Reviews of Blue Bayou Dinner

Reviews

7

Rating

8.00 / 10

Recommended By

100%



View Menus at Blue Bayou Dining Location

Dinner Menu

Cuisines: American
Menu: http://allears.net/dlr/dining/menu/blue-bayou/dinner

Reviewed by TiggerTrigger Review Date: 01/20/2016

Rating: (6)
Recommended

We skipped lunch at Blue Bayou since everyone told us to save the $ and get the same Monte Cristo at Cafe Orleans. So, instead we went to Blue Bayou for dinner.

It was the holidays and with the crowds, waiting for a water front table would have taken forever. Of course, we were seated about as far from the water as possible. While it was nice to be under the balconies...it's a very drafty spot being so close to the doors which made for a chilly meal.

I wish there were more starter options and more traditional New Orleans options. It's laughable that to consider this anything predominantly Cajun or Creole.

That being said, the gumbo was very good. One of the bread options was also great while the sourdough rolls were hard as rocks. My husband's salmon was good...not great...and my salmon was pretty tasty. Still, for the reputation and price, you expect better.

I recommend it strictly because I think you have to try it for yourself + it's worth experiencing that dining setting at least once. Beyond that, it's not worth repeating.

Pros:

Setting

Cons:

Certain Table Locations/Food Options
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by brittos Review Date: 06/10/2015

Rating: (6)
Recommended

Loved the food and atmosphere! Had reservations and was even seated early. Food was prompt, and waitress great!

Pros:

atmosphere, meal

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by jdetrick Review Date: 12/18/2013

Rating: (7)
Recommended

There's really one reason to visit Blue Bayou, and that's for the atmosphere. The food wasn't bad (and I admit that it's not the sort of food that I really enjoy), but I don't think it's worth the price on its own. However, the atmosphere is very nice, and the server we had was excellent, and for me, that's enough.

Pros:

Atmosphere

Cons:

menu selections
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by natdeangelo Review Date: 06/17/2019

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I loved Blue Bayou! We enjoyed a nice anniversary dinner here and requested to be seated near the water. It is truly an immersive experience and being so close to the original Pirates of the Caribbean ride is so fun. The food is a little pricy, so I wouldn't recommend bringing the whole family. But, this place is great for a couples date night or if you're in the mood for something a bit more upscale!

Pros:

Great food and ambiance

Cons:

A bit pricy, but expected.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mgilmore Review Date: 10/01/2015

Rating: (9)
Recommended

20 yr old DS and I ate here on Fri Sept 18 for supper. We did the Fantasmic package.

We were seated very fast after checking in for our reservation. Our server took our drink orders and brought bread service. That's the only thing our "server" did for us the entire meal. He had a helper, that did everything for us and she was fantastic. I thanked her for taking such good care of us, and stopped at Guest relations too.

I had a Mint Julep as my drink and it was really great!

For appetizers I ordered the salad which was really good (I liked this salad much better then the salad I had at Carthay the day before), and he ordered the Shrimp Boil cocktail, which he raved about.

For entrees, I ordered the Surf n Turf, it was cooked perfectly and was delicious. My son ordered the Lamb and it came out very rare. We sent it back and a fresh order was cooked properly. He enjoyed the Lamb very much.

For dessert I had the Chocolate Hazelnut cake which was SO good, and he had the Strawberry rhubarb galette. He wasn't impressed with his dessert.

We received our fantasmic tickets and seat cushions after the meal. The seating area for Blue Bayou is ground seating. There are no seats whatsoever. You have to sit on the ground with your cushion. If I had known this I don't know if I would have bought the package. With a sore hip it's very difficult to sit on the ground.

Except for a server that did nothing for us beyond take our order and bring drinks, we really enjoyed our meal here.

Pros:

Delicious Meals, Ambience

Cons:

Our actual Server was never around
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by wyomom1972 Review Date: 03/19/2014

Rating: (9)
Recommended

DH, Me, DS 15, DD 10, & DS friend 15 ate here Sunday, March 9th.
Dinner reservations (60 day advance) for 7:10 PM. Seated almost exactly at that time.

Salad with vinaigrette was very good. Rolls and biscuits good.
Three of us ordered Surf n Turf. Small portions but very tasty. Plenty of food though...not over stuffed afterwards.
DD had lamb. She loved it.
DS friend had slow roasted beef strip and liked it.
Service was not overly friendly and a bit rushed, but it's a popular restaurant and they need to move people pretty quick.

We were told by a CM (at a NO Square store) that the chef was new. This was our second visit since 2010 and I will say the food tasted better this time.

I recommend Blue Bayou and will eat here again!

Pros:

Ambiance, friendly CM host, food, location

Cons:

no alcohol, rushed service
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by KBrzyski Review Date: 05/20/2015

Rating: (10)
Recommended

We dined here on April 6, 2015 and absolutely loved it! We were at the park on a very busy day and were looking forward to a nice break! We had reservations and were seated promptly at a table by the water. The food was excellent - We had surf/turf, filet mignon and my son had the Tesoro Island chicken. The gumbo soup was excellent, as well as the artisan bread they brought us! I loved the Louisiana Lemonade! We celebrated my daughter Kelly's birthday there and they brought her a Mickey chocolate mousse dessert - fabulous! Since it is pricy, it helps to check out the menu ahead of time so you're prepared. Service was excellent! All 4 of us would definitely come back here again :)

Pros:

Everything

Cons:

A bit pricy
Did you find this helpful?

Other topics in Disneyland Park Dining