Reviews of Disney Transportation Boat, Monorail, Bus



http://allears.net/pl/transveh.htm

Reviews:

32

Average Rating:

6.56

Would Recommend:

94%

Reviewer: DeanMoriarity Review Date: 02/26/2018

Rating: (5) Would Recommend:

Disney is trying, and I have seen improvements. Monitors are now installed to let you know when to expect the next bus, and resorts don’t double up they way they used to. This is all good and I have had less time waiting for a bus, and quicker transit times. But Disney construction is never ending and there are always more people trying to get to more places. The roads are very congested and what should be a 5-10 minute ride can take 30-45 minutes. The whole resorts is getting a very urban feel to it and the #1 complaint from most guests is transportation. So what should be done?

Not adding more busses. Disney should try to encourage guest to not use a motor vehicle if at all possible. The monorail is a good idea that should be expanded. Having a southern monorail that goes from animal kingdom to Disney springs would do a lot to alleviate the traffic problem. Disney has already cried about the cost of a monorail, but seeing all the construction going on and seeing how many guests stay at their resorts I find it hard to believe money is short. Make a new transportation center where the southern and northern monorails meet to make it possible for most resort guests to be able to choose bus or monorail to any park. The solution should be to reduce the amount of vehicles on the roads. Not build more roads, not add lanes, and not make more parking garages. Here “if you build it they will come” is as true a statement as could be.

Pros:

No need to rent a car

Cons:

Whole system needs to be oerhauled

Reviewer: debg32 Review Date: 06/23/2017

Rating: (7) Would Recommend:

The system is good but could use some adjustments. We vacationed here in May, staying at the Boardwalk Villas. We were thrilled to hear before we left that they now have buses strictly for the Boardwalk and you no longer have to share with the Swan and Dolphin resorts. That is not completely true. Depending on where you are going or coming from, you still have to share with the Swan and Dolphin. So it can take up to 2 hours to get back to the resort. The other complaint is with the water parks. 2 years ago when we were there, Animal Kingdom shared a bus with Blizzard Beach and Downtown Disney shared with Typhoon Lagoon. Now, for Blizzard Beach you have to take a bus to Animal Kingdom and switch buses and then do the same on the return. It makes no sense since they have to pass Blizzard Beach to get to and from Animal Kingdom. The same for Typhoon Lagoon. You have to take a bus to Disney Springs and switch. Why don't they just have buses that run between the 2 water parks??? I know a lot of people leaving AK or DS don't want to sit on wet seats.

Pros:

Not needing a car

Cons:

Not consistant

Reviewer: MM from Connecticut Review Date: 06/09/2017

Rating: (8) Would Recommend:

We had great bus service this past trip (May 2017). Need to add extra buses to the park closing times, and monitor screen with approx. arrival times at parks would be beneficial.

Pros:

Monitors with arrival times at hotel bus stops

Cons:

Need Monitors with arrival times at parks

Reviewer: Swin1989 Review Date: 04/30/2017

Rating: (8) Would Recommend:

We stayed at All Star Movies February 27-March 10, 2017. Most of the time the buses were excellent. It seems the only problems occurred with buses to and from Epcot. One day in the afternoon when heading back to our resort, from the time we got in line at Epcot to the time we arrived at our resort, was 2 hours!!! The line was so long not everyone got on the first bus. Plus the bus was shared with ASS and ASMu. These resorts are too busy to share buses. Another time we waited in the morning for over an hour for a bus. The third time was heading back early evening for dinner reservations. We ended up being 15-20 minutes late but got lucky and was seated anyway. Not sure if this is normal for this resort or not but it's a big reason why we won't stay there again.

Pros:

convenience

Cons:

Reviewer: bethocindigo Review Date: 10/20/2016

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

Our family REALLY enjoys this feature of our Disney Resort Hotel stay. It saves us the $17 car parking lot fee and is so enjoyable when you're exhausted from extreme walking/ people navigating through the parks all DAY long.

We found almost every other rider was most friendly, concientious, and on their most polite behavior.

One brand new feature which has been added into this complimentary service is that now at the bus stops, there are digital monitors which tell you the time that each bus is to arrive for the different park destinations. WOW! Now you know almost to the minute EXACTLY how long you will be waiting at the stop for the bus to arrive.

This service is ALSO a god-send for those days when we found that there were MORE people in the park (especially Fantasy-land) than we could possibly have expected. Both my son and I were DONE with the heat and the crowds. A great feature of staying at a WDW resort is that you can simply walk to the exit of the park, walk down a short walkway, get on the bus when it arrives, and let THEM drive you back to your resort where you can get into the pool, or hot tub and just relax/ unwind for a few hours or even nap. Then after awhile, you can just wait to hop back on the bus and come back to your park rested, refreshed, and ready to enjoy the cool evening hours and much-diminished crowds very late into the night.

The resort buses to and from the parks are one of our family's FAVORITE complimentary features of our WDW vacation stay.

Pros:

letting someone else do the driving/ saves the $17 parking lot fee

Cons:

longer waits and crowds at night

Reviewer: featheredbuddy Review Date: 09/29/2016

Rating: (7) Would Recommend:

Wait times getting to the parks were ok. Wait times coming back from parks were horrible.

Pros:

Cons:

Reviewer: Warner Review Date: 05/19/2016

Rating: (7) Would Recommend:

Disney Transportation can be very good, or VERY bad. At times it's fabulous, like when you walk up and your bus pulls straight up. Or it can be a miserable 30 minute line. Those are not fun, especially after a long day at the park. However, after being at the park all day, it's nice to, "Sit back, relax and let us [The Disney transport] do the driving!"

Pros:

No driving!

Cons:

Sometimes slow

Reviewer: DianeinNM Review Date: 12/26/2015

Rating: (7) Would Recommend:

The best part of Disney transportation is that I don't have to drive at all.

Bus transport is slow. It will arrive when it arrives and if there is space you will get a ride. Otherwise, repeat. Sometimes fellow travelers are pleasant and sweeten the ride, but no one sweetens the wait.

Boat transport is similar. Previously, we've loved the commentary and interactivity on the boats to the resorts, but found on this trip that commentary on the boats was limited to the required safety announcements. No Disney trivia. No tour guide pointers. Nothing.

Pros:

no driving needed

Cons:

dull, slow, unreliable

Reviewer: mawdryn Review Date: 06/29/2015

Rating: (4) Would Recommend:

I have taken Disney transportation too many times to count. Unfortunately, I have never found it to be very reliable. My most recent stay in Disney was June 6th to 12th. We stayed at POR and POFQ. The monorails were fine, no issues. However, the buses had very long wait times and were extremely crowded. I don't understand how it can be safe to horde guests into these buses like sardines. Twice, while waiting for buses to Epcot and AK, we left the bus stop (after waits close to a half hour) to take our car instead. DTD waits to and from were over 40 minutes. It is very difficult to make dining reservations when the buses are so unpredictable...

Pros:

Crowded Buses and Long Waits

Cons:

None

Reviewer: mcmouse Review Date: 04/07/2015

Rating: (8) Would Recommend:

During our 11 day trip in mid March we used the WDW busses and boats. The busses were for the most part timely. We had to stand once on our way to Epcot. They usually ran about every 10 - 15 minutes..not bad for Spring Break time. We had no complaints with them. We used the boats to go to Fort Wilderness Campgrounds one day. The trip over from the Magic Kingdom launch was a short 10 min. wait. The trip back, however was at least 1/2 an hour wait. The line was so long on the dock that the large boat could not accommodate everyone and some people had to wait for the next boat. Good thing we got there when we did. Of course it stops at Wilderness Lodge on the way back too and these poor people had to wait too as very few people got off here from our docking. I would think with so many people using this form of transportation to and from Fort Wilderness that there would be more boats ferrying on the lake at the same time. It is a nice view to sit back (if you're lucky enough to get a seat) and watch all the scenery and views of the other resorts while riding, but they need more boats to accommodate everyone. Plan ahead for a lot of time for your transportation if using the boats.

Pros:

no car rental needed

Cons:

1 2 3 4