Reviews of Fort Wilderness Campground



A Disney Camping Resort.

For full details, Fact Sheet, Photos and Videos visit: http://allears.net/acc/faq_fw.htm

Reviews:

14

Average Rating:

9.21

Would Recommend:

93%

Reviewer: Volt Family Review Date: 11/05/2018

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

Emily at the pool on fri, sun & mon is amazing. My kids can’t wait to see her when they get to the pool. She dances and is so amazing with kids!

Pros:

Emily at the pool. Entertainment coordinator/lifeguard

Cons:

Not more cast members like her
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: survivoramy Review Date: 10/01/2018

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

When tent camping in FL what do we want? Electric to plug in a fan and clean bathrooms nearby. Fort Wilderness had both and so much more! My brother has a trailer his family camps in and we just have a tent. We both booked and were able to be placed in sites in very close proximity. It was a short walk over to pool area. An internal bus took us around the whole resort. Kids must have shoes to get on bus though...older kids learned that the hard way and had a long walk back from shop area. Kids enjoyed pin trading at the store and watching the Water Parade from the beach at night. Most people do rent golf carts to get around or bring bikes. The night time fire and movie was fun. They did start with trivia but it wasn't too fun because adults will cheat and google answers. We did pack in our own Smore supplies because we didn't want to pay Disney prices for their Smore kit. Campsite had plenty of room to set up and bathrooms was always immaculate and climate controlled.

Pros:

Bathrooms are best ever for a campground. Sites are great with plenty of flat area to set tent and area to park.

Cons:

Pool area got VERY crowded. Some rules aren't enforced and you do need to watch out for golf carts. Not everyone is a good driver.
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: Disneynerd5 Review Date: 09/29/2018

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

My favorite place in the world!!! The only place I will camp! I’ve only camped here in tents so your experience will be different if you use a camper or stay in the cabins. The bathrooms are heated or air conditioned based on the weather. Hardly any issues with bugs or animals. I love that it’s so close to magic kingdom and you can take the boats to the other resorts. Super peaceful and quiet during the day. Also you can see the fireworks from the beach and the electric water pageant which is my favorite!!

Pros:

Best place to camp, close to magic kingdom

Cons:

Can get loud if camping next to large groups
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: Anonymous Review Date: 09/29/2018

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

We love this park. I love the campsites on the left side of the main road heading toward the lake. They are very clean. Right side not so much. Whole different vibe that I did not like. Convenience to stores, busses just perfect. We love riding our bikes around. Have only rented a golf cart once and so happened we got a lemon as cart would not hold a charge. Love the restaurants and food. It is a campground so people need to be aware there are snakes, armadillo and alligators around. I always say, if it’s the Deep South and there is water and and swampiness then expect alligators. Staff is very accommodating. And magic happens here as well. Campfire time is lovely. Love to sit on the beach at night and watch fireworks, water parade, etc. I could live here.😍. I have stayed here and never gone to the parks and loved it. Love to ride the boats over and catch the monorail around. Love to ride my bike over to The wilderness Lodge and sit in front of the fire with a cup of coffee. Love to see the deer on that trail. Saw a bobcat once and love the Osceola turkeys that roam. Last time we were there they roosted in the trees over our camper one night. Just a marvelous place.

Pros:

Still the cheapest place to stay on Disney premises if you’ve already invested in a camper.

Cons:

Don’t like Disney’s new rule of charging for parking. Don’t like this trend of feeling I am being nickeled and dimed to death.
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: aaronb Review Date: 09/27/2018

Rating: (8) Would Recommend:

Great place with lots of options

Pros:

The ability to do almost anything Disney related and not have to drive everywhere.

Cons:

Lots of walking if you do not have a bike or rent a golfcart. Bus stops are are small walk and in the summer miserable to wait at.
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: Anonymous Review Date: 09/27/2018

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

My husband and I took our daughter and her boyfriend to WDW for a week following college graduation. The cabins at Fort Wilderness were perfect for 4 adults. We had plenty of room in the cabin without tripping over each other. The full kitchen came in very handy on those early entrance to the parks. Took our dirty laundry by golf cart to the laundry mat, clean, well lit and all washers and dryers worked. Very nice not to have a suit case full of dirty clothes when we got home. Lots of fun and free amenities for the young and young at heart.

Pros:

Large resort and not right on top of neighbors. Rented a golf cart, and what a fun way to get around the resort. Mouse Keeping always had our cabin looking fabulous - funny how college graduates looked forward to the clean towels in fun animal shapes!!! Hands down, this is our absolute favorite resort!!!!

Cons:

Our back porch light did not work. Bus home from Disney Springs took about 40 minutes to arrive.
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: volleyfrog119 Review Date: 03/21/2017

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

We stayed at the Fort MLK weekend 2017. Wow what a huge place! We had a little mix up at check in but it had to do with our reservation being booked twice. Our Travel agent worked that out. We got right in to site 414. It was nice and close to the boat launch and all the restaurants and store. Everything else was just a golf cart ride away. We brought our own cart. Nice golf cart paths and parking everywhere. Enjoyed Chip N Dale sing a long on our first night. Nice little arcade for my son and husband at Pioneer Hall. The buses ran smoothly to and from the parks. The boat launch also ran great. The boat launch staff were very friendly. Enjoyed other activities on site like the fireworks and the electric water pageant. The comfort stations were very clean and so was the rest of the park. Nice modern trash receptacles. Friendly folks, we WILL be back again!!

Pros:

nice and quiet, big lots, boat launch to Magic Kingdom

Cons:

nothing negative
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: mickeymom5 Review Date: 09/12/2015

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

We stayed here August 12-16, 2015. We had a wonderful stay! We had a premium site located on the loop behind the Meadow Trading Post bus stop...so all we had to do to get to the Meadow Trading Post was walk across the street. Our site was very convenient to the store, bus stop, swimming pool, and campfire. We loved the campfire and the swimming pool. We also loved walking around Tri-Circle D Ranch. The horses were beautiful to watch and we got to watch the ironsmith fit one with a new shoe! The boat ride to MK was the best! We also loved watching the MK fireworks from the beach. They pipe the music in! Our family was kind enough to let us use their golf cart. A golf cart is a must if you stay here! Everything is really spread out, as a campground should be! I can't emphasized enough how clean everything was! The comfort station was spotless! The paths were well maintained and clean! The two negatives are there is no quick service restaurant and the buses seemed slow leaving Ft. Wilderness and coming back from the parks and Downtown Disney. We stayed with our extended family in their camper. I am more of a "resort" kinda gal, but after our stay I would love to own a camper and claim a spot at Fort Wilderness!

Pros:

Cleanliness, activities, boat ride to MK

Cons:

no QS
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: vkreed56 Review Date: 05/05/2015

Rating: (8) Would Recommend:

Just got back from 8 nights at Fort Wilderness; have stayed at many Disney resorts, but this was the first time here. All in all, it was a good experience - the campground is immaculately maintained, and we found it to be very quiet almost all of the time since folks are out at the parks instead of hanging out at their sites "camping". Lots of activities to do, and plenty of nature to see.

Only real downside was there is really no true quick-service restaurant; the snack bar at the pool doesn't offer much, and Trails End only serves full table service meals. Several times we ended up catching a boat over to the Roaring Fork at Wilderness Lodge where they offered quick service meals.

We rented a golf cart for the week which was a lot of fun, and very helpful in getting around instead of waiting for the internal buses. Like everything, it was expensive, and we were disappointed they didn't offer a slightly discounted rate for an entire week's rental vs the daily rate, but it ended up being well worth it in the long run.

So all in all a good experience, and we will be back.

Pros:

Clean, well-maintained, quiet, beautiful

Cons:

transportation not the best, restaurants somewhat lacking
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments

Reviewer: abayes Review Date: 01/06/2015

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

We recently stayed at Fort Wilderness with my family and it was fantastic. We almost always stay here and it never fails to live up to Disney standards. If you are looking for a great campground with plenty of things to do then don't wait to book. It is without a doubt the nicest campground you will ever stay at. The transportation isn't a big deal to me as I am a very patient person so I didn't mind the bus and boat wait. The hospitality of the staff is also superb and is every bit as good as the main resort staff.

Pros:

Cleanliness, Things To Do,

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?
0 Comments
1 2