Reviews of Cape May Cafe Clam Bake Dinner



View Menus at Cape May Cafe Dining Location

Buffet
Beach Club

Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/cape-may-cafe/dinner

All Ears® Review: http://allears.net/ae/issue374.htm

Reviewed by vandort Review Date: 09/13/2015

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

We always eat at Cape May because we love seafood and we have also had great service. We did enjoy eating our dinner, but we were ill afterwards. My DD, who doesn't eat seafood, was fine. Honestly, I am really disappointed. I expect to pay more for a Disney experience, but I expect the experience to also be better than other non-Disney locations. I know that seafood needs to managed carefully to stay good, but this restaurant can definitely do better.

Pros:

Great selection and atmosphere

Cons:

sick after meal
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by JennaDeeDooDah Review Date: 02/03/2014

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

I struggled on whether to choose yes or no as to whether or not I would recommend Cape May. On the one hand, there wasn't really anything WRONG with it. The food was perfectly adequate. I especially enjoyed the clams and the chowder. The kid's section was also good. Unfortunately, the atmosphere is practically non-existent. It was a basic restaurant not dissimilar to Golden Corral or any other family-style buffet you can eat at in your hometown. Because of that, I was disappointed. I am used to more from Disney. I wouldn't dine here again just because there are so many other options that offer more.

Pros:

Food was good

Cons:

I expect more from Disney
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by JerseyShoregirl13 Review Date: 01/10/2014

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Food was disappointing.

Pros:

Prime Rib

Cons:

Everything else
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Motherhen Review Date: 12/12/2013

Rating: (3)
Not Recommended

We ate here on 12/1. We've eaten here many times before and enjoyed it up until the past two years. The food quality continues to go downhill. The shellfish was especially poor. Many people were complaining that there was little to no meat in the crab legs. The mussels were full of broken shell fragments. The clams tasted off too. The selection of non-seafood was very limited.

Pros:

Pretty

Cons:

Terrible food quality
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by samjayhawk Review Date: 03/17/2013

Rating: (5)
Not Recommended

Ate here tonight, March 16th, and it was just OK. Seafood chowder, marinated seafood salad, and peel & eat shrimp were great starters but the rest of the seafood was just OK. The crab legs tasted good when you could get to the meat. I expected they would be small crab legs and that is fine. However, they need to give you shears to cut them open instead of crackers because most of the legs are too small for the crackers.

Service was good and our waitress was really nice.

We checked in 10 minutes early for our ADR but were seated 15 minutes after our ADR time. Not surprising in WDW but still needs to be mentioned.

Pretty disappointed in Allears for some misinformation on their menu that says it is from last month. Our waitress said they haven't had fried shrimp on Saturdays for months and they haven't had Oreo Bon Bons for a year and a half! How can a menu on this website be from last month with those glaring errors?

We are glad we tried it but won't go back. It just is not worth the price.

ALLEARS: Sorry we disappointed you. We work had to keep the menus updated. We changed the date on the menu when we also update prices. We can't possibly go to every place at WDW and depend on our readers to let us know if things have changed on buffets. We also note on the menus: Sample Menu Actual selections may vary from this menu

Pros:

Seafood chowder, peel & eat shrimp, waitress

Cons:

Price, no Oreo Bon Bons
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Fitzboyzmom Review Date: 03/09/2013

Rating: (6)
Not Recommended

The night we went, it was very busy. They do not manage the lines and have 2 lines with different items (waitress said they were the same...they were not), and people not knowing (or caring) how to go through the line. The food was OK. There were a couple of things on the menu that were not there when we went, and I don't think there were a lot of choices. Seemed like a lot of fried things.

Ordered a cake for my son, which did not come out, so had to ask. That kind of spoils the surprise.

The waitress was nice, but not all that efficient.

I am glad we tried it, but won't go back again.

Pros:

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Teresab715 Review Date: 04/20/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Great food options for the seafood lover or anyone

Pros:

Love the mussels and the crab legs - yum! I also enjoyed the coffee crusted prime rib and salmon. There is nothing like this anywhere else on property. Probably one of my top 5 favorite restaurants on property.

Cons:

If seafood is not your thing - you may not like this restaurant, however there are non-seafood choices - but let's be real - you go for the seafood.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Stitch1623 Review Date: 04/18/2019

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We have eaten here a few times. Staff is friendly. Drinks are great. The meat eaters in my group likes the meat selections every time we went. Nice selection of crab, clams and shrimp as well as kids items. The last time we went in 2018 there was a wider variety of dessert items which we were please about. My only complaint is the breads are always hard and seem a bit stale and the side items like vegetables and noodles/rice dishes could have a larger selection. Overall, we like this buffet when compared to the many others in Disney.

Pros:

All you can eat crab/seafood, usually not crowded

Cons:

Needs more selections
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Oscar Review Date: 07/04/2018

Rating: (5)
Recommended

Surprised to find huge platters of watermelon chunks and cantaloupe chunks where salads and cheeses used to be. Cheese is almost non-existent and very low quality. A huge part of the buffet area is covered with various types of breads -- cornbread was extremely dry -- which has pushed the carving station into a very small corner. The side dishes were very poor quality, casserole style, and mostly tasteless.The waitress indicated that they had made major changes two weeks ago. A different type of crab legs were also served. Hard to crack open. Regular crab legs were still good. Obviously, changes were not made to please customers, they were made to make more money.

Pros:

All You Care to Eat Crab Legs

Cons:

Changes in the menu and the preparation
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by jannielane Review Date: 03/27/2018

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Cape May no longer offers the wide selection of foods every day that it used to offer, so check to make sure that they are serving what you want before making reservations. That said, the food is well prepared and plentiful. I tend to stick with crab legs, shrimp, any other shellfish, salads and vegetables, and have no reason to complain. Fin fish tends to be overcooked and ordinary. I've never tried any of the meat selections. Desserts are ordinary. This is not fine dining, but if you like unlimited seafood, it's a treat.

Be prepared for lots of little kids running all over the place. The restaurant was not all that loud, but kids really were running and not watching who they crashed into.

Pros:

Well prepared food

Cons:

Selection is reduced from past visits
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3 5