Reviews of Flying Fish Cafe

Reviews

16

Rating

7.75 / 10

Recommended By

81%



Full Service Dinner Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/flying-fish/dinner

Child's Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/flying-fish/child-dinner

Flying Fish Photo Gallery: http://allears.net/din/ffish.htm

AllEars® Review: http://allears.net/ae/issue438.htm

Flying Fish Blog Review:
http://land.allears.net/blogs/debwills/2012/04/you_dont_need_to_love_seafood_1.html

Reviewed by musthavedisney Review Date: 01/28/2013

Rating: (7)
Recommended

Husband & I dined here in early November 2012. The food here was good, no real complaints about that. With a name like "Flying Fish" you'd expect a very large seafood selection and that was not the case. The menu mirrored California Grill so we were a tad bit disappointed we had gone out of our way (from the Polynesian that's a monorail and bus ride) to get here. What we had hoped for was a nice spread of seafood selections. We both had the scallops over risotto, and it was good.. but we had a similar dish the night prior at California Grill.. as I stated the menus were pretty much the same.. save for no sushi offerings.

If you just happen to be staying in the area of Hollywood Studios then this place is a great option to save travel time or can't get a table at California Grill. However if you want seafood, stick with Fulton's in Downtown Disney.

Pros:

Takes Dining Plan (Deluxe)

Cons:

Food just ok, not worrth going out the way
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by waltercox Review Date: 02/02/2013

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

We dined here 2 times this trip. The first time we considered the experience was a 2. A week later we dined there again giving a 2nd chance. Still a 2. Service was poor and food quality was only acceptable. Not to our expectations of a Signature restaurant. Our party of 4 is dry. It seemed to us that after ordering water (both times) it was the kiss of death. Our waiter came to the table and asked if we were ready to order yet. No suggestions or recommendations. The table next to us all ordered alcohol and his helpfulness to them appeared exceptional. The tuna was brought out cold. Fish quality was good, but seared tuna should be served at the right time.

Pros:

Location

Cons:

service
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mgilmore Review Date: 03/21/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

I dined here during my recent 7 day trip on March 6th. I was really looking forward to trying FF for the first time and it did NOT disappoint.

Since I was a single diner, I requested to sit at the long table in front of the open stage kitchen. My request was honored.

Service was impeccable here. My server was a very experienced gentleman. From start to finish, I was treated very well. I was presented with a personalized menu (I was celebrating my birthday).

He took the time to go through the entire menu, and make recommendations. My server was very good at his job. I was very pleased. A bread service was presented while I waited for my appetizer.

I chose the signature appetizer of Jonah crabcake and Ceasar salad. Delicious. For my entree I chose the Duo Filet & Potato wrapped Snapper. Everything was cooked to perfection, and the flavors were fantastic. I ordered a pear Martini to go with my entree. It was good albeit a bit strong for my tastes.

The chefs cooking, often struck up conversations, and were happy to answer questions. I was surprised when the Chef de Cuisine stopped over to wish me a Happy Birthday.

For dessert I had the Carmelized Banana Napoleon.
I was happy with my choice, it was delicious.
The pacing of my meal was good, it was not rushed at all.

I was overall very happy with my meal and service.

Pros:

Watching & Conversing with Chefs in the open kitchen.

Cons:

None that I experienced.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by masonmj84 Review Date: 03/21/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We've eaten here twice in the past year or so and have had excellent food and service both times.

The first time, I had the snapper, which was out of this world (even the leek fondue served with it was delicious).

The second time, I had the steak and snapper combo, which was equally as excellent (had a hard time deciding between this and just the snapper).

Sevice was spot on both times.

We've eaten at most of the signature restuarants on the dining plan and believe this is one of the 3 or 4 best.

Pros:

food and service

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by grandflo89 Review Date: 04/03/2013

Rating: (5)
Recommended

I was at the Flying Fish during February vacation with my wife. It was our second time here. The food was great, the waitstaff was great, however the management allowed a family to have a children's table located about 8 feet from the adult table. I am sure that it was a tase of freedom for the adults who paid little attention to them. But to the adjacent diners, it meant being subject to flying food, children bumping into them, and loud screaming. Does this happen anyway, absolutley. But by allowing the children to have there own table it was intensified quite a bit. I blame the management number one for allowing this.If it hadn't been for the children's table, I would have rated the experience a ten.

Pros:

Fresh,great tasting food

Cons:

Children's table allowed
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by cappy7651 Review Date: 05/17/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

WOW!!!! WHAT CAN I SAY THE FOOD HERE IS AMAZING. THE MUSSELS IN THE GREEN SAUCE IS A (MUST)! YOU WILL LICK THE BOWL AT THE END I KNOW I DO. MY FAMILY AND I GO HERE EVERY YEAR. WE ALWAYS MAKE IT A POINT TO BOOK A RESERVATION WHEN WE COME HERE. IF YOU LIKE SEAFOOD, YOU WILL LOVE IT. ALSO FOR THE MAIN COURSE, YOU MUST HAVE THE SNAPPER WRAPPED IN A THIN POTATO SHELL. THEY WRAP IT IN THIS SLICES OF POTATO.

Pros:

FOOS IS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cons:

NONE
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Ebersole2 Review Date: 08/11/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

The Flying Fish

For a romantic, delicious meal, please try The Flying Fish. The beef and red snapper were divine and the portions were incredibly generous. Our waitress noted we were honeymooning and brought us a decadent, blueberry crème Brule on the house! That is what Disney does well, the unexpected little items to make one feel extra special.

Pros:

the portions were incredibly generous

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by AndyE Review Date: 09/28/2013

Rating: (6)
Recommended

Dined here on Friday 27th September. Our server was in our opinion a little bit to quick for our liking, we were seated and our server asked if we were ready to order (we didn't even have a chance to order our drinks). I felt that I had to slow the server down by asking for drinks while we looked over the menu. Al in all the food was amazing, but, slightly ruined by a server who wanted to rush us through. Not sure if we would go back for this very reason.

Pros:

Location, Quality of food

Cons:

Service
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Kurt Jensen Review Date: 10/12/2013

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

Last year we loved this place. This year was a disappointment. As soon as we ordered the wine flights the waiter could care less about us. Service was OK at best, but another waiter at the next station filled our empty water glasses. The signature potato wrapped fish was a big letdown. The leeks were tough, and the potato wrapping around the fish was both tough and soggy. Sauces were good though. I thought the entre resembled something you would get on a buffet. The mussel appetizer was great. My wife's scallops were "OK", last year they were great. Don't know what has happened to this once beloved restaurant, but both Artist Point and even Kouzinna are much better.

Pros:

Mussel appetizer

Cons:

Potato wrapped fish
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by aknlw2003 Review Date: 05/15/2014

Rating: (10)
Recommended

The Flying Fish is a consistently great restaurant in my opinion. I started with the cheese tray, which was amazing! I had the tuna entree which was delicious and fresh. I loved that the kids menu included veggies and fish. My kids loved it! We snuck into the bar in the Boardwalk Hotel while we were waiting, and afterwards enjoyed the magician's show on the Boardwalk. Overall a fantastic experience!

Pros:

Delicious fish and great kids menu

Cons:

None!
Did you find this helpful?
1 2

Other topics in Archives