Reviews of Chef Mickey's Brunch



View Menus at Chef Mickey's Dining Location

Chef Mickey's at the Contemporary Resort opened for brunch as of May 31, 2015. The brunch menu includes breakfast favorites like Mickey waffles, as well as soup and salads, and hot dishes such as barbecued ribs, seafood etouffee and baked salmon. The ice cream bar and Contemporary bakery sweets also are part of the buffet. Just as at the restaurant's breakfast and dinner, Chef Mickey and his pals make a stop at each table. Hours for brunch are 11:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m. Meals are one table-service entitlement on the Disney Dining Plan. For reservations, visit www.disneyworld.com/dine or call 407-WDW-DINE.

Reviewed by Hayls Review Date: 09/26/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

my absolute favorite! I feel that you get your money's worth, especially while on the dining plan.

Pros:

a lot of options on the buffet, characters come around fairly quickly, food always tastes great.

Cons:

n/a
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by MinnieMouse2570 Review Date: 03/19/2017

Rating: (10)
Recommended

My daughter and I ate brunch here on 3-1-17. We both thought the food and selection was very good. I especially liked that breakfast and lunch options were available. The Mickey waffles were awesome of course, but so was the fresh fruit, salmon, and my daughter Loved the mickey shaped mac n cheese. I loved the small bite sized desserts. The Character interaction was great! We got some of our best pictures of the whole trip!

Pros:

Food, Characters

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by LLSS Review Date: 09/26/2016

Rating: (2)
Not Recommended

This was the worst experience we had this trip (and one of the worst I have had in years). After checking in 5 minutes early, we were seated 15 minutes late. We were a table of 3 and watched as other tables of 3 showed up after us and got seated before us. But I can live with that.

Once seated (in a section with about 4 other tables at this point), we waited 3-4 minutes until I finally told my wife to take our daughter (they were both starving) to the buffet and that I would get the drinks. The waitress finally showed up as they got back from the buffet. The drinks arrived after I had been to the buffet and back. The characters then made their way around, and they were great. after 30 minutes, we had seen them all, and had stuffed ourselves enough. 25 minutes later, our bill came. For a 11:45 reservation, we were out of the place at 1:10. Just unacceptable to me.

As for the food, it was mediocre at best. Shrimp were fine but tiny, the cheese potatoes were good. Pancakes were pancakes. I laughed at one point someone else in line made some comment along the lines of "Nothing is better on a 96 degree day in Orlando than Navy Bean Soup."

Overall, there is no chance we will be back. You can find the same characters at other places with much better food and service.

Pros:

characters

Cons:

Food, Service
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Jchuges7 Review Date: 11/09/2015

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Our experience started as breakfast but ended as brunch. Waited quite a while after we checked in for our 10:30 am reservation, we were not seated until after 11 am. Plenty of Mickey waffles, crispy bacon and other choices for breakfast. Loved the fact that they switched to brunch around 11:30. Enjoyed the chicken nuggets which tasted freshly prepared, not frozen. Mac & cheese looked great but was a big disappointment, tasted like buttered noodles and had very little cheese flavor. Fiance enjoyed the salmon and there were plenty of new desserts and the ice cream machine was available after the brunch change. Made myself a Mickey waffle sundae which was incredible.

Normally would be a bit pricey, character meet and photo ops aren't big deals for us since we don't have kids yet, but was a great value on DDP. Would definitely come again if we could get the breakfast/brunch time slot!

Pros:

Variety of choices, Mickey waffles, Rice Krispy Treats with Froot Loops!

Cons:

Long wait after checking in (30+ minutes), mac & cheese
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by floridianny Review Date: 11/04/2015

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

Let me start by saying we have been to Chef Mickey's many times since my first son was born almost 18 years ago. We came here to celebrate my little nephews birthday. My boys are 17 and 12 but still love Mickey waffles so they were happy to come. This was actually the brunch that they had started. What we encountered was dirty chairs with food stuck to them (a lot of food!), there was food smashed and stepped on all around the dessert area that was never cleaned up the whole time. There was soup but no signs to identify it. People kept looking in the pot and walked away. Food selection was OK. The two sides were inconsistent as far as what was put out and the quality. The breakfast items were mostly all good. The characters barely stopped for one picture. We had literally 5 seconds to take a picture with Mickey and he ran to next table. We are not the type to take dozens of pictures. We just put all the kids in from of the character, snap a pic, thank them and let them go. We couldn't even do that. It was the worst character meal we have ever done..and we have done MANY over the years. Just a shame that it is one of the most expensive and we felt completely ripped off. I would warn people to save their money and enjoy one of the other character meals offered on property.

Pros:

Mickey Waffles

Cons:

Rushed and dirty
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Cobryan Review Date: 10/12/2015

Rating: (9)
Recommended

This was our first time eating at Chef Mickey's. Only reservation I could get was for brunch. Which in the long run worked out well as we had tickets for the MNSSHP. We had a 2:20 seating but checked in early and were seated early. It was not insane with crowds which made it nice.
My expectation level for the quality of food was pretty low based on reviews I had read. However, I was surprised that the food was pretty decent. It was an eclectic mix of food though. They may want to rethink the food combinations for brunch. The kids portion of the buffet seemed limited...chicken nuggets, tater tots and waffles. The rest of the buffet had a nice variety of salads. There were BBQ ribs, ham...that the chef didn't seem interested in carving for the guests, salmon and sausages. There were some sides that just didn't seem to "go" with any of the meats. However, they were good individually. We really didn't part take too much of the dessert because we were going to have treats at the halloween party. Overall, it was a good experience and I will go back to Chef Mickey's but maybe not for brunch. I think I would like to try the dinner.

Pros:

food

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mommom Review Date: 10/11/2015

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We were a party of 11 and we were seated at a window which was really dirty. The restaurant itself was clean.

the food was good and they had both breakfast and lunch items. the potatoes were a big hit. my dad really enjoyed the ham. the salads were fresh and a nice selection of desserts.

being a big party it is hard to please everyone but Chef Mickey did a great job.

they photographer spent a nice amount of time with us and we got a great picture of my great granddaughter.

did use my tables in wonderland to get a discount but still this was one of my most expensive meals.

Pros:

food

Cons:

the wait to be seated and the widow was dirty
Did you find this helpful?