Reviews of Fort Wilderness Campground

Reviews

17

Rating

9.35 / 10

Recommended By

94%



A Disney Camping Resort.

For full details, Fact Sheet, Photos and Videos visit: http://allears.net/acc/faq_fw.htm

Reviewed by PrincessDaisyDuck Review Date: 08/24/2014

Rating: (6)
Not Recommended

Pros:

The cabins were spacious, well-decorated and very clean.

Mousekeeping was excellent, very friendly and kind besides doing a wonderful job.

The Tri-Circle D ranch was great, you can walk through and look at the ponies or go back to the barn and look at the large horses. Pony rides for small children (under 48 inches and 80 pounds) were only $5.

Food at the pool bar and Trails End To Go was very good.

Bell services was incredibly helpful.

Cons:

Rude concierge cast member at check-in.

Room was not ready until 5:30 pm.

When we went to the cabin our magic bands could not open it. A person from bell services opened it with a key then took our magic bands to the front desk to be fixed. After 1 and 1/2 hours we went to the front desk and waited for them to be given to us. They gave us completely new bands which did thankfully work. In the meantime we paid cash for dinner since we had no dining plan to access without the bands.

The bus transportation is very confusing. There is no bus to Magic Kingdom, you have to take an internal bus to the boats or an internal bus to the Settlement bus stop where you can catch a bus to Wilderness Lodge where you can then catch a bus to Magic Kingdom. You can also take a boat to the Contemporary and walk from there but those boats do shut down for lightening.

We had refillable mugs but you can only refill them at pool bar or Trails To Go. Another spot at the Outpost would be nice since the main bus stop is there.

Pros:

Cabins, Mousekeeping, Horses, Bell Services

Cons:

Check-in, Confusing Transportation
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by aaronb Review Date: 09/27/2018

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Great place with lots of options

Pros:

The ability to do almost anything Disney related and not have to drive everywhere.

Cons:

Lots of walking if you do not have a bike or rent a golfcart. Bus stops are are small walk and in the summer miserable to wait at.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by vkreed56 Review Date: 05/05/2015

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Just got back from 8 nights at Fort Wilderness; have stayed at many Disney resorts, but this was the first time here. All in all, it was a good experience - the campground is immaculately maintained, and we found it to be very quiet almost all of the time since folks are out at the parks instead of hanging out at their sites "camping". Lots of activities to do, and plenty of nature to see.

Only real downside was there is really no true quick-service restaurant; the snack bar at the pool doesn't offer much, and Trails End only serves full table service meals. Several times we ended up catching a boat over to the Roaring Fork at Wilderness Lodge where they offered quick service meals.

We rented a golf cart for the week which was a lot of fun, and very helpful in getting around instead of waiting for the internal buses. Like everything, it was expensive, and we were disappointed they didn't offer a slightly discounted rate for an entire week's rental vs the daily rate, but it ended up being well worth it in the long run.

So all in all a good experience, and we will be back.

Pros:

Clean, well-maintained, quiet, beautiful

Cons:

transportation not the best, restaurants somewhat lacking
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by survivoramy Review Date: 10/01/2018

Rating: (9)
Recommended

When tent camping in FL what do we want? Electric to plug in a fan and clean bathrooms nearby. Fort Wilderness had both and so much more! My brother has a trailer his family camps in and we just have a tent. We both booked and were able to be placed in sites in very close proximity. It was a short walk over to pool area. An internal bus took us around the whole resort. Kids must have shoes to get on bus though...older kids learned that the hard way and had a long walk back from shop area. Kids enjoyed pin trading at the store and watching the Water Parade from the beach at night. Most people do rent golf carts to get around or bring bikes. The night time fire and movie was fun. They did start with trivia but it wasn't too fun because adults will cheat and google answers. We did pack in our own Smore supplies because we didn't want to pay Disney prices for their Smore kit. Campsite had plenty of room to set up and bathrooms was always immaculate and climate controlled.

Pros:

Bathrooms are best ever for a campground. Sites are great with plenty of flat area to set tent and area to park.

Cons:

Pool area got VERY crowded. Some rules aren't enforced and you do need to watch out for golf carts. Not everyone is a good driver.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 09/29/2018

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We love this park. I love the campsites on the left side of the main road heading toward the lake. They are very clean. Right side not so much. Whole different vibe that I did not like. Convenience to stores, busses just perfect. We love riding our bikes around. Have only rented a golf cart once and so happened we got a lemon as cart would not hold a charge. Love the restaurants and food. It is a campground so people need to be aware there are snakes, armadillo and alligators around. I always say, if it’s the Deep South and there is water and and swampiness then expect alligators. Staff is very accommodating. And magic happens here as well. Campfire time is lovely. Love to sit on the beach at night and watch fireworks, water parade, etc. I could live here.?. I have stayed here and never gone to the parks and loved it. Love to ride the boats over and catch the monorail around. Love to ride my bike over to The wilderness Lodge and sit in front of the fire with a cup of coffee. Love to see the deer on that trail. Saw a bobcat once and love the Osceola turkeys that roam. Last time we were there they roosted in the trees over our camper one night. Just a marvelous place.

Pros:

Still the cheapest place to stay on Disney premises if you’ve already invested in a camper.

Cons:

Don’t like Disney’s new rule of charging for parking. Don’t like this trend of feeling I am being nickeled and dimed to death.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mickeymom5 Review Date: 09/12/2015

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We stayed here August 12-16, 2015. We had a wonderful stay! We had a premium site located on the loop behind the Meadow Trading Post bus stop...so all we had to do to get to the Meadow Trading Post was walk across the street. Our site was very convenient to the store, bus stop, swimming pool, and campfire. We loved the campfire and the swimming pool. We also loved walking around Tri-Circle D Ranch. The horses were beautiful to watch and we got to watch the ironsmith fit one with a new shoe! The boat ride to MK was the best! We also loved watching the MK fireworks from the beach. They pipe the music in! Our family was kind enough to let us use their golf cart. A golf cart is a must if you stay here! Everything is really spread out, as a campground should be! I can't emphasized enough how clean everything was! The comfort station was spotless! The paths were well maintained and clean! The two negatives are there is no quick service restaurant and the buses seemed slow leaving Ft. Wilderness and coming back from the parks and Downtown Disney. We stayed with our extended family in their camper. I am more of a "resort" kinda gal, but after our stay I would love to own a camper and claim a spot at Fort Wilderness!

Pros:

Cleanliness, activities, boat ride to MK

Cons:

no QS
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by epelfrey5 Review Date: 06/13/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Very nice. Best campground I’ve ever stayed at!! Clean, nice air conditioned shower houses. Good laundry facilities. Shower house and laundry close to most camp site. Great pool!!

Pros:

Clean. Excellent pool and shower houses.

Cons:

It is so large! You have to rent a golf cart or use the buses to get around because it is so large!!
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Anonymous Review Date: 04/05/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We just got home after 3 nights at the campground with my wife and small dog. Rented a golf cart, the best way to enjoy the park, and had a wonderful time. Never went to a park but did enjoy the boat rides and walking around the Resorts on the monorail. Looking forward to our next visit!

Pros:

Quiet, clean and relaxing!

Cons:

NONE
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by abayes Review Date: 01/18/2019

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We go all the time with our family. Always an incredible experience! I make sure to tell anyone who enjoys camping to go at least once. Even people who don't like camping will have a good time here.

Pros:

Everything! Clean bathrooms, great food and fun. You're at Disney World without feeling the hustle and bustle of the parks.

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Volt Family Review Date: 11/05/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Emily at the pool on fri, sun & mon is amazing. My kids can’t wait to see her when they get to the pool. She dances and is so amazing with kids!

Pros:

Emily at the pool. Entertainment coordinator/lifeguard

Cons:

Not more cast members like her
Did you find this helpful?
1 2

Other topics in Disney Resorts