Reviews of Fairfax Fare

Reviews

16

Rating

6.50 / 10

Recommended By

81%



View Menus at Fairfax Fare Dining Location

Lunch/Dinner Menu

Cuisines: Mexican, American
Read more about Fairfax Fare including links to menus here: http://allears.net/dining/location/fairfax-fare

Service - limited breakfast and full lunch and dinner.

Reviewed by cmoranski Review Date: 11/21/2015

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Due to construction, it was the only choice between that and the turkey leg stand. Everything had either barbeque sauce or chili on it. Although I knew better, I ordered the bacon cheeseburger,the only option. Ice cold, left funny aftertaste. Whoever orders hamburger product for the studios food service has never tasted it. Homemade potato chips were tooth breaking hard. You order at window, turn around and try to get into pickup line two feet away. Very confusing to who is in what line. The cast member were the best part of lunch

Pros:

Friendly cast members

Cons:

Everything else
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by tgsmithsr Review Date: 08/27/2016

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

I ate here a couple of years ago when it first opened, and I had a barbecue slaw dog that was excellent. So I was looking forward to having another one when I went back again last week and braved the outdoor seating. The temperature that evening was still over 90 degrees, even at dusk when we went to eat, so that was no small matter. Unfortunately, FF no longer serves the BBQ slaw dog, but having made the trek down there, we went ahead and each ordered a chili cheese dog. The dog itself was awesome, weighing about a pound, but the chili was greasy and mediocre and the bun was stale. We wound up just eating the dog. Even if they get some indoor seating with A/C, I don't think we'll be going back. Note: the BBQ slaw dog migrated to Casey's in the MK, and I HIGHLY recommend that.

Pros:

1 lb. hot dog

Cons:

Chili, bun, outdoor seating with no A/C
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Jojo47 Review Date: 01/17/2013

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

I just wanted a plain hot dog which is not listed on the menu so neither was the price. A plain hot dog with a bag of chips was $7.00. The hot dog was cold the bun was dry. Very disappointed. Also the veggie burger from adjoining counter although you received a large portion of fries, was dry and odd tasting. Again for the price disappointing. My daughter said the regular hamburger was good and satisfying.

Pros:

Plenty of seating. Nice atmosphere.

Cons:

Not worth the cost
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Dfan79 Review Date: 05/22/2014

Rating: (5)
Recommended

I wanted to go to Toluca’s to get a Turkey Leg on my 2nd day, but it was closed. Luckily for me it said on a sign in one of the windows that I could get one at Fairfax Faire. This is of course another Kiosk that’s also in the Sunset Ranch area adjacent to Sunset Boulevard. Fairfax was only a short distance away from Toluca so I didn‘t mind walking over to it. I went right when lunch began at 11 am so the line wasn’t that long at all. In fact there was only one small family in front of me bickering back and forth.

I’ve been hearing for years how great the Turkey Legs are on Disney Specials, Documentaries and Youtube Videos. Its gotten so famous that they even have Turkey Leg T-shirts in some of the stores. So I was very excited to finally get my a chance to bite into one. I knew after the first bite though that it wasn’t that good. I’m not sure if I built it up too much beforehand, but I was really disappointed by it. People have acted like it is a drug that they’d sell their first born for, but I truthfully wouldn’t even want to try it again. I’ll be kind and say it was OK, it was juicy and spiced nice. It was just nothing to write home about. Plus strangely the leg tasted more like Ham than Turkey. I love Ham, but it wasn’t what I expected when I bit into it. I had to look at it a few times to make sure it wasn’t Ham. Even by sight though I couldn’t tell, it was all pink inside of it just like a Ham.

With my meal I got the premade Chocolate Cake, but I’ve heard that others have been lucky enough to get a Specialty Cupcake here. I wasn’t as fortunate though and was stuck with the same old cake that they serve everywhere. They must have a factory full of these and the Carrot Cakes.

There’s plenty of outdoor seating in the area in back of the Fairfax and Turkey Leg kiosks, but they are outside in the florida heat. One good thing about the seating area though was that we had it all to ourselves. It’s like many people didn’t even know it was there. Either that or they decided to eat at one of the much better indoor Counter Services.

Pros:

OK turkey leg, Plenty of seating

Cons:

Overhyped turkey leg, Outdoor Seating
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by bosslady79 Review Date: 04/03/2014

Rating: (5)
Recommended

Was disappointed they were out of chicken. For price, hot dog was small, and not filling for DD 10 ordering off of adult menu. Ate here 3-25

Pros:

Good food,

Cons:

small portion, out of chicken
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by nick6300 Review Date: 09/11/2014

Rating: (6)
Recommended

This has been rated the worst quick service at HS by Allears members primarily for the long waiting, ordering system, and partially due to food quality. On 9/6 we ordered the chicken/ribs which comes with beans/slaw at 130, right after a 1pm Beauty show. The confusing ordering system that was mentioned in other reviews was nonexistent. We ordered directly at the counter as you would expect, and no one was line! Maybe they do the weird ordering system during peak season, I'm not sure. We got our food immediately, because like other Disney quick service, they ramped up orders in anticipation of lunch crowds. I'm one of the least picky eaters I know, and I eat just about anything. So a 6 rating from me is reflective that the meal was edible, but that I probably would pick just about any quick service at HS over this one. The chicken/ribs, while not bad, was far from what you'd find at an average sit-down restaurant (think a notch below Applebee's). The ribs weren't super tender but still tasty, the chicken was alright. You can get packaged BBQ sauce but there was enough on the meat. The very small sides of beans and slaw were ok, not great. The meal was luke warm from sitting out. You can get the banana pudding with wafers or vanillia cake with custard. We got the latter, and it was a mistake. It came in a small 4 in deep jar, half filled, but it had gone bad from being old. anyway. I think if you paid for this meal outside the dining plan it's around $16, which I'd much rather get the burger at Rosie's next door, and we didn't order a single burger during the entire 8 day trip.

Pros:

Ribs, along w/ Sunset Blvd restaurants: open the latest

Cons:

limited desserts
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by HOBBES Review Date: 10/31/2013

Rating: (6)
Recommended

Needed something quick at brekkie to tide us over until lunch at Sci-Fi. We walked past and thought why not, as there was no line and plenty of tables. It was adequate-we had the sausage and egg mcmuffin, sorry egg and cheese MUFFIN with sausage.... It wasn't bad just unmemorable.

Pros:

cheap and quick

Cons:

a mcmuffin at three times the price!
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by disfam4 Review Date: 09/27/2018

Rating: (7)
Recommended

Menu has changed to a Mexican theme since the last time we ate here. I had the layered rice bowl. My husband had the empanada platter. Both tasted fine but nothing spectacular. Serving size was adequate. Seating is horrible as it serves three other counter service locations. The service was really slow getting the food.

Pros:

Decent food, diverse chiice

Cons:

Crowded seating area
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by MWS Review Date: 01/07/2014

Rating: (7)
Recommended

This is a nice choice if you want something a little different than burgers or chicken fingers while at DHS. I had the chicken platter with baked beans and cole slaw. The beans and cole slaw were tasty but the chicken was a little dry, but don’t worry there are several different toppings at the condiment station to spice up the flavor.
The star of the show was the seasonal gingerbread cupcake with cream cheese icing, it was one of the best desserts we had on our trip. It’s more of a spice cake then gingerbread, but the cream cheese icing was awesome!

Pros:

Seasonal cupcake

Cons:

seating
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by michellemiller1012 Review Date: 06/17/2019

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Convenient, fast counter service restaurant to get some Tex-mex. It’s conveniently located near ToT and Rock n Roller Coaster. The food is nothing special, and it’s a little on the pricier side for a quick-service meal. A cast member there did give us a free cupcake because we had buttons on celebrating our engagement!

Pros:

Location, cast member experience.

Cons:

Price
Did you find this helpful?
1 2

Other topics in Disney's Hollywood Studios