Reviews of Cafe Orleans Lunch/Dinner

Reviews

8

Rating

8.88 / 10

Recommended By

100%



View Menus at Cafe Orleans Dining Location

Menu: http://allears.net/dlr/dining/menu/cafe-orleans/lunch-dinner

Reviewed by Krystal Review Date: 09/27/2018

Rating: (10)
Recommended

I absolutely loved this place! This cafe is situated in the New Orleans area where you can enjoy a great lunch as you take in the scenery of the Rivers of America. The montecristo sandwich is one of my top 5 Disney foods. This sandwich cannot be found in Disney World Resort which makes this all of the more enjoyable once taking the first bite. The pomme fritte fries are a great side and the portion size of 1 order is enjoyable for two people (and we love to eat). For dessert, we ordered the beignets to finish our experience. Truly airy and delicious accompanied with a berry compote and a vanilla sauce.

Pros:

Food Service Location

Cons:

None
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by TiggerTrigger Review Date: 01/20/2016

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We went here for the monte cristos. Everyone said to go this route to get the same famous monte cristo for less $. It was totally worth it. My husband had the traditional and I had the 3 cheese...I liked his a bit better, but they are both great. The kids also adored the Mickey beignets.

The service, right down to the chef's attention to food allergies, was awesome.

The setting is also fun. We were outside, right along the railings and people were constantly ooooing and ahhing over our food. Some of the area musicians even popped by to chat.

I'd say this one is a must do and worth repeating.

Pros:

Monte Cristos for less $ and beignets; setting

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by girldrgn8 Review Date: 06/21/2014

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Our reservation was for 6:30. We arrived about 6:15, checked in, and ended up being seated before our actually reservation. We were seated on the patio which was nice.

My DS 7 ordered mac and cheese which he ate almost every bite (an accomplishment for him so it must have been good). My DH and DS 13 decided that they would each order a different Monte Cristo and then split them. So one had the regular and the other had the cheese one. When they were brought out, they did have to ask for more of the berry sauce because they were only brought enough for one sandwich but our waiter fixed this immediately. I sampled each sandwich and they were delicious. I ordered Seafood Herb Crepes and I was pleasantly surprised at the taste. They were delicious. I did not like the slaw or whatever it was that they served with it but it was probably just me. We were all stuffed from our meal here. The service was excellent. We will definitely eat here again when we return.

Pros:

Food, Food, Food

Cons:

Nothing
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by bellebookworm9 Review Date: 05/20/2014

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We had dinner reservations here for 6pm on 5/19/14. We checked in right around 6, were given a pager, and seated by 6:15ish. Our table out on the patio was very nice. Jason was our server, and when my friend forewarned him that he drinks a lot of water, Jason brought us two cups right off the bat!

We decided to share the Pommes Frites and the Three Cheese Monte Cristo. The fries were absolutely delicious and we very much enjoyed the accompanying remoulade. Someone else delivered the sandwich, and I discovered that it was the normal Monte Cristo, not the one we had ordered. When Jason came by to offer refills, I pointed out the mistake and he promptly brought us the correct item.

With that corrected, the sandwich was heavenly. Perfectly melted cheese with powdered sugar bread=a grilled cheese in a donut. My friend loved the berry puree and ate both our servings by itself. He said the sandwich detracted from it!

After our CM discount was applied, our total with tip was about $25. I do not believe we were charged the split plate fee. This would absolutely be some place I'd visit in the future!

Pros:

Very good food and service

Cons:

Brought us the wrong entree
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by PixarPixie Review Date: 08/12/2013

Rating: (8)
Recommended

Overall my daughter and I enjoyed our meal. We hot and tired and arrived about 45 minutes early. It was no problem and we were seated in about 5 minutes.

My daughter ordered the pan-seared salmon with pasta marinara...she loved it and nearly cleaned her plate.

I order the house salad. It was okay. The dressing was cloyingly sweet and didn't taste house made. I ate it anyway and enjoyed the candied nuts very much. When I was down to about five bites left on my plate I found a piece of plastic wrap under the last of my lettuce. I notified the wait staff and the manager promptly came over to apologize and remove the salad from my bill. It really didn't bother me much.

The rest of my meal meal was lovely. I ordered the Vegetable Ragout with Salmon. It was delicious and tasted very fresh. The zucchini and eggplant were cooked separately from the tomato ragout resulting in a nice al dente bite on the veggies. The salmon was cooked med-well but not over done.

For dessert we order the Royal Street Bananas Foster Crepe, they were large enough for two-three people to share...so yummy. We also got the "Mickey" shaped Beignets. There were four or five on the plate and they were huge! So, yes we ordered too much dessert.

I'm hesitant to complain about the speed of service because it was kind of nice not being rushed through our meal.

Did I mention they serve espresso?!

Pros:

Great customer service

Cons:

Food took a while to arrive
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by FamilyOfSix Review Date: 07/12/2013

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We had a party of 13 eating dinner here on a very very busy day at the parks. We waited about 30 minutes past our reservation time to be seated. When we were seated, 6 of us were in one table, and 7 in another table in the same room. About 15 minutes after being seated and having given our orders, the party right next to one table left, so we asked the staff if we could take their table so as to have our whole group seated together. They agreed and happily cleared the table so that we could all sit together.

The kids didn't want to try the stuff on the adult menu, and they were too old for the kids menu, so they asked for adult-sized portions of kid entrees. No problem! The kids spaghetti had a chicken breast too, so we asked for the chicken to be on the side. No problem there either. They were very accommodating to my picky eaters, so that was really nice.

The coffee was great. They give you a little mini-carafe for refills, and if you want, they will refill that mini-carafe too. I actually liked the coffee too, so I had about 4 cups. So did my husband, my mom, and my sister. The wait staff was great at keeping drinks refilled and what not.

The food for adults was good. I had the Monte Cristo. It was HUGE. I could only finish about 1/3 of it, so the rest I gave away and the kids ate it as sort of a side dish. I can't remember what others in my party had, except for some french onion soup which was good, but no one really complained about the food and I think it was all OK.

All in all, a nice restaurant with good service once you get seated.

Pros:

Large portions, Flexible menu, Quick service, Coffee Refills!

Cons:

long wait for a large party even with reservations
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by jandg4816 Review Date: 05/28/2013

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We had dinner here on May 5, 2013. We had reservations and we were seated very quickly. We sat indoors, which was nice since it was chilly. We started with the pommes frites, which were delicious. Me and my mom spit the Monte Cristo (plenty for two) and it was great. My husband had the salmon sandwich and the french onion soup, he loved the soup, but the sandwich was just ok. Our five year old had the mac and cheese and he loved it. Dessert was disappointing,the mickey mouse beignets were super cute but didn't taste very good. Overall we had a good meal.

Pros:

most of food great

Cons:

beignets not great
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by stephieb64 Review Date: 04/10/2013

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Traditionally, my husband and I eat in the Blue Bayou restaurant every time we visit Disneyland. Thanks to the All Ears team, I was able to scout the menus and prices before arriving this time. The prices at Blue Bayou were staggering, to say the least. We opted, instead, to eat at Café Orleans and were extremely pleased. We started with the pommes frites which were outstanding, I could have eaten them everyday of the trip! I had the seafood herb crepes which were delicious and jam-packed with shrimp, scallops and Mahi-Mahi. My husband had the Monte Cristo sandwich which costs TWICE AS MUCH (!) at BB, he described it as a sandwich inside a donut and didn't leave a crumb. My oldest daughter had the Mardi Gras chicken sandwich. The kitchen did not blacken the chicken as we asked and it was perfect. We made reservations about a month in advance and our table was ready when we arrived. Our server was not very attentive, but did get our order right.

Pros:

Delicious, less expensive alternative to Blue Bayou

Cons:

Mediocre service
Did you find this helpful?

Other topics in Disneyland Park Dining