Reviews of Flying Fish Cafe

Reviews

16

Rating

7.75 / 10

Recommended By

81%



Full Service Dinner Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/flying-fish/dinner

Child's Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/flying-fish/child-dinner

Flying Fish Photo Gallery: http://allears.net/din/ffish.htm

AllEars® Review: http://allears.net/ae/issue438.htm

Flying Fish Blog Review:
http://land.allears.net/blogs/debwills/2012/04/you_dont_need_to_love_seafood_1.html

Reviewed by nrymut Review Date: 01/17/2016

Rating: (10)
Recommended

It has been a long time since we ate here as our last experience at the Flying Fish Cafe was not good. So glad we decided to eat here before it closes. Our server Chris was excellent. We started our meal with the cheddar soup and the beet salad. Both were excellent. I had the scallops and they were cooked perfectly. My husband had salmon and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Pros:

Excellent food and service

Cons:

Closing for refurbishment
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by caltex Review Date: 01/08/2016

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We visited Flying Fish Cafe twice during our recent stay. The first visit with my wife was for the Chef's Tasting Wine Dinner which was excellent and highly recommended. I brought my kids along the second time for regular dining. My DW and DD had the NY strip steak and loved it. My DS opted for the filet mignon with dungeness crab and enjoyed it. I ordered the potato wrapped red snapper. The fish was cooked just right and it was great. BTW, if you are thinking of ordering the Entree Duo, it is no longer offered. It was not on the menu and I even asked the server and he said it was not available. We also had the artisanal cheese plate to start with which was quite good. The only downside for both dining experiences was the hostess. We had the same hostess for both visits and found her to be dour and not very friendly.

Pros:

Food

Cons:

Hostess
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by TOMT8013 Review Date: 10/23/2015

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We visited the Flying Fish on Thursday 10/15 .
Both had the seared NY strip and as always, fantastic .
Drinks we had 10 + .....
Favorite place in DW ( France restaurant a close second )
Love this place . Were told it's closing for a full renovation early next year . Hope it comes back the same !!

Pros:

Food very good

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by pamonswa Review Date: 06/22/2015

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

I have been to Flying on several occasions in the past. It was usually outstanding. However, yesterday (6/21/15), I was extremely disappointed in the quality of the food. The salmon was overcooked to the point of being rubbery. My companion had the Chef's Thunder fish special and it was just average. He also had the creme brulee for dessert which was sub-par at best. While the service was meticulous and impressive, the over-priced and below average food will prevent me from returning anytime soon. I can only hope that the Flying Fish will one day return to high quality of years past.

Pros:

Superior service

Cons:

Below average food; over priced
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by caltex Review Date: 05/24/2015

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Editor's note: this review is regarding the Flying Fish Chef's Tasting Wine Dinner.

If you are considering such an extravagant treat I say do it. The service, food, and wine were outstanding. You will get 5 dishes each paired with a wine. One person will describe the wine and a kitchen staff member will describe the dish. Throughout the event you will be able to converse with your table mates (up to 6 people on the table) as well as with Chef Ryan who cooks directly in front of you. Expect to spend a couple of hours at the establishment, but the time flies by. It's serious money, but it is well worth it!

Pros:

Chef's Tasting Wine Dinner

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mharder Review Date: 02/07/2015

Rating: (10)
Recommended

My wife and I had dinner here on January 25. It was our first visit. We love checking out new restaurants around the World, especially the signature dining places.

We thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend to anyone looking for a great dinner.

I had heard about the theming. My first reaction was that the theming was more subtle than I expected; I thought it would be more colorful and more "in your face." However, as the evening progressed and I looked more closely at the decor, I was more impressed with it.

After a day at Epcot, one thing we appreciated was the relatively quiet of the restaurant. There were not a lot of small children, and we noticed that most of the other guests were middle aged individuals who did not seem to be traveling with kids.

My wife had the scallops and thought they were great. I ordered mussels as an appetizer, and it could have been a meal by itself. I would definitely suggest planning to split it. My entre was the Mahi Mahi and it was quite good, although after seeing my wife's scallops, I wished I had ordered it too.

It's definitely a place to which we will return!

Pros:

Food! Atmosphere

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by aknlw2003 Review Date: 05/15/2014

Rating: (10)
Recommended

The Flying Fish is a consistently great restaurant in my opinion. I started with the cheese tray, which was amazing! I had the tuna entree which was delicious and fresh. I loved that the kids menu included veggies and fish. My kids loved it! We snuck into the bar in the Boardwalk Hotel while we were waiting, and afterwards enjoyed the magician's show on the Boardwalk. Overall a fantastic experience!

Pros:

Delicious fish and great kids menu

Cons:

None!
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Kurt Jensen Review Date: 10/12/2013

Rating: (4)
Not Recommended

Last year we loved this place. This year was a disappointment. As soon as we ordered the wine flights the waiter could care less about us. Service was OK at best, but another waiter at the next station filled our empty water glasses. The signature potato wrapped fish was a big letdown. The leeks were tough, and the potato wrapping around the fish was both tough and soggy. Sauces were good though. I thought the entre resembled something you would get on a buffet. The mussel appetizer was great. My wife's scallops were "OK", last year they were great. Don't know what has happened to this once beloved restaurant, but both Artist Point and even Kouzinna are much better.

Pros:

Mussel appetizer

Cons:

Potato wrapped fish
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by AndyE Review Date: 09/28/2013

Rating: (6)
Recommended

Dined here on Friday 27th September. Our server was in our opinion a little bit to quick for our liking, we were seated and our server asked if we were ready to order (we didn't even have a chance to order our drinks). I felt that I had to slow the server down by asking for drinks while we looked over the menu. Al in all the food was amazing, but, slightly ruined by a server who wanted to rush us through. Not sure if we would go back for this very reason.

Pros:

Location, Quality of food

Cons:

Service
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Ebersole2 Review Date: 08/11/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

The Flying Fish

For a romantic, delicious meal, please try The Flying Fish. The beef and red snapper were divine and the portions were incredibly generous. Our waitress noted we were honeymooning and brought us a decadent, blueberry crème Brule on the house! That is what Disney does well, the unexpected little items to make one feel extra special.

Pros:

the portions were incredibly generous

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?
1 2

Other topics in Archives