Reviews of Flying Fish Cafe

Reviews

16

Rating

7.75 / 10

Recommended By

81%



Full Service Dinner Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/flying-fish/dinner

Child's Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/flying-fish/child-dinner

Flying Fish Photo Gallery: http://allears.net/din/ffish.htm

AllEars® Review: http://allears.net/ae/issue438.htm

Flying Fish Blog Review:
http://land.allears.net/blogs/debwills/2012/04/you_dont_need_to_love_seafood_1.html

Reviewed by nrymut Review Date: 01/17/2016

Rating: (10)
Recommended

It has been a long time since we ate here as our last experience at the Flying Fish Cafe was not good. So glad we decided to eat here before it closes. Our server Chris was excellent. We started our meal with the cheddar soup and the beet salad. Both were excellent. I had the scallops and they were cooked perfectly. My husband had salmon and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Pros:

Excellent food and service

Cons:

Closing for refurbishment
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by caltex Review Date: 05/24/2015

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Editor's note: this review is regarding the Flying Fish Chef's Tasting Wine Dinner.

If you are considering such an extravagant treat I say do it. The service, food, and wine were outstanding. You will get 5 dishes each paired with a wine. One person will describe the wine and a kitchen staff member will describe the dish. Throughout the event you will be able to converse with your table mates (up to 6 people on the table) as well as with Chef Ryan who cooks directly in front of you. Expect to spend a couple of hours at the establishment, but the time flies by. It's serious money, but it is well worth it!

Pros:

Chef's Tasting Wine Dinner

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mharder Review Date: 02/07/2015

Rating: (10)
Recommended

My wife and I had dinner here on January 25. It was our first visit. We love checking out new restaurants around the World, especially the signature dining places.

We thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend to anyone looking for a great dinner.

I had heard about the theming. My first reaction was that the theming was more subtle than I expected; I thought it would be more colorful and more "in your face." However, as the evening progressed and I looked more closely at the decor, I was more impressed with it.

After a day at Epcot, one thing we appreciated was the relatively quiet of the restaurant. There were not a lot of small children, and we noticed that most of the other guests were middle aged individuals who did not seem to be traveling with kids.

My wife had the scallops and thought they were great. I ordered mussels as an appetizer, and it could have been a meal by itself. I would definitely suggest planning to split it. My entre was the Mahi Mahi and it was quite good, although after seeing my wife's scallops, I wished I had ordered it too.

It's definitely a place to which we will return!

Pros:

Food! Atmosphere

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by aknlw2003 Review Date: 05/15/2014

Rating: (10)
Recommended

The Flying Fish is a consistently great restaurant in my opinion. I started with the cheese tray, which was amazing! I had the tuna entree which was delicious and fresh. I loved that the kids menu included veggies and fish. My kids loved it! We snuck into the bar in the Boardwalk Hotel while we were waiting, and afterwards enjoyed the magician's show on the Boardwalk. Overall a fantastic experience!

Pros:

Delicious fish and great kids menu

Cons:

None!
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Ebersole2 Review Date: 08/11/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

The Flying Fish

For a romantic, delicious meal, please try The Flying Fish. The beef and red snapper were divine and the portions were incredibly generous. Our waitress noted we were honeymooning and brought us a decadent, blueberry crème Brule on the house! That is what Disney does well, the unexpected little items to make one feel extra special.

Pros:

the portions were incredibly generous

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by cappy7651 Review Date: 05/17/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

WOW!!!! WHAT CAN I SAY THE FOOD HERE IS AMAZING. THE MUSSELS IN THE GREEN SAUCE IS A (MUST)! YOU WILL LICK THE BOWL AT THE END I KNOW I DO. MY FAMILY AND I GO HERE EVERY YEAR. WE ALWAYS MAKE IT A POINT TO BOOK A RESERVATION WHEN WE COME HERE. IF YOU LIKE SEAFOOD, YOU WILL LOVE IT. ALSO FOR THE MAIN COURSE, YOU MUST HAVE THE SNAPPER WRAPPED IN A THIN POTATO SHELL. THEY WRAP IT IN THIS SLICES OF POTATO.

Pros:

FOOS IS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cons:

NONE
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by masonmj84 Review Date: 03/21/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We've eaten here twice in the past year or so and have had excellent food and service both times.

The first time, I had the snapper, which was out of this world (even the leek fondue served with it was delicious).

The second time, I had the steak and snapper combo, which was equally as excellent (had a hard time deciding between this and just the snapper).

Sevice was spot on both times.

We've eaten at most of the signature restuarants on the dining plan and believe this is one of the 3 or 4 best.

Pros:

food and service

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mgilmore Review Date: 03/21/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

I dined here during my recent 7 day trip on March 6th. I was really looking forward to trying FF for the first time and it did NOT disappoint.

Since I was a single diner, I requested to sit at the long table in front of the open stage kitchen. My request was honored.

Service was impeccable here. My server was a very experienced gentleman. From start to finish, I was treated very well. I was presented with a personalized menu (I was celebrating my birthday).

He took the time to go through the entire menu, and make recommendations. My server was very good at his job. I was very pleased. A bread service was presented while I waited for my appetizer.

I chose the signature appetizer of Jonah crabcake and Ceasar salad. Delicious. For my entree I chose the Duo Filet & Potato wrapped Snapper. Everything was cooked to perfection, and the flavors were fantastic. I ordered a pear Martini to go with my entree. It was good albeit a bit strong for my tastes.

The chefs cooking, often struck up conversations, and were happy to answer questions. I was surprised when the Chef de Cuisine stopped over to wish me a Happy Birthday.

For dessert I had the Carmelized Banana Napoleon.
I was happy with my choice, it was delicious.
The pacing of my meal was good, it was not rushed at all.

I was overall very happy with my meal and service.

Pros:

Watching & Conversing with Chefs in the open kitchen.

Cons:

None that I experienced.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by TOMT8013 Review Date: 10/23/2015

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We visited the Flying Fish on Thursday 10/15 .
Both had the seared NY strip and as always, fantastic .
Drinks we had 10 + .....
Favorite place in DW ( France restaurant a close second )
Love this place . Were told it's closing for a full renovation early next year . Hope it comes back the same !!

Pros:

Food very good

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by caltex Review Date: 01/08/2016

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We visited Flying Fish Cafe twice during our recent stay. The first visit with my wife was for the Chef's Tasting Wine Dinner which was excellent and highly recommended. I brought my kids along the second time for regular dining. My DW and DD had the NY strip steak and loved it. My DS opted for the filet mignon with dungeness crab and enjoyed it. I ordered the potato wrapped red snapper. The fish was cooked just right and it was great. BTW, if you are thinking of ordering the Entree Duo, it is no longer offered. It was not on the menu and I even asked the server and he said it was not available. We also had the artisanal cheese plate to start with which was quite good. The only downside for both dining experiences was the hostess. We had the same hostess for both visits and found her to be dour and not very friendly.

Pros:

Food

Cons:

Hostess
Did you find this helpful?
1 2

Other topics in Archives