Reviews of California Grill

Reviews

76

Rating

7.99 / 10

Recommended By

84%



View Menus at California Grill Dining Location

Children's Dinner Menu

Cuisines: American

Dinner Menu

Cuisines: American, Seafood, Asian
Full Service

Explore the California Grill Dining Location: http://allears.net/dining/location/california-grill

Dinner Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/california-grill/dinner

Child's Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/california-grill/child-dinner

Reviewed by earthmom7 Review Date: 01/03/2013

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Had dinner here on Christmas (12/25/12) specifically to watch the fireworks. I love this restaurant. The sushi is absolutely wonderful with some unique rolls. We were finished with dinner about 90 minutes before the fireworks so we decided to take a ride over to the Grand Floridian; they allowed us to come back up to the roof to watch the fireworks, we just had to show our dinner receipt. My only complaint is that the kids menu is a little limited and when you have a picky eater in your group the lack certain items can cause some minor problems. That aside I would say this is a must if your budget or dining plan can cover it.

Pros:

Food, service, atmosphere, fireworks viewing

Cons:

kids menu
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by CupcakePrincess Review Date: 01/08/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

I ate here on 1/7/13 and thought it was fantastic! We had a reservation at 5:40, and we checked in just after 5 and were on our way up the elevator to the restaurant. We were seated around 5:40 by a very nice man who explained the restaurant to us since none of us had ever dined here before. Our waitress was VERY knowledgeable of the menu and was happy to explain some dishes to us. We ended up ordering three appetizers to share between the three of us. My favorite was definitely the Spicy Kazan Roll. We each had our own entree, but I sampled some of my parent's food. My dad's pork tenderloin was very well cooked and had amazing flavor. My mom had the scallops which were fantastic. I had the Dragon sushi Roll which I didn't care for. I'd rather have more of the Kazan Roll. Our waitress kept our glasses of water full and would check in on us after we received our food. The icing on the cake was the observation deck for Wishes. Our meal ended 45 minutes before Wishes started so we decided to just hang out on the deck and peacefully wait for Wishes. It was the best meal I've had on property!

Pros:

Service, View, Atmosphere

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by docdebbi Review Date: 01/18/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We visit Cali Grill every trip. It is a must do for us. Mostly because of the interesting and well prepared food. It is a fight every trip to decide what to get, I want them all. We have never been disappointed with our meal, and that always includes entree, flatbread, appetizer, and dessert. We also enjoy their wine selection, although I must admit, sort of pricey. But you pay for location and atmosphere and quality. We bite the bullet and do it.
The service is impeccable and the atmosphere very pleasant- I am interested to see what the New Cali Grill will look like.
I am soooo pleased with the recent change, that if you dine here earlier in the evening, you can return to view the fireworks. There for awhile, folks were making 6:30 and 7:00 reservations and staying at their tables until 9:00, so those of us arriving at a proper time to view fireworks during our meal had 45-60 minute waits. This issue has been resolved with the change. The only down side? Now the observation deck is PACKED, but I'll trade that for an hour wait for my table.

Pros:

location, service, atmosphere

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by peters Review Date: 01/20/2013

Rating: (3)
Recommended

I can't believe I'm giving the CG a poor review, but after at least a dozen wonderful visits there, this was our worst dining experience during our January 2013 trip.

Host staff was pleasant and helpful, but it went down big time once we were seated. Our server visited our table exactly 4 times during the meal... to take the drink order (which was wrong), to take the food order (steaks overdone, no silverware to eat it with), deliver the bill & to collect the payment. I think she literally forgot about us since it appeared her "main" section was a few tables over from us. It didn't help that a guest at the next table obviously worked at the Contemporary as I would say 60% of the staff stopped by to say hi and check on his meal.

Since this is the first time in a dozen + visits that we've had anything less than exemplary service, this was VERY unusual. We had much better service at the AKL Mara quick service.

Pros:

The view

Cons:

(This visit) food preparation & terrible service
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by bosslady79 Review Date: 01/23/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

First time dining here. Absolutely the best! Food was great(sushi, steak, purple potatos, scallops), server was Awesome, fireworks were the best! Will make this a must!

Pros:

Everything

Cons:

Nothing
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by ChallengerHK1 Review Date: 01/30/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

I had the filet, after being disappointed that the bison wasn't on the menu. I have never before had a steak that literally melted in my mouth. I thought it was just a figure of speech, but I was wrong. This was a truly outstanding meal.

Pros:

Some of the best food I've ever eaten

Cons:

Price, but you do get what you pay for
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by 1283alex Review Date: 05/23/2013

Rating: (6)
Not Recommended

Location is nice being high up with view and all, but food was average - didn't really feel it was worth extra dining plan points - wouldn't go back again on dining plan or as a paying customer - have been to a lot of fine dining restaurants & this one is simply over-rated - have ate at many other restaurant on Disney property that are better than this

Pros:

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by motohog Review Date: 09/23/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Really did a great job of remodling and the food and service was outstanding. The sushi was awesome and we cannot wait to go back.

Pros:

Remodel is awesome and regular servers are back

Cons:

NONE
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by AndyE Review Date: 09/30/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

The new look is amazing, the service is excellent and the food is faultless. Definitely worth the wait and we can't wait to come back.

Pros:

Everything

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by allec999 Review Date: 10/04/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Newly remodeled CG is as good as ever. New look isn't a huge difference from the old, in my opinion, but the new platform to watch fireworks was nice. Almost too bright inside when fireworks going off (had some glare issues), but still looks great. Food was spectacular as always, and wine list is ever-evolving and relevant. A must-do for every trip.

Pros:

Food, atmosphere

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3 8

Other topics in Contemporary