Reviews of Flying Fish



The Flying Fish reopened from a major rehab on August 3, 2016. http://allears.net/dining/location/flying-fish

Reviews:

8

Average Rating:

6.50

Would Recommend:

63%

Reviewer: elainep Review Date: 09/15/2018

Rating: (6) Would Recommend:

I hadn’t dined at Flying Fish since the remodel, so I was long overdue for a visit. I was dining alone, checked in shortly before my 7:05 ADR time on Sunday, July 1st, and was seated at a table for 2 within minutes. My server was Izzy who had a great personality and was very knowledgeable about the menu. I ordered a glass of chardonnay, the seasonal salad and the sea bass. The wine was good, the salad was tasty and the sea bass was OK--the sauce tasted pretty much the same as what used to be served with the potato-wrapped snapper at the “old” Flying Fish and the side of leeks was similar as well. I should’ve asked that my fish be prepared more well done—my error. Overall, the meal made me wish that the old Flying Fish was still there. I was hoping to be impressed, but almost $80 later (with my Tables in Wonderland discount plus a little extra for my wonderful server), I kind of felt let down. I don’t think I’ll go back anytime soon, which is very disappointing to me—Flying Fish used to be a great “go to” spot on the Boardwalk.

Pros:

Food was good, but not great

Cons:

Wished I was back at the "old" Flying Fish

Reviewer: Silvia Bearly Review Date: 01/09/2018

Rating: (7) Would Recommend:

We were so disappointed with the service here in November, I have to write this review. Flying Fish has been on our must-do list ever since 2007. The food has always been superb and so was the service. And for the price, that's what we expect.

Last November, ALL of the ladies at the front desk were extremely difficult to understand and they had a hard time understanding us.
We were seated in the main dining room and then we waited, and waited, and waited until finally, after about 10 minutes, our server was surprised to see us. He greeted us - "still chewing the dinner he just had in the kitchen" [sic]
The service did not get any better.
The menu seemed somewhat pared down and some of our new favorites had disappeared.

As for the new decor, it sort of does not fit into the beach-y, light, Jersey shore theme. It's awfully stiff and formal.

Going there again this coming March, because the food is very good, hoping to get better service

Pros:

the food

Cons:

service, smaller menu, decor

Reviewer: SharW Review Date: 11/16/2017

Rating: (6) Would Recommend:

Ate here in mid October. Very limited on menu items. Service was great and the renovated interior was beautiful - much better than before.

Pros:

Great service

Cons:

Limited menu

Reviewer: resjudacat Review Date: 11/10/2017

Rating: (1) Would Recommend:

A friend of mine and I had dinner here about three weeks ago. Our appetizers were fine. She ordered the halibut special and I ordered the swordfish steak special. Both were served on a bed of vegetables, which were good. The problem is the portions of fish were more like a snack! They were only about 4 bites big! This place is way too expensive for what you get. There are much better places that give you your money's worth and don't leave you hungry.

Pros:

atmosphere

Cons:

Snack portions only....VERY expensife for what you get

Reviewer: sand935 Review Date: 04/23/2017

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

We go to Disney World once a month all winter (live in Wisc).
Everytime we go we make sure we eat at Flying Fish.
My husband usually orders the salmon, he says the fish and what is served with it is one of the best salmon combination he has ever had.
I am trying to work through the menu, so far I have tried the steak, bison, sea bass with prawns, and a few of the sustainable fish; all have been exceptional.
The combination of veg. with the sustainable fish is my favorite.
The combinations that Chef Tim comes up with are so tasty. I rarely clean my plate but I always do here.
DiDi has been our server most of the times we are here and have not have better service anywhere else. He is the best.

Pros:

great service outstanding food

Cons:

none

Reviewer: mharder Review Date: 03/06/2017

Rating: (3) Would Recommend:

We ate at the Flying Fish on March 1, 2017. It was our fourth time there, but the first since the renovation. We had high expectations, but I'm sorry to say we left very disappointed. On a positive note, the food was excellent and we very much liked the new look. However, my wife and I both thought the menu didn't offer as much variety as in past visits and was more limited. I was disappointed by the wine list. Lots of bottles from California in the $50-100 range, but very few French wines and I think only one white wine over $100. I would have gladly paid more for something different and that I was confident would be of good quality and pair well with our meal, but I could not find anything. Our waitperson was no help in finding a good wine and seemed to lack any meaningful knowledge, and did not offer to find the sommelier to assist. Our waitperson also was not particularly attentive. The dessert menu left us so uninspired, we skipped dessert, which is rare for us. Overall, it was quite the contrast from California Grill, where we had a wonderful meal two nights earlier. Sadly, we will skip Flying Fish on our next trip and probably a trip or two after.

Pros:

Food was excellent, new look is refined and polished

Cons:

Menu, wine list, service, expensive

Reviewer: Collette Review Date: 01/01/2017

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

The new decor is gorgeous; much nicer than it was. It was a lot of fun to try the new wine system, where you can try several wines in whatever size pour you'd like (one-ounce, three-ounce, etc). Both appetizers we had were great—a rare tuna on watermelon, and a stone-fruit salad. The main courses were exceptional—the filet mignon was perfectly cooked and accompanied by a really nice concoction of vegetables; the bison strip steak was even better, though the ancient grains accompaniment wasn't as nice as the veggies with the beef. The lemon and blueberry cheesecake was very good, the napoleon was very beautiful and also good. The only thing that really bothered me was paying $7.50 for a pot of tea afterwards! The desserts were only $9 and $10 each, so the tea seemed a little out of proportion. This is the first time we've experienced an "apathetic" server, due to knowing we were on Tables in Wonderland, perhaps? Or maybe it was just due to the tiring week of Christmas.

Pros:

excellent food

Cons:

extremely expensive

Reviewer: justme33040 Review Date: 08/09/2016

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

I heard Flying Fish was finally re-opened after 7 months. New décor, new Menu. As it had been a favorite we decided to invite Mom and her friend to join us. After viewing the new menu and the prices, we decided to order several appetizers and a soup. WE all chose the Blue Crab Bisque. there was plenty of lump crab meat in the huge bowls. The server has also added the sherry right there at the table so you could tell him, none, just a little, or go ahead and pour. Hubby went with none, I let him just pour. the appetizers were all nice sized portions. I often make my dinner out of appetizers and a salad or soup, so I was surprised at the regular sized dinner plates that the appetizers were plated on. Hubby decided to order the regular Wagyu beef filet for his meal. he always orders medium rare plus- or on the medium side of medium rare. he alsa asked to switch the Bordelaise sauce for a garlic butter sauce. The beef appeared more rare than he would usually eat it, but he took a bite and said it was perfect. I believe the wagyu is more red, it was so tender it just melted. yes the filet was large enough, he gave everyone a bite to try. we asked the server to recommend a dessert to share, she suggested the "Under the Sea". It was 3 hills of Chocolate mousse, along with toffee that looked like coral fans. it was very rich and perfect sized for 4 to each have several bites. All of us very much enjoyed our meal, and we will be back, just not as often as we went to the "Old Flying Fish" due to the higher price point. The DO also still take the Tables in Wonderland Discount card...So that is a plus !

Pros:

beautiful decor, very upscale,and quieter than the dining room used to be.

Cons:

price