Reviews of Big River Grille and Brewing Works

Reviews

17

Rating

6.94 / 10

Recommended By

94%



View Menus at Big River Grille and Brewing Works Dining Location

Lunch/Dinner Menu

Cuisines: American
Full Service Lunch/Dinner

Lunch-Dinner Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/big-river-grille-and-brewing-works/lunch-dinner
Child's Menu: http://allears.net/dining/menu/big-river-grille-and-brewing-works/child-lunch-dinner

AllEars® Review:
http://allears.net/din/rev_mid.htm

Reviewed by MK1972 Review Date: 01/16/2013

Rating: (6)
Recommended

Ate here on marathon weekend. Would liked to have sat outside on the boardwalk but the wait was 20 minutes and DH and I were starving since we'd run the 1/2 that AM. Got seated inside right away. Server was pleasant and attentive. Both of us ordered a basic burger and thought it was delicious. I'm very picky about my hamburgers so that is a compliment. However, I failed to notice that it only came with potato chips and not french fries. Because I didn't notice, not sure if it was possible to request fries. So found that to be a bit dissapointing. Also, $14.95 is pretty expensive for a hamburger and potato chips.

Pros:

Great burgers

Cons:

bit expensive
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Fitzboyzmom Review Date: 07/28/2013

Rating: (7)
Recommended

We had eaten here once before and really enjoyed it. This time, the food just wasn't that good. I had forgotten that they don't have fries (this is weird for a burger and beer place), but just chips. They give you probably a full bag of chips on your plate, that nobody could finish. Seems like a big waste. Our server was wonderful, and our wait was short, but not sure we will return.

Pros:

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Kurt Jensen Review Date: 10/12/2013

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Loved the new Octoberfest and the IPA. We shared an order of chicken nachos. They were quite good. We usually visit at least once while we are at Disneyworld.

Pros:

Beer, nachos

Cons:

nothing
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by wattage Review Date: 02/18/2014

Rating: (2)
Recommended

I’ve eaten here two other times, both times I came away disappointed in the food. This time the food was fine, but the experience in the restaurant was terrible!! We only ate here as a last resort as the Flying Fish Cafe and Kozzina’s had nothing on their menus that appealed to my wife. We were staying at the Boardwalk Inn and wanted something close as it was raining heavily.

We arrived about 6:30PM on Wednesday, February 12, 2014. We were seated upon our arrival at a table on the left side of the restaurant near a window looking out onto the boardwalk and their patio. Our server was good throughout our meal.

After we ordered, several groups arrived and promptly began drinking heavily. As they drank, they got louder and louder. By the time out food arrived, I could not hear my wife speak at all, and she was sitting next to me. This was the loudest restaurant I’ve ever been in! Even though our food was good, the noise killed the experience for us and we will never return. When we were leaving, we spoke to a family under the awning at the front of the restaurant, and they also thought the noise levels were deafening.

This restaurant is more of a bar, then a restaurant.

Pros:

Burgers, Location

Cons:

Noise, Noise, and more Noise
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by emix Review Date: 04/26/2014

Rating: (2)
Recommended

The night we chose to go to Big River it was drizzling and cool outside. We requested a table inside and were seated immediately. The temperature inside was colder than out on the boardwalk. We did not wish to shiver through our meal and got up from the table to tell the hostess that it was too cold inside. She made no effort to look into it and seemed fine with the fact that we were leaving. We decided that if this was the way they served us before even ordering, that it probably wasn't going to get any better.
As a result, I can not comment on the food or drinks only the lack of interest in guests' concerns exhibited by the staff.

Pros:

Convenient for Boardwalk guests

Cons:

Uncaring staff, Too cold inside restaurant.
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by DisneyTheVs Review Date: 05/26/2014

Rating: (8)
Recommended

We heard that you can just show up and get into this restaurant. We arrived and was given a pager for 4 guest and about 5 minutes later we had a table. The table was small for 4 people as there was not leg room. My wife and I split the Hickory Bacon Burger ($12.50) and kettle chips. They brought out the burger and chips split onto 2 plates. The burger is 8 oz. and is enough for us to split. We had the Chocolate Confusion for dessert and enjoyed every bite and keep talking about going back, but never had a chance to get back for another slice. There was plenty for us to split. We will be back on future trips.

Pros:

Chocolate Confusion

Cons:

Small tables
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by LISAE Review Date: 08/24/2014

Rating: (10)
Recommended

On the last day of our trip we had cancelled our reservation and so after a morning in Hollywood Studios we decided to chance a walk up here in the knowledge that no reservations can be made.
The interior has a definite bar feel so not a place for a quiet luxurious meal but we weren't expecting this.
Had an amazingly friendly server who just put the best finish to an amazing two week holiday.
Had the house brewed pilsner which was very like a traditional European lager - so enjoyable that I had a second glass.
Son had a chicken Caesar salad (about the seventh of the trip and he said by far the best), I had a very nice burger, daughter had New York Strip with garlic mash and husband had salmon.
All very nice indeed and much better than expected.
For dessert we had three NY cheesecakes and one chocolate cake. Huge portions and very, very scrummy.
A real hidden treasure.

Pros:

fantastic food and the best server of our two week trip.

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by bjtrax Review Date: 04/23/2015

Rating: (8)
Recommended

The turkey and swiss on toasted sourdough bread was outstanding! The chocolate chaos for dessert was fantastic. Waiter very friendly and helpful. We returned and got the same meal as a carry-out. You had to order at the bar, and the bartender was not very interested in taking or delivering our order. Still, an excellent meal & outside seating is nice on the Boardwalk.

Pros:

food, Boardwalk location of outside seating, waiter

Cons:

less then friendly bartenders
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by caltex Review Date: 05/24/2015

Rating: (3)
Recommended

The craft beer and selection is good. In fairness, I only ordered an appetizer - asiago artichoke and crab dip. It was okay at best. But the kicker was that there a mom and daughter next to my table and she said their food was not good...shortly after they left. The menu looks like typical pub food so I didn't have high expectations, but the dip at $13 left me wondering if something was missing.

Pros:

Beer, Location

Cons:

Food
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by CLHoward72 Review Date: 07/23/2015

Rating: (6)
Recommended

First visit here. The indoor seating is way too cramped but we didn't want to eat outside in the heat. The menu is very small but there was something for all of us. We did not try any of the beers but the food was okay, nothing special. We enjoyed the meal but probably won't go back again in the future.

Pros:

Location at Boardwalk

Cons:

Cramped seating
Did you find this helpful?
1 2

Other topics in Boardwalk