Reviews of California Grill



Full Service

Explore the California Grill Dining Location: http://allears.net/dining/location/california-grill

Dinner Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/california-grill/dinner

Child's Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/california-grill/child-dinner

Reviews:

67

Average Rating:

8.01

Would Recommend:

85%

Reviewer: kj831 Review Date: 08/26/2018

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

We ate here on the first night of our trip in July. Me, Mom, Dad, my niece and her friend. I was only able to get an ADR for 4 people, and the CM at check in for the restaurant assured us it wouldn't be an issue at all to have 5. We were seated at a great table near the kitchen and one of the balconies for fireworks viewing. It was perfect. They decorated the table with Mickey Confetti, as it was a belated birthday for my Dad and early for my niece's friend's 10th birthday. Nasser was our server, he surprised the girls by telling them there was a call for them. Upon return, the girls were so excited that Goofy had called to welcome them to Disney. The food was delicious, except for the Birthday cupcakes brought to us. We got to see the fireworks which made for a ton of excitement from my niece and her friend's first visit to WDW.

Pros:

Excellent Experience

Cons:

Reviewer: mawdryn Review Date: 04/11/2018

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

I have now had dinner here twice and brunch here once, with 2 more reservations coming up in June and October. This place is the best for a first class meal and top shelf wine and cocktails. Firework viewing after dinner is also a huge plus!!!

Pros:

Decor and Food

Cons:

None

Reviewer: Aimee McCann Review Date: 12/20/2017

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

The hostess took my cell number but we never received a text. It took awhile for the hostess to find us as they did not announce names. But we were seated next to the window with a great view of the castle MVMCP fireworks. Our waitress, Wendi, was able to answer all questions about the menu well and gave her recommendations which we found spot-on. The oysters, filet and scallops were delicious. We've eaten at CA Grill 3 other times and this visit will not be our last. Had a great time and were not rushed. Wendi gave us time to watch the fireworks, but was attentive to refilling drinks and bread during that time.

Pros:

Quality and quantity of food. Wait staff excellent. View of fireworks

Cons:

noise

Reviewer: allec999 Review Date: 11/03/2017

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

California Grill is a must-do for every trip for us, and this time, with friends, and the Halloween fireworks, it lived up to its reputation. Food was amazing, and service is always superb. Can't beat the view or the atmosphere. Only negative is that it wasn't quite as good as Jiko was the night before, which isn't a negative at all. This one shall remain on the list for every trip.

Pros:

Food, atmosphere

Cons:

Not as good as Jiko

Reviewer: disneyhardin Review Date: 10/27/2017

Rating: (9) Would Recommend:

This was our first time eating at California Grill. Our ADR was for 8:55, but we checked in and were seated a little early.

When we walked off the elevator into the restaurant, I was very surprised at how loud and bustling the place was. We still had a wonderful dinner, but if you are looking for a quiet "date night" sort of restaurant, this is not it.

We were seated and had our appetizers just before the fireworks. Right at 9:00, we went out on the balcony and watched. It was an amazing view - the music is piped in nice and loud.

Our server was fantastic and our food was very good. For appetizers we had Oysters Rockefeller and the Goat Cheese Ravioli. They were both very good. For our entrees we had 2 different steaks. They were both prepared very well and the mashed potatoes were very good. For our deserts we had the chocolate cake and the beignets. All our food was excellent.

Pros:

Fireworks View is Spectacular

Cons:

Restaurant is very loud

Reviewer: Fitzboyzmom Review Date: 08/28/2017

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

This was our first time dining here and we cannot wait to return. We were so lucky to be seated at the window, although it looked like you would have a great view no matter where you sat.

I am still dreaming about the steak I had and everyone else loved their food. Watching the fireworks while enjoying your dessert was such an awesome and unique experience with the music being piped in.

It was very pricey, but well worth the splurge for the very unique and memorable experience. Would love to do it again someday.

Pros:

Cons:

Reviewer: Prenjkt Review Date: 07/04/2017

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

Had dinner there June 29 for the first time after going to WDW for so many years. Totally worth it. Fabulous atmosphere and great service. Food was delicious and presentation very nice. The fireworks from the observation deck was very good. A real treat. Going back in July!!!

Pros:

Everything

Cons:

Nothing

Reviewer: Collette Review Date: 06/30/2017

Rating: (8) Would Recommend:

This was our first visit to the renovated space, and we weren't very impressed. Too many tables forced one of a couple to have their back to the windows, instead of the tables for two being parallel to the wall of windows so both people can see out. The bartender brought us the wrong wine-by-the-glass. The menu is shorter and seems narrow; I wish there would have been a wider array of choices.

Pros:

Good food, wine selection

Cons:

Bleh decor, price

Reviewer: obxgoer Review Date: 05/09/2017

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

This was my first time at CG. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome and at ease. Our waiter was attentive and had recommendations that were spot on. My salad bar tomato meringue which may sound weird but was delicious. This was hands down one of the best salads I have ever had. I could eat this every day for the rest of my life and be happy. The beef filet and risotto likewise tasty. My daughter had sushi and goat cheese ravioli and was very pleased. It was busy but no one was disruptive.

Pros:

Beautiful setting, delicious food

Cons:

Reviewer: mharder Review Date: 03/06/2017

Rating: (10) Would Recommend:

My wife and I ate at California Grill on February 27, 2017. We are repeat diners there, and this was probably our fifth or sixth visit. We were taking friends there for their first time.

As with all of our prior visits, we very much enjoyed it. We had a great table next to the window, where we could watch the sunset and the fireworks.

Our waiter gave us just the right amount of attention. Attentive but with discretion. He was very helpful when it came to selecting a wine and his recommendation was spot on.

My wife and I each had the filet and it was cooked perfectly. Our dinner companions also told us their meals (pork tenderloin and yellow fin tuna) were excellent.

Definitely going back!

Pros:

Food, wine, service, view

Cons:

Nothing
1 2 3 7