Reviews of Backlot Express

Reviews

41

Rating

7.15 / 10

Recommended By

93%



View Menus at Backlot Express Dining Location

Lunch/Dinner Menu

Cuisines: American
Read more about Backlot Express including links to menus and reviews here:
http://allears.net/dining/location/backlot-express

Counter Service - Lunch/Dinner/Snacks
Disney's Hollywood Studios

Reviewed by rkold Review Date: 01/16/2013

Rating: (8)
Recommended

I'm not a big quick service fan, but we ate dinner here the day we visited the Studios 12/9/12 because it had a vegetarian option, it was already nearly 8 and we didn't want to do sit down with our toddler. They were super nice and took us even though they were trying to close for the night. Their vegetarian sandwich was better than the one at AK and the gingerbread cupcake was amazing. It wasn't super sweet and the frosting was a tangy cream cheese one and not buttercream, definitely worth the calories!

Pros:

The gingerbread cupcake!

Cons:

It seemed like it could be noisy when crowded
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by disneyhorsefan Review Date: 01/22/2013

Rating: (9)
Recommended

We ate here twice during our January trip. Both times, my sister and I shared a CS meal on the dining plan and felt that it was more than enough food.

We had the chicken nuggets and carrot sticks/french fries, and tried both desserts.

The place was no frills, the service was speedy. The food was simple but warm and tasty. There was plenty of seating both inside and outside.

We would definitely eat here again!

Pros:

Food, quick service

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by brb214stoon Review Date: 01/29/2013

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

Absolutely the worst food we ate while on our 10 day trip.

Pros:

shady areas to eat

Cons:

food is the worst in disney!
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by disneyhappy09 Review Date: 02/02/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Hamburgers were great. Wonderful self service area for adding extras to your burger. Quick, great options for seating. My son and I shared a burger and it was more than enough for the two of us.

Pros:

Great burgers

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by dsnyak5 Review Date: 02/02/2013

Rating: (1)
Not Recommended

My friend and I both ordered a grilled turkey sandwich. Seemed a good, reliable choice. Inedible. Without a doubt the WORST food I have ever had in my 21 years of going to WDW. We ended up just throwing it all in the trash, it was that bad. Such a waste. Avoid this place!

Pros:

none

Cons:

everything
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Ponchoselmore Review Date: 02/28/2013

Rating: (9)
Recommended

I ate here on Presidents Day, Feb. 18, for lunch. Ordered the Bacon Cheeseburger and was surprised at how quick my order was filled, especially since they were packed. The burger was great, but the best part was the marble cheesecake. One of the best counter service desserts I've had.

Pros:

Good food, fast service

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by mschu2112 Review Date: 03/10/2013

Rating: (9)
Recommended

Good themed area and service was quick. We always eat here and try to get a seat near windows to see Star Wars show. The food choices are good and standard fare for Disney. The quality is good so you can always find something to eat.

Pros:

Atmosphere

Cons:

Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by Disney6Pack Review Date: 03/21/2013

Rating: (10)
Recommended

Party of 5 (me, DD15, DD14, DS12, and DD10) dined here for lunch during Mardi Gras break. We had never eaten here, but I decided to try it based on the reviews I had read and the fact that it offered free drink refills. The park was crowded because of the holiday and there was a cheerleading competition. Lines to order were long, but moved quickly enough. Food came out quickly enough and we found a table next to the condiments and drink refill station. I had the buffalo chicken bites (which were not on this website’s menu), oldest 2 DDs had burgers, and 2 youngest kids had chicken nuggets. Everyone enjoyed their food and enjoyed being able to refill our drinks before leaving the restaurant. I can’t believe I’ve never tried this in all the years that we’ve been coming here. We really enjoyed it and will come back again.

Pros:

food, location, free drink refills

Cons:

none
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by ADisneyGinger Review Date: 05/02/2013

Rating: (5)
Recommended

DH and I ate a late dinner here on April 24. Most of the other counter-service options in DHS were closed when we were ready for dinner (7:30-ish), and so our choices were very limited. We got a turkey sandwich and chicken nuggets, as well as the limited-time-magic Worms and Dirt cupcake. I asked for no fries with my nuggets so I could get a price break, so I paid a few dollars less, but my entree still came with fries. The nuggest and sandwich were both very ho-hum, especially for what was being charged. The cupcake was wonderful, but since it is a limited time magic cupcake, it won't be available any more, so I didn't factor that into my rating. In my opinion, DHS really needs to work on its counter-service options, especially later in the evening.

Pros:

Theming

Cons:

Bland food
Did you find this helpful?

Reviewed by nicole0992 Review Date: 05/08/2013

Rating: (6)
Recommended

We chose to have lunch here during our recent trip. We just tried the chicken nuggets and fries. They were good. Same as every other counter place. The parfait dessert was not good at all.

Pros:

Good choices

Cons:

Can get very crowded and loud
Did you find this helpful?
1 2 3 5

Other topics in Disney's Hollywood Studios