Asia's Adventures in Signature Dining on September 19. It was held upstairs in the side room. Each of four courses was a "battle" with two food preps and two drinks. The courses were mackeral, snapper, spice, and ramen. The spice was between wagyu beef and pork belly. The food was served with either a beer or a sake. There was a very wide variety of everything, and tons of food to eat! There were some very unusual sakes! They went all out to please us!

Pros:

Great concept, excellent food

Cons:

Hard to hear the chef/sommelier talk above main dining room noise
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by MWS Review Date: 11/04/2015

Rating: (9)
Recommended

My husband and I attended the Parisian breakfast and really enjoyed all the food. The servers were very attentive and the mimosa glasses were continually filled. They also served coffee and hot chocolate. The menu was a variety of breads, cheeses and pastries and some fruit. We felt this was a good deal for the price and we each received a small goodie bag when leaving.

Pros:

Food, service

Cons:

Rush for the beffet
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by JoeTr Review Date: 11/02/2013

Rating: (9)
Recommended

This event was held in the new Tutto Gusto Wine Cellar. We all agreed that it is the best venue in WDW - perhaps only a bit less than V&A. The five course lunch represented different regions of Italy. The risotto with pumpkin and shrimp was different and delicious. Unlike the French Regional lunches they were not anxious to refill the glasses. This was a surprise because we had attended the Italian Wine Pairing two days early with several of the same wines, and they were very generous. Downside of the pairing was Via Napoli. It is a very noisy place - fun with pizza, but not great when trying to hear about the food and wines. Perhaps next year they will have both events in the Wine Cellar.

Pros:

Food and ambiance

Cons:

A little tight with the wine servings
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Dogwithahat Review Date: 11/08/2013

Rating: (8)
Recommended

My DD24 and I attended the Italian Regional lunch on Oct 23, 2013. It was held at Tutto Gusto Wine Cellar in Tutto Italia Restaurant. I will list the five course menu- a charred octopus with a bean spread and matchstick celery hearts paired with a Pinot Grigio, a Zucchini and mint pesto risotto paired with a Juti Lison Classico, poached snapper in white wine and herb broth paired with a Sauvignon, a cheese course a LaTur paired with a Merlot, and for dessert an almond cake with vanilla gelato paired with a Verduzzo dessert wine.

It is my understanding that the menu and wine pairings change frequently during the event which was given 3 times a week. I do not think there is a way to find out the menu before you book it. That being said although I enjoyed the venue and my tablemates, I was disappointed in the nearly all white wine pairings.

I went for the experience and it was overall a good one. The char on the octopus was overpowering to the other delicate flavors. The risotto was really good as was the dessert. I personally liked the cheese which was strongly flavored but many of my tablemates did not. Our table voted the merlot the best wine. The worst course was the snapper, the broth was very fishy.

Our presenter was great but he was very hard to hear because of the venue. They had the place packed with tables. Service was exceptional. A few less chairs in there would have made it better imho. You had to ask someone to get up and let you out to use the bathroom. That's packing us in too tightly.

Pros:

Special Event and exceptional service

Cons:

Menu
Did you find this helpful?
1 2

Other topics in Epcot's International Food and Wine Festival